We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and superb views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Marine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Marine to your Saves list
Hotel de la Marine
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1, quai du Canada, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent location and superb views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We chose this hotel for its location to visit the D-Day sights. The hotel is ideally placed. The staff were very helpful and very pleasant, nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant was a little pricey but there are plenty of alternatives within the town. The only down side was parking, the hotel only has 4 designated places at the rear if the hotel otherwise you have to park in the neighbouring public car park or neighbouring roads. We visited in classic cars which were left in the public parking with no problems.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    123
    67
    25
    25
See reviews for
78
177
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in June 2013. We had booked this hotel the evening before we visited the American Cemetery and some of the D-day beaches and arrived on a Sunday. We were two couples and a single and had three rooms. All the rooms were very well appointed and the bathrooms were large (European standards). Our room was the second floor corner overlooking the quay and beach. We were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the accommodations. We should have known it would be nice from the phone call to make the reservations and the warm, welcoming reception when we arrived. We only ate breakfast in the restaurant so we cannot speak to the quality or prices of the meals. But, as with most hotel restaurants and bars I imagine it was expensive. There are plenty of dining choices in town within a few blocks. The only negative that I can come up with is the parking. If you are going to arrive during the weekend, parking is at a premium throughout the town so plan appropriately. All in all this was our best surprise during our trip and if ever we are in this area again this is where we will stay

Room Tip: The second floor corner room we were in had two swing in windows that opened overlooking the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The tables right next to the sea wall give a great view of the landing beaches so we stopped for coffees which were good but cost almost 50% more than any others we had in Normandy. I guess the owners are milking the D-day landing beach location?

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My family had stayed at this Hotel many years ago when it was owned by The Family Verdier. We had had our best family holidays there. Arromanches is truly beautiful and this Hotel is a gem.

Just after the 70th anniversary of D day, and with my Son shortly to be married, I decided to make a short nostalgic return.

I can truly say that as a man of 76 years I have never had a better short stay.
The staff, the location the meals, the room views were All Truly Magnificent.

I congratulate the Hotel Management for creating such a wonderful experience.

If you have the chance, do go there.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairborn, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at Hotel de la Marine. The rooms are comfortable, many with a wonderful ocean view. The rooms are tidy and well-appointed. The bathroom was spacious by European standards. I was traveling with my extended family of 10 and we had 4 rooms, all of which we were very pleased with the the views out the windows and quietness, even though we were on the beachfront/square. The breakfast was a routine European breakfast, bread and pastries, applesauce, yogurt, juices and cereals. Location was convenient to the D-Day beaches, the American Cemetery and many food choices for lunch and dinner. The hotel staff was accommodating to our family with 3 children!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is the most charming, beautiful hotel! The staff is incredibly helpful and honest. We asked if we should take one of the D-Day tours and they looked at our family traveling with a 12 year old boy and recommended that we rent a car and visit the D-Day beaches and museums ourselves as well as Mont St. Michel. They made the car reservation for us and our family being American they made sure to reserve us an automatic SUV. They also scheduled a taxi to come pick us up to take us to the car rental. Dinner at the hotel is magnificent as well as breakfast. The croissants they bring to the table at breakfast are divine! Make sure to ask for a room with a view of the ocean as we heard they are more spacious. The entire town of Arromanches and this hotel are magical and well worth the stay!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room as they are more spacious and the view is truly magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel de la mar... M, Responsable relations clients at Hotel de la Marine, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Madame, Dear Sir,

We thank you very much to have taken the time to write your comment abour our property.
It was a real great pleasure to welcome you and your lovely family and we are so happy to contibuate to this stay in Normandy!
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again !
Have a nice evening.
Mme Durand Lénaïc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This hotel provided us just what we needed: a Bed, a nice shower and WiFi. The Staff was quite helpful with parking ideas. We stayed just one night, between Bayeux and our day visiting D-Day sites. the room was clean.

Room Tip: Ask for your WiFi (Wee-Fee) code, free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arromanches-les-Bains
0.2 mi away
Le Mulberry
Le Mulberry
#2 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
#1 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel D'arromanches
Hotel D'arromanches
#5 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Normandie
Hotel de Normandie
#4 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
7.5 mi away
La Cremaillere
La Cremaillere
#2 of 2 in Courseulles-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 stars 607 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
#2 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
4.0 of 5 stars 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Marine

Address: 1, quai du Canada, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Marine 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel de la Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Marine Hotel
Hotel De La Marine Arromanches-Les-Bains, France - Normandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Marine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.