We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart of the Beaches” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Marine

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
Hotel de la Marine
1, quai du Canada, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Dartmouth, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Heart of the Beaches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in October 2013 during a 8 day Normandy trip. This old hotel just oozes ambiance, with point blank views of the Mulberry Harbour. We had booked a seaview and we got that, it's so close to the beach, well worth it. It was very gusty one evening and we were pleased to hear the high tide surf. We were very impressed with the quality of service at front desk and restaurant. Make sure you reserve a table early, or you may not get one, as it is popular with hotel guests as well as others in the area. We had decent breakfasts as part of our package. The first floor room and bathroom were small, but expected considering the age. A burnt out bathroom light bulb was quickly replaced. We found the wifi worked great from our room.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a sea view for maximum ambience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    79
    39
    15
    14
See reviews for
45
111
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denville, NJ, USA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My husband and I had reservations for two nights at the end of this September 2013. When we first arrived in our room we were overcome with the horrible smell of fish, cigarette smoke and bleach. The carpet was absolutely filthy in which you would not walk on bare footed. My husband almost broke his neck in the shower because evidently they forgot to rinse the tub of the bleach that was trying to kill the fish smell. Maybe someone cleaned their fish there? We slept with the windows open to eliminate the odor as well as having no AC however, that just brought the street noises and bright lights into our room. After getting no sleep for the night we checked out the next morning while explaining the situation to the receptionist without any satisfaction. She still charged us for two nights stay because of our reservations even though we only stayed one night. Once again it's a great location but not worth the loss of a nights sleep.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel de la mar... M, Responsable relations clients at Hotel de la Marine, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Sir,
We thank you very much to have taken the time to share your experience about our property. Our ultimate goal is your satisfaction and are really sorry to failed with you.
We also would like to share your stay, because we can hear many things but only if that's true.
You booked 2 nights with a well-known web site agency at the end of September with a great deal for the price. You checked in and were disapointed because you did not have a view on the sea (but that was the deal... good price but no view). At your check-in except the fact of the view, we did not have any comments about a smell of fish in your room, dirty carpets or all the things you described ?? It seems really strange to think that you were able to stay in if what you describe is true. We can understand that you were disappointed but we can't let you write wrong things about our propery. And overall because you wrote us an email threaten us to write comments on all the sites you can find if we did not refund you the night we charged you.
Regarding the bleach, it is totally forbidden to use it in the hotel, so you didn't have the possibilty to smell bleach.
Regarding the noise you can heard, the room you had was in the street of the reception. In this small street (a one way street and a dead street), the only traffic you can have is 2 cars going in our small car park (full at around 4pm). AlsoArromandhes is a small village with no Casino, no night club and has the reputation of a very quiet village, so we really wonder what kind of noise you can heard except sea gulls maybe !
So really once again, we are really sorry that you did not enjoyed your stay but please don't write such things when it is not true just because you're disappointed.
We wish you a very pleasant day.
Mme Durand Lénaïc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights. The rooms are a bit dated but understandable for the age of the hotel. Only found Internet if you were in the bar. Breakfast was okay. Several people told us the dinner was excellent there, but he price kind of pushed us away. The location and view of the artificial harbor is fantastic. The staff was friendly and very helpful.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights in September in this wonderful little hotel on the Northern Coast of France as a central point to visit the Beaches of Normandy. It was a perfect spot: quaint, very accommodating, wonderful restaurant attached, and perfect for touring the local area. When we reserved our room, we requested a "sea view" room and we were given a room with fantastic views of the sea from two sides, it was quite incredible. The entire staff was helpful and the rooms, although small, were immaculate and very comfortable.
We highly recommend this hotel.
Shelly Myers

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights in mid September 2013, en route to our cottage in Brittany, as we had decided to revisit the museums/landing beaches in the area. I'd asked for a seaview room, which was good as the views were lovely and the room was fairly smart - BUT - as soon as we walked in we could smell the overpowering odour of cigarette smoke. Now, obviously the hotel can't be blamed for guests who obviously choose to ignore the many signs telling you that the place is a no smoking establishment, but the weather was dull and windy on arrival but the bedroom windows were wide open. (To try and get rid of the smell, perhaps?), I can't believe that whoever had cleaned the room that day had failed to mention this to the management - but anyhow, the lady at reception explained that the hotel was full that night so they couldn't offer us another room, but we could change the following day if we wanted. So we duly asked the next morning, and a different lady on reception offered to have our room "deep cleaned" to get rid of the smell - but we said we'd prefer to move, and to be fair, we were given another sea view room on the corner, with views over the beach and town. However, I feel it does beg the question as to why the room couldn't have been deep leaned before our arrival..... The second room was fine apart from a very annoying extractor fan in the shower room which couldn't be switched off at all and disturbed us during the night. We ate in the restaurant the first night - pricey but very good food and service, and far better value than the meal we had in town the next night! Overall, the hotel was good - better than average but perhaps not very good - the staff were helpful and pleasant, but it was such a disappointment about our smelly room.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms on the 3rd floor have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwest england
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed four nights in this hotel and whilst we had no major complaints we were disappointed with the small room which was quite dated. This is understandable when you consider the age of the building (1800's) but at the price we paid we expected better. We were glad that we requested a sea view as this made up for the room to some extent. The staff were very helpful and we were able to park our motor bikes in the rear car park. There is no bar or residents area with the grounfd floor taken up by a very nice restaurant. The menu was largely sea food - no surprises there! At 75 euro for a meal and drinks for 2 it was a bit expensive and we ate out for the next three nights at about half the cost.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, however these tend to be on the third floor and the stairs are quite steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

No luxury hotel this, but the sea views (including of the remains of the Mulberry Harbour) are rather splendid. The rooms are pretty basic - perhaps even a little tired - and you really do want one with a sea view if possible. The people who run the hotel are very friendly and helpful. There is a pleasant bar and a rather nice (if a tad pricey) restaurant - again with great views.

The hotel is right on the sea front, so we were lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves each night. Car parking isn't difficult with a bit of persistence, free overnight and all day in other parts of the small town. Arromanches is on the western edge of Gold Beach, so ideal for exploring west into Omaha and Utah or east for Gold and Juno. The town itself has an interesting museum and the excellent 365 degree cinema. Lovely Calvados countryside all around and Bayeux just a stones throw away.

Room Tip: Don't book through a bucket shop - go straight to the hotel and ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel de la Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Marine

Also Known As:
De La Marine Hotel
Hotel De La Marine Arromanches-Les-Bains, France - Normandy
Address: 1, quai du Canada, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de la Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Marine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel de la Marine to your Saves list