We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel with beautiful views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Marine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel de la Marine to your Saves list
Hotel de la Marine
1, quai du Canada, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charming hotel with beautiful views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We spent one night at this hotel while touring D-Day beaches. We reserved 2 rooms - one triple sea-view room with 1 double bed and 1 twin, and one double sea view room. We received exactly what we requested. The rooms were clean, simple and met expectations. Our expectations weren't super high for this hotel and we were pleasantly surprised by what we found. Our beds were comfortable but we did have to sleep with the windows open as there was no A/C. But the sea air was nice so we weren't hot. There was no bath tub in either room, only showers. This is not a complaint but if I was staying longer, I would have preferred a tub with my 3 year old. I also recommend bringing your own toiletries. The toiletries consisted only of a small bar of soap and little packets of body wash/shampoo. We easily parked in the museum lot across the street and because we left after 9am, there was a small charge - only a couple euros. Other reviews complain about the parking, but if you use the suggested museum parking lot, it's super easy. I did have to call the hotel to find it while driving in as we couldn't get there with our GPS, but the staff easily and happily talked me through the directions in English. In hindsight, I think I would have had better luck if we programmed the museum into the GPS since that is where we parked. We also had a dinner reservation in their restaurant. We requested a table by the window and enjoyed a magnificent sunset. The food was amazing, though not cheap. We also had breakfast included. It was a simple breakfast consisting of coffee, tea, juice, cereal, croissants, hard-boiled eggs, ham, cheese, etc. I would stay here, as well as eat here, again. The staff was fantastic and helpful, and the views from the hotel were incredible. It was a perfectly charming way to relax after a day of D-Day activities. Note for kids, they also had a bucket of cute beach toys in the lobby if you have time to take advantage of the beach.

Room Tip: Request a sea view room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    103
    53
    19
    21
See reviews for
64
147
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mentor, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed one night with our daughter and her family after spending a day touring Normandy Beaches, WWII exhibits and American Cemetery. We had a window table for dinner, allowing us to enjoy the beautiful view along with the wonderful food. The staff was extremely friendly. We could only use wireless in the dining room, and rooms were small and quaint, but this did not detract from our visit. Rather, it enhanced the quaint, old time feel of our trip. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We booked 3 nights, taking advantage of Arromanches-les-Bains' central location to explore the Normandy beaches & sights. We reserved a room with a sea view & were not disappointed as we were given a corner room on the 3rd floor. The views were fabulous. Whilst it was a little cosy, the décor was modern & the room was spotless. The bathroom was very spacious with a large window making it bright & airy.

The breakfast was plentiful & the lady overseeing the dining room was great fun. Having read the mixed reviews, we didn't use the hotel restaurant, but it seemed very popular & was full each night. The staff are all helpful, very pleasant & hard-working. Arriving just as breakfast is being served, they were still there when we popped into the bar for a night-cap at 10pm.

A minor niggle was the Wifi, which seemed to work intermittently. The log on procedure was a little long-winded as you had to watch a short advertisement in order to access the internet, only for the signal to drop out, forcing you to go through the procedure again.

Parking the car was a slight issue, but there are plenty of places with an easy walk of the hotel. The public car park is right next to the hotel & free if you move your car by 9am. Not a great hardship. We parked near the small grocery store & as we bought our lunchtime picnic from there each morning, it worked quite well.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay & thought it was good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at La Marine. It is on the quai--literally next to the beach. You are at Gold Beach for WWII historians and can see the remains of the British Mulberrys--the floating harbors that they brought over to help unload ships. It's fascinating and steeped in history. The Germans occupied the hotel during the war. The hotel is lovely. Rooms are small but clean and very functional. Nice sheets as well. The bathroom is tiny but had a great shower! . We traveled with another couple and I requested rooms with a sea view on the top floor. They were perfect. We slept with the windows open and could hear the waves crashing against the beach. High tide was around 2 AM and I happened to wake up because of the loud wave noise and was shocked to see the water all the way up the sea wall. It was amazing! The staff was very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast in the dining room was lovely and one of the best of our travels in France. Our friends eat gluten-free and the restaurant was so accomodating--they ordered gluten free baquettes and had them available all 3 mornings. We also dined in the restaurant which was very pretty with fabulous views (be sure to request a window table when booking). The food was very good as well which is not always the case at restaurants with views! We'll definitely return because of the gracious hospitality.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view on a high floor. A corner room has 2 windows for cross ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Hotel Marine is a cute hotel operated by a very friendly staff. The hotel is right on the water and in the center of this small seaside town. It has easy access to the Normandy landing beaches and is also adjacent to the Mulberry Bridge Remnants. The place is quite old, and we found some mold in a closet. However, it was not a bad deal all things considered.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel De La marine on the 15th June with my 13 year old son on a tour of the D day experiences, the location of the hotel is beautiful, stunning even looking out onto the beach, however it kinda ended there. From booking the hotel i checked online they had parking as they advertise they do, alas its small and easily filled by two cars so we were advised to use the public car park across the way at cost to ourselves (no biggie) hoping for a view out to sea we were actually given a room down a side street with no view or ambience at all, a shower that flooded the whole bathroom, but comfortable and quite bedroom. We then decided to go for a drink on the ample deck overlooking the sea, the one waiter serving 20 people was failing badly, 20 minutes before we got served (im patient but some people were coming and going during this time), we had one drink and asked for another which never came so we decided to leave and have a drink at the bar opposite this one, really bad show for a french bar by the way, the other one was more than happy to see us. Then dinner came, 12 euro for soup 24 euro for steak 24 euro for half a bottle of wine and i think 12 euro for my sons burger... i dont mind paying for good food, its all part of the experience but to be honest including my sons drink our meal was just under 100 euros, its wasnt bad food but im my view it was noway worth the price, they are taking advantage of their location, on top of this we both felt rushed as the waiter couldnt wait to get us out... not what i expect in france at all.. in hindsight the same bar we ran too before had a two course dinner for 18 euro each which looked just as nice.... its a shame as stated before the location is stunning and the female staff very friendly but come on 203 euro for one night and dinner for two!? flooded bathroom, no parking, 12 euros each for breakfast!!! simply not worth the cost

Room Tip: dont waste your money stay in port de besin
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel de la mar... M, Responsable relations clients at Hotel de la Marine, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Sir,
We thank you very much to have taken the time to share your experience about our property. First of all, we are really sorry that you did not enjoyed your stay with us. Our ultimate goal is your satisfaction and are really sorry to failed with you.
Regarding your booking and the room you had : you booked through a well know web agency and your wishes are always subject to availabilities at your check in. Unfortunately on saturday night, the rooms with view on the sea were left.
For the car park, we have a small one behind the property (just 4 places) and it's full at the late afternoon. The car park of the museum, free overnight) is located at less than 20 meters from the main entrance of the property and we are always really pleased to help you to carry your luggages.
Regarding the experience in the bar, it's absolutely true that we were not busy but overcrowded and it was really difficult quite impossible for the waiters to serve all our guest in the same time. It's absolutely not an excuse but an observation. We always try to do our best and serve you as fast as possible but when all the guests come in the same time, it's really difficult to make it.
For the menu in the restaurant, we also have a 2 set menu at 19€ served every day for every meals. We also have 2 others menus at 29 and 38€ and a children menu at 11€. If you want to eat 'à la carte', every where in the world it is more expensive.

Again we are sorry that you did not enjoyed your stay with us.
We wish you a very nice day.
With our kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had coffee at this hotel's terrace cafe while watching the Normandy Beach. It was most relaxing with the sea breeze and the shade under the sun. Perfect place to absorb the historic atmosphere in this amazing place in Normandy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Marine

Address: 1, quai du Canada, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de la Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Marine Hotel
Hotel De La Marine Arromanches-Les-Bains, France - Normandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Marine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.