We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, but great View of Port Winston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Marine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel de la Marine to your Saves list
Hotel de la Marine
1, quai du Canada, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Small, but great View of Port Winston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This hotel provided us just what we needed: a Bed, a nice shower and WiFi. The Staff was quite helpful with parking ideas. We stayed just one night, between Bayeux and our day visiting D-Day sites. the room was clean.

Room Tip: Ask for your WiFi (Wee-Fee) code, free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    101
    53
    18
    20
See reviews for
62
144
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

My encounter with this hotel involved being charged 30 euros for 2 gin and tonics and 2 beers ! Outrageous , especially as the barman offered no bill to explain how this cost was arrived at or why it was such an amazingly "round" amount ! It is a great shame because this hotel had the best position close to the Gold beach. Exploiting good honest people.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel de la mar... M, Responsable relations clients at Hotel de la Marine, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Sir,

We thank you very much to have taken the time to share your experience. Would you be kind enough to give us more details about what seems to happen in the bar with your drinks ? When did you come ? Because no drinks are served without any receips and the receips are let on the table. For the price, we just serve the best products and the price is in connection with the quality. We will never propose less quality for a better price. We do not serve just alcoohol, we serve the best gin.
We are sorry not to be able to give you satisfaction. Regards. Mme Durand Lénaïc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

At the recommendation of my sister, I stayed at this hotel for one night during my tour of Normandy. The staff was professional, personable and went out of their way to help me. The restaurant food was great with wonderful presentation and service. I had a sea-side room which was impeccably clean and well decorated. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone needing to visit the region of Normandy. It was also close to the American Cemetery and Museaum of Omaha Beach ~ a highlight for any tourist! I did not access the swimming pool or fitness center which would have been a plus!

Room Tip: I prefered the room on the 2nd floor by the sea ~ beautiful view and high enough to avoid any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

My family of seven stayed at the Hotel de la Marine, we were given the two rooms in the top floor. Which was very cozy and nice. The only challenge is bringing up luggage up the narrow stairs. The location is great, just down the street from the main area of Arromanche and the water. The owners were very nice and accommodating, and we really enjoyed our stay. It is certainly no Marriott, but it is like a bed and breakfast with great local flavor.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel was booked at the end of a two week journey through Northern Spain and Western France by my partner and myself. My partner wanted to visit some of the WW2 sites and so Arrowmanches les Bains seemed like a good choice. Hotel de la Marine seemed to be ok, not great, but ok...how I wished I had taken more notice of the poor reviews on trip advisor...there was a warm enough reception as we walked into the place but it all went rapidly downhill after that! Once we stepped out of the lift onto the second floor we were greeted by a smell of damp and decay, dirty carpets dingy and stained, lighting poor and horrible decor. Our room was small and horrible, it smelled disgusting, mostly I suspect from the macerator toilet! Which on flushing sounds like something from a Monty Python sketch and might have been funny if I had not felt so miserable. We opened our windows wide to let in some fresh air while we went to have a drink in the bar. The day was sunny and hot and cheered us up somewhat - until we were told that a pint of beer and a glass of lemonade was going to cost us 10.90 euros (we thought we had misheard the waiter but no, that was the price)
The bed in our room was small, lumpy and uncomfortable with no headboard so it was virtually impossible to sit up in bed as the pillows slipped down the gap. The bed was behind the bathroom so it felt claustrophobic and had no view. The wifi did not work, my partner went down to the reception to find out why and after trying herself the woman on the reception desk just said she did not know why it was not working. We stayed in ten hotels and B & B's on our holiday - 9 were wonderful but this sorry excuse for a hotel is just awful. The only upside is it's beach front location, and for this they think they can charge a lot while ignoring the fact that it is horrible inside. We did not have dinner there nor did we stay for breakfast! If the area had not been so busy due to the D day influx I would have gladly paid my money then walked out the door to find other accommodation.

Room Tip: Just don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Everything in Arromanches is about twice as expensive as elsewhere in France. Everyone seems to be 'milking' the the D day experience for every last dollar. This hotel is no exception , over 10 euros for a large beer and a lemonade and a room that wouldn't cost £40 over here is £90 there. Stayed in 8 different hotels on a trip from Spain and France and this was by far the worst. Mean little room, gloomy lighting, paper thin walls and poor noisy plumbing. Two redeeming factors, the receptionists are multi-lingual and we could see the sea!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Writing this not only for myself but also for the Veterans of the Cornwall Branch of the Landing Craft Association. I would like to thank the owners and all the staff for their excellent hospitality for our group, during the D-Day 70th anniversary commemoration. Even though the hotel was at capacity and rushed off their feet for the single biggest event in 10 years, they were still able to go the extra mile with the service provided and a true respect given to all our veterans
We stay at this hotel every year for the D-Day anniversary and find it an ideal central location to view all the WW2 sites in Normandy.
Once again, i would like to say thank you, and hope to see you again next year.

Room Tip: Opt for a sea view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Marine

Address: 1, quai du Canada, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de la Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Marine Hotel
Hotel De La Marine Arromanches-Les-Bains, France - Normandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Marine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.