We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Marine on the Normandy Beaches” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Marine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Marine to your Saves list
Hotel de la Marine
1, quai du Canada, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Hotel Marine on the Normandy Beaches”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Hotel Marine is ideally placed for visits to the D-Day landing beaches and is situated at Quai du Canada, right on the seafront.
Staff were very pleasant and helpful and we were given a room on the 3rd floor with a seaview!
We were a little disappointed that the room had a 'smell of cigarettes' about it and looked 'tired'!
We were not looking for anything 'flashy' and we certainly didn't get it but it was clean and the bathroom was functional.
Overall ok - location superb.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - well worth it and the higher the better -ie 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    103
    53
    19
    21
See reviews for
64
147
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Coming from Italy, me my wife and our son (12 yeras old). It was a nice experience considering all the aspects:
1) Pratically the hotel is located in front the sea (few meters), the view is really impressive.
2) The restaurant is perfect, we had a dinner and a lunch with good and fresh fish well prepared
3) The public car parking is a few meters from the hotel. In the night is free of charge.
4) and a 100 meters from the hotel there is the musèe du debarquement which is an important site for who likes to know more details about this important event of european history during last world war. In few words the perfect hotel for the planned scope of our visit. It was a relaxing and interesting stop in France during our trip . Roberto & his family from Italy

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a great little hotel. the place is clean with attached restaurant. Breakfast was included. Wine sold in the lobby, very nice. It is located right in the middle of the town and looks out onto the remains of the WWII Mulberry harbor. There is a nice museum and casino just east of the hotel and lots of places to explore.

Room Tip: The more you pay the higher the floor you'll be located. If there is a lot happening on the boa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I was keen to stay in the area due to the fact my late Father had come ashore on Gold Beach on D Day plus one whilst serving with the Royal Corp of Signals so this hotel was ideal. The hotel itself has seen better days but it's clean and the staff are friendly and welcoming. Parking is in the public car park across the way which wasn't a problem the period between 7pm and 9am is free so as we didn't arrive until after 7 we only needed to pay for a couple of hours in the morning. Breakfast was good but a little expensive at 12€ each I felt.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We spent four nights here in early July for my husbands birthday. We ordered champagne on arrival which we enjoyed on the terrace overlooking the sea and the amazing Mulberry harbour. The room was clean and comfortable with a great view. The staff we're very friendly and welcoming and even endured our not so good French! We dined in the hotel restaurant on my husband's birthday and we're very impressed with the service. The restaurant staff all seemed to be of young age but the service was impecable as was the food. We really enjoyed our stay here and wouldn't hesitate to return if so desired in the future. Nothing was too much trouble even when it came to booking a game of golf. This hotel is in a great location for anyone wishing to visit the Normandy beaches and museums

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We spent one night at this hotel while touring D-Day beaches. We reserved 2 rooms - one triple sea-view room with 1 double bed and 1 twin, and one double sea view room. We received exactly what we requested. The rooms were clean, simple and met expectations. Our expectations weren't super high for this hotel and we were pleasantly surprised by what we found. Our beds were comfortable but we did have to sleep with the windows open as there was no A/C. But the sea air was nice so we weren't hot. There was no bath tub in either room, only showers. This is not a complaint but if I was staying longer, I would have preferred a tub with my 3 year old. I also recommend bringing your own toiletries. The toiletries consisted only of a small bar of soap and little packets of body wash/shampoo. We easily parked in the museum lot across the street and because we left after 9am, there was a small charge - only a couple euros. Other reviews complain about the parking, but if you use the suggested museum parking lot, it's super easy. I did have to call the hotel to find it while driving in as we couldn't get there with our GPS, but the staff easily and happily talked me through the directions in English. In hindsight, I think I would have had better luck if we programmed the museum into the GPS since that is where we parked. We also had a dinner reservation in their restaurant. We requested a table by the window and enjoyed a magnificent sunset. The food was amazing, though not cheap. We also had breakfast included. It was a simple breakfast consisting of coffee, tea, juice, cereal, croissants, hard-boiled eggs, ham, cheese, etc. I would stay here, as well as eat here, again. The staff was fantastic and helpful, and the views from the hotel were incredible. It was a perfectly charming way to relax after a day of D-Day activities. Note for kids, they also had a bucket of cute beach toys in the lobby if you have time to take advantage of the beach.

Room Tip: Request a sea view room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed one night with our daughter and her family after spending a day touring Normandy Beaches, WWII exhibits and American Cemetery. We had a window table for dinner, allowing us to enjoy the beautiful view along with the wonderful food. The staff was extremely friendly. We could only use wireless in the dining room, and rooms were small and quaint, but this did not detract from our visit. Rather, it enhanced the quaint, old time feel of our trip. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Marine

Address: 1, quai du Canada, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de la Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Marine Hotel
Hotel De La Marine Arromanches-Les-Bains, France - Normandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Marine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.