We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings about the Marine!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Marine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel de la Marine to your Saves list
Hotel de la Marine
1, quai du Canada, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Portsmouth, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings about the Marine!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights in mid September 2013, en route to our cottage in Brittany, as we had decided to revisit the museums/landing beaches in the area. I'd asked for a seaview room, which was good as the views were lovely and the room was fairly smart - BUT - as soon as we walked in we could smell the overpowering odour of cigarette smoke. Now, obviously the hotel can't be blamed for guests who obviously choose to ignore the many signs telling you that the place is a no smoking establishment, but the weather was dull and windy on arrival but the bedroom windows were wide open. (To try and get rid of the smell, perhaps?), I can't believe that whoever had cleaned the room that day had failed to mention this to the management - but anyhow, the lady at reception explained that the hotel was full that night so they couldn't offer us another room, but we could change the following day if we wanted. So we duly asked the next morning, and a different lady on reception offered to have our room "deep cleaned" to get rid of the smell - but we said we'd prefer to move, and to be fair, we were given another sea view room on the corner, with views over the beach and town. However, I feel it does beg the question as to why the room couldn't have been deep leaned before our arrival..... The second room was fine apart from a very annoying extractor fan in the shower room which couldn't be switched off at all and disturbed us during the night. We ate in the restaurant the first night - pricey but very good food and service, and far better value than the meal we had in town the next night! Overall, the hotel was good - better than average but perhaps not very good - the staff were helpful and pleasant, but it was such a disappointment about our smelly room.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms on the 3rd floor have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    103
    53
    19
    21
See reviews for
64
147
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northwest england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed four nights in this hotel and whilst we had no major complaints we were disappointed with the small room which was quite dated. This is understandable when you consider the age of the building (1800's) but at the price we paid we expected better. We were glad that we requested a sea view as this made up for the room to some extent. The staff were very helpful and we were able to park our motor bikes in the rear car park. There is no bar or residents area with the grounfd floor taken up by a very nice restaurant. The menu was largely sea food - no surprises there! At 75 euro for a meal and drinks for 2 it was a bit expensive and we ate out for the next three nights at about half the cost.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, however these tend to be on the third floor and the stairs are quite steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

No luxury hotel this, but the sea views (including of the remains of the Mulberry Harbour) are rather splendid. The rooms are pretty basic - perhaps even a little tired - and you really do want one with a sea view if possible. The people who run the hotel are very friendly and helpful. There is a pleasant bar and a rather nice (if a tad pricey) restaurant - again with great views.

The hotel is right on the sea front, so we were lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves each night. Car parking isn't difficult with a bit of persistence, free overnight and all day in other parts of the small town. Arromanches is on the western edge of Gold Beach, so ideal for exploring west into Omaha and Utah or east for Gold and Juno. The town itself has an interesting museum and the excellent 365 degree cinema. Lovely Calvados countryside all around and Bayeux just a stones throw away.

Room Tip: Don't book through a bucket shop - go straight to the hotel and ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch in Bayeux France on our way to Omaha Beach. We asked our waiter for a good hotel and he suggested La Marina. It is not on Omaha Beach but about 12 miles north along the beach. The town it's in is where the allied built a port starting 2 days after D Day. Bust the museum and see the film. Now about the hotel, right on the water, great view from the dining room and good food. Typical European breakfast. Ask for parking in the back. Wifi poor!!!
Enjoy
Tom Brown

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed here for just a night, but it was a nice stay. The parking lot is very small, so it leaves you to find street parking, pay to park in the lot or wait until after 7pm to park in the lot for free. The room had a lovely view from the windows and hearing the ocean at night was really nice. (Injury side note: The bed frames stick way out and are covered by the comfortor. Both my companion and and I nailed our shins on the wood frames) The bathroom was lovely and spacious, nice change of pace after traveling for three weeks. Our stay was short, but pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel is in a beautiful location and the rooms have the best beach views in Arromanches. The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean. We opted for the morning breakfast with the room and found it to be adequate (bread, jams, hard-boiled eggs, cheese and meat). The room was very small but adequate for touring. The bed was horrible! We were not able to find a comfortable position on the extremely soft mattress the entire 5 nights of our stay. Hotel staff offers internet but advises access in the hotel bar. Even in the bar, we were only able to access internet 2 of the 5 nights and then connectivity was not good enough to support Skype. There is an elevator but staff turns it off overnight and so if you leave before 8:00 a.m., you must lug all your luggage down the very narrow, steep and winding staircase (we were on the 3rd floor).

Room Tip: Be sure to reserve a room with a sea view. You can only guarantee a sea view when making reservatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Hotel Marine is ideally placed for visits to the D-Day landing beaches and is situated at Quai du Canada, right on the seafront.
Staff were very pleasant and helpful and we were given a room on the 3rd floor with a seaview!
We were a little disappointed that the room had a 'smell of cigarettes' about it and looked 'tired'!
We were not looking for anything 'flashy' and we certainly didn't get it but it was clean and the bathroom was functional.
Overall ok - location superb.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - well worth it and the higher the better -ie 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Marine

Address: 1, quai du Canada, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de la Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Marine Hotel
Hotel De La Marine Arromanches-Les-Bains, France - Normandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Marine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.