We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and very welcoming!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les P'tites Assiettes

Les P'tites Assiettes
6 Rue Maurice Lithare, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
02 31 22 36 05
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly and very welcoming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

After a diastrous encounter with a different restaurant the night before (which was our first night in this area) we were very dubious about what to expect when we decided to try out Les P'tites Assiettes. Our fears were put to rest when we walked into the place. The staff were welcoming and very friendly and although the kitchen wasn't opened for another 20 minutes we were offered a seat and a drink to look over the menu which was greatly welcomed as it was extremely cold outside! The food was excellent, the wine was excellent and the service was excellent. If I am back in the area I would not hesitate to go back to this venue.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    45
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“bright and cheery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

There are many restaurant choices in this little seaside village. We stopped at this place for lunch because it was a bright and cheery place with lots of windows. I had the Normany soup and it was delicious and very nicely served. Add to that a couple of glasses of local wine and the peche melba; it could not have been better. Nice presentation. Avoid the Italian items; they are average and you should not be ordering Italian food in France!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, KS
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good Food - Questionable Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We have traveled a bit in France and look forward to great food and wine that typically we find there. We tired the Mulberry/Les P'tites Assiettes on the recommendation of our B&B. He personally walked us down and introduced us.

The wine was reasonably priced, the menu limited but varied. We ordered two starters and two mains. The starters arrived prior to the wine and water we had requested. The starters were fine, nothing fabulous. The two mains arrived - my spouse had ordered duck, and we were very careful how we ordered so the duck would not come out overcooked - we prefer under vs. overcooked. We even used the translator app on my phone to assist. The duck arrived so overcooked it was inedible. We finally flagged down the waiter, he sent over the chef - and incredibly rude woman, who preceded to tell us we had ordered it incorrectly - even though she said we'd asked for rouge. Long story long, they were out of duck, we had to go with another entree, by the time that showed up another 30 minutes had passed. No one checked on us, replenished our wine & water, nothing. My entree was long gone, I honestly can't remember what it was at this point.
What started out to be an enjoyable evening was quickly squashed by the incredibly rude and inattentive staff - I would not recommend going unless you are fluent in French. Le Pappagall is a much nicer environment, better food and cheaper prices with outstanding service.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, UK
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Best place in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Stayed in Arromanches for a few days in October whilst exploring the D-Day beaches.

Most of the restaurants in town are on one main street, all of which look like tourist traps - certainly a restaurant in France that has "Fish & Chips" on the menu ( written in English ) is not going to be anything special.

However having read the reviews of this restaurant on Trip Advisor, and seeing that it was rated number 1 of all the local restaurants we decided to give it a go. And am glad we did!

When you first arrive, you are welcomed either by the owner or one of his friendly staff and offered an aperitif in a pleasant little lounge area whilst you peruse the menu. Orders are taken in the lounge and you can then move to your table at your leisure.

The owner does speak some
English but if you can make an effort to converse in French it does seem to be appreciated.

The menu itself is not huge with a variety of meat and seafood dishes. Wherever possible the restaurant uses locally sourced vegetables and meat.

The wine list is adequate and there are a variety of local cidres on offer too - I particularly recommend the Rose cidre!

One nice touch, if you are travelling with children, is that they don't have a dedicated children's menu as as such. Instead they offer a smaller portion of anything off the main menu. However if there really isn't anything that takes the younger ones fancy then they will also serve fish nuggets or a steak hache.

Service was efficient and not obtrusive in any way an the owner clearly likes to look after his guests.

The food itself was very enjoyable - I cant say it was outstanding but was a good typical French meal.

If I was in the area again I would definitely pay a return visit - as another reviewer has commented though I wouldn't particularly drive out of my way.


    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Quirky excellence and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We had been in France for several days and although we had enjoyed some splendid meals from Relais Routiers to haute cuisine it felt as if we were eating the same meal each time. The 19 Euro two course formule at Les P'tites Assiettes was a wonderfully contrasting experience. Service was informal but the cooking was top class and the house wine sensibly priced.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les P'tites Assiettes also viewed

Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 

Been to Les P'tites Assiettes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les P'tites Assiettes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.