We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Marine

Save Saved
You added Hotel de la Marine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de la Marine
1, quai du Canada, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“On the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch in Bayeux France on our way to Omaha Beach. We asked our waiter for a good hotel and he suggested La Marina. It is not on Omaha Beach but about 12 miles north along the beach. The town it's in is where the allied built a port starting 2 days after D Day. Bust the museum and see the film. Now about the hotel, right on the water, great view from the dining room and good food. Typical European breakfast. Ask for parking in the back. Wifi poor!!!
Enjoy
Tom Brown

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    91
    48
    17
    19
See reviews for
55
132
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed here for just a night, but it was a nice stay. The parking lot is very small, so it leaves you to find street parking, pay to park in the lot or wait until after 7pm to park in the lot for free. The room had a lovely view from the windows and hearing the ocean at night was really nice. (Injury side note: The bed frames stick way out and are covered by the comfortor. Both my companion and and I nailed our shins on the wood frames) The bathroom was lovely and spacious, nice change of pace after traveling for three weeks. Our stay was short, but pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel is in a beautiful location and the rooms have the best beach views in Arromanches. The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean. We opted for the morning breakfast with the room and found it to be adequate (bread, jams, hard-boiled eggs, cheese and meat). The room was very small but adequate for touring. The bed was horrible! We were not able to find a comfortable position on the extremely soft mattress the entire 5 nights of our stay. Hotel staff offers internet but advises access in the hotel bar. Even in the bar, we were only able to access internet 2 of the 5 nights and then connectivity was not good enough to support Skype. There is an elevator but staff turns it off overnight and so if you leave before 8:00 a.m., you must lug all your luggage down the very narrow, steep and winding staircase (we were on the 3rd floor).

Room Tip: Be sure to reserve a room with a sea view. You can only guarantee a sea view when making reservatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Hotel Marine is ideally placed for visits to the D-Day landing beaches and is situated at Quai du Canada, right on the seafront.
Staff were very pleasant and helpful and we were given a room on the 3rd floor with a seaview!
We were a little disappointed that the room had a 'smell of cigarettes' about it and looked 'tired'!
We were not looking for anything 'flashy' and we certainly didn't get it but it was clean and the bathroom was functional.
Overall ok - location superb.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - well worth it and the higher the better -ie 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Coming from Italy, me my wife and our son (12 yeras old). It was a nice experience considering all the aspects:
1) Pratically the hotel is located in front the sea (few meters), the view is really impressive.
2) The restaurant is perfect, we had a dinner and a lunch with good and fresh fish well prepared
3) The public car parking is a few meters from the hotel. In the night is free of charge.
4) and a 100 meters from the hotel there is the musèe du debarquement which is an important site for who likes to know more details about this important event of european history during last world war. In few words the perfect hotel for the planned scope of our visit. It was a relaxing and interesting stop in France during our trip . Roberto & his family from Italy

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a great little hotel. the place is clean with attached restaurant. Breakfast was included. Wine sold in the lobby, very nice. It is located right in the middle of the town and looks out onto the remains of the WWII Mulberry harbor. There is a nice museum and casino just east of the hotel and lots of places to explore.

Room Tip: The more you pay the higher the floor you'll be located. If there is a lot happening on the boa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I was keen to stay in the area due to the fact my late Father had come ashore on Gold Beach on D Day plus one whilst serving with the Royal Corp of Signals so this hotel was ideal. The hotel itself has seen better days but it's clean and the staff are friendly and welcoming. Parking is in the public car park across the way which wasn't a problem the period between 7pm and 9am is free so as we didn't arrive until after 7 we only needed to pay for a couple of hours in the morning. Breakfast was good but a little expensive at 12€ each I felt.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Marine

Address: 1, quai du Canada, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de la Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Marine Hotel
Hotel De La Marine Arromanches-Les-Bains, France - Normandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Marine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.