We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is about the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Marine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel de la Marine to your Saves list
Hotel de la Marine
1, quai du Canada, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Kaiserslautern, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“It is about the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights. The rooms are a bit dated but understandable for the age of the hotel. Only found Internet if you were in the bar. Breakfast was okay. Several people told us the dinner was excellent there, but he price kind of pushed us away. The location and view of the artificial harbor is fantastic. The staff was friendly and very helpful.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    101
    53
    18
    20
See reviews for
61
144
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights in September in this wonderful little hotel on the Northern Coast of France as a central point to visit the Beaches of Normandy. It was a perfect spot: quaint, very accommodating, wonderful restaurant attached, and perfect for touring the local area. When we reserved our room, we requested a "sea view" room and we were given a room with fantastic views of the sea from two sides, it was quite incredible. The entire staff was helpful and the rooms, although small, were immaculate and very comfortable.
We highly recommend this hotel.
Shelly Myers

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights in mid September 2013, en route to our cottage in Brittany, as we had decided to revisit the museums/landing beaches in the area. I'd asked for a seaview room, which was good as the views were lovely and the room was fairly smart - BUT - as soon as we walked in we could smell the overpowering odour of cigarette smoke. Now, obviously the hotel can't be blamed for guests who obviously choose to ignore the many signs telling you that the place is a no smoking establishment, but the weather was dull and windy on arrival but the bedroom windows were wide open. (To try and get rid of the smell, perhaps?), I can't believe that whoever had cleaned the room that day had failed to mention this to the management - but anyhow, the lady at reception explained that the hotel was full that night so they couldn't offer us another room, but we could change the following day if we wanted. So we duly asked the next morning, and a different lady on reception offered to have our room "deep cleaned" to get rid of the smell - but we said we'd prefer to move, and to be fair, we were given another sea view room on the corner, with views over the beach and town. However, I feel it does beg the question as to why the room couldn't have been deep leaned before our arrival..... The second room was fine apart from a very annoying extractor fan in the shower room which couldn't be switched off at all and disturbed us during the night. We ate in the restaurant the first night - pricey but very good food and service, and far better value than the meal we had in town the next night! Overall, the hotel was good - better than average but perhaps not very good - the staff were helpful and pleasant, but it was such a disappointment about our smelly room.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms on the 3rd floor have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwest england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed four nights in this hotel and whilst we had no major complaints we were disappointed with the small room which was quite dated. This is understandable when you consider the age of the building (1800's) but at the price we paid we expected better. We were glad that we requested a sea view as this made up for the room to some extent. The staff were very helpful and we were able to park our motor bikes in the rear car park. There is no bar or residents area with the grounfd floor taken up by a very nice restaurant. The menu was largely sea food - no surprises there! At 75 euro for a meal and drinks for 2 it was a bit expensive and we ate out for the next three nights at about half the cost.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, however these tend to be on the third floor and the stairs are quite steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

No luxury hotel this, but the sea views (including of the remains of the Mulberry Harbour) are rather splendid. The rooms are pretty basic - perhaps even a little tired - and you really do want one with a sea view if possible. The people who run the hotel are very friendly and helpful. There is a pleasant bar and a rather nice (if a tad pricey) restaurant - again with great views.

The hotel is right on the sea front, so we were lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves each night. Car parking isn't difficult with a bit of persistence, free overnight and all day in other parts of the small town. Arromanches is on the western edge of Gold Beach, so ideal for exploring west into Omaha and Utah or east for Gold and Juno. The town itself has an interesting museum and the excellent 365 degree cinema. Lovely Calvados countryside all around and Bayeux just a stones throw away.

Room Tip: Don't book through a bucket shop - go straight to the hotel and ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch in Bayeux France on our way to Omaha Beach. We asked our waiter for a good hotel and he suggested La Marina. It is not on Omaha Beach but about 12 miles north along the beach. The town it's in is where the allied built a port starting 2 days after D Day. Bust the museum and see the film. Now about the hotel, right on the water, great view from the dining room and good food. Typical European breakfast. Ask for parking in the back. Wifi poor!!!
Enjoy
Tom Brown

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed here for just a night, but it was a nice stay. The parking lot is very small, so it leaves you to find street parking, pay to park in the lot or wait until after 7pm to park in the lot for free. The room had a lovely view from the windows and hearing the ocean at night was really nice. (Injury side note: The bed frames stick way out and are covered by the comfortor. Both my companion and and I nailed our shins on the wood frames) The bathroom was lovely and spacious, nice change of pace after traveling for three weeks. Our stay was short, but pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Marine

Address: 1, quai du Canada, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de la Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Marine Hotel
Hotel De La Marine Arromanches-Les-Bains, France - Normandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Marine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.