We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to eat in Arromanches” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les P'tites Assiettes

Les P'tites Assiettes
6 Rue Maurice Lithare, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
02 31 22 36 05
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“THE place to eat in Arromanches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We came across this restaurant simply because we were staying in the same hotel - Le Mulberry.

And how fortunate that was! From the friendly and personnable welcome to the friendly and efficient service and the excellent food you could find no better place to eat in Arromanches. This is not haute cuisine but traditional dishes prepared simply but well from excellent ingredients. A EUR 25 menu might include foie gras (prepared in house) or fresh oyster (6) starter, duck confit, lamb leg or steak main course, followed by a chocolate cream sauce with pear sorbet or normandy cheese. This was good stuff. The wine list was uniformly very good. For Eur 22 (all the standard wines had the same price) there were numerous excellent Loire, Cotes du Rhône, Burgundy and other wines. A number were apparently bought directly from the producer. Our kids enjoyed a kids menu and virtually begged to return again. All in all, great prices, atmosphere and food.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    35
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Delicious vegetarian salad. Helpful staff, great location, charming interior. Don't be put off if it looks full, there's another room at the back, just as nice. Fun place, reasonably priced.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nice People Good Food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The owner of this hotel/restaurant is a delightful man. We had stayed at the hotel last year and we ate at this restaurant last night. The food was plentiful and delicious. The atmosphere is friendly bordering on the familiar. The prices are reasonable for food and wine. We look forward to coming back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family and I ate her two nughts ago. The restaurant has a lovely atmosphere, th staff are superb and the host extremeely friendly and helpful. The menu is short - which is always a good sign, full of Norman dishes - we had vegetable soup, a filo pastry, rillettes of goose to start, followed by delicious plaice, cod stake, a juicy unctious duck leg and a steak. Desserts ordered were pear sorbet, chocolate tart and my wife also had a cheese board of wonderful smelly, pungent , tastty cheeses.
The wines were lovely and recommended by our host. This is a delightful restaurant and I recommend you go there - I suspect you may need to book!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“So good we ate there twice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Lovely restaurant in the Mulberry Hotel. Christian and his wife run it --she cooks and he is a charming host who makes you feel so welcome. There is a delightful sitting area when you enter where you can have a pre-dinner glass of wine/cider/beer. Our hotel had called and got voice mail so they left a reservation request for us. When we arrived, Christian greeted us and had not gotten the message about our reservation but gladly found room for us. When we mentioned that one of group of 4 needed to eat gluten free he was most accomodating and even brought some gluten free crackers along with the bread basket. I know the restaurant name translates as "small plates" but we found the portions to be quite ample and when I didn't eat all of my main course Christian asked if I didn't like it--mais no! I was just getting too full and wanted to have room for dessert! We went back again during our 3 night stay in Arromanches because we loved the food, the ambiance and Christian!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les P'tites Assiettes also viewed

Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 

Been to Les P'tites Assiettes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les P'tites Assiettes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.