We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“De La Marine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Marine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Marine to your Saves list
Hotel de la Marine
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1, quai du Canada, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“De La Marine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have stayed a few times in the past at this wonderful hotel. The location and view is superb, backed up by friendly welcoming staff. We booked recently to celebrate our 25th wedding ann, and booking and confirmation via e-mail was quick and painless. If you love seafood, then this is the hotel for you. A wide range of choice, all locally caught backed up with an excellent view over Gold Beach whilst you dine. Despite the fact they are mainly a seafood restaurant, they are happy to supply alternatives if this is not your type of meal. Being a vegetarian, trying to get a meal other than meat in a country where meat is almost a religion can sometimes prove a problem. This is not the case at the La Marine, they happily supplied whatever I requested. One evening I simply fancied a cheese & mushroom omelette, a it was one of the best I had ever had, the chef clearly put a lot of effort into it with a few nice additional extras.
The hotel itself is very old and can be noisy from other guests (depending on your room) at night, but it is always very well kept and spotlessly clean. We stayed for six nights and although we did not request it, the towels were changed every day. We will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Beach, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    123
    67
    25
    25
See reviews for
78
177
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Great location, right on the beach. The room was small but clean and with a sea view. This was a great value at the off-season rate. The staff were exceptional. They spoke excellent English and were extremely helpful. All in all, a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very adequate hotel for a visit to Arromanches. Very pleasant reception and breakfast staff. Has an elevator, which is nice. Rooms small and clean. Plumbing good. Main thing is the
location about one hundred meters across the parking lot, which is free from 7PM to 9AM, from the main attraction in the town, the Musee du Embarquement. We parked there late, after some difficulty finding the hotel, got up in the morning, breakfasted, walked over to the museum, spent a couple of hours there, looked for the parking attendant, could not find him so we got into the car and simply drove out after the barrier mysteriously opened for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sea, that's the other half of the charm of this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

True, this is an old hotel, and that is part of its charm. We made our reservations several months in advance and snagged a twin room on the sea with windows on two sides. It was perfect. The beds were comfy and the bath was plenty roomy for our two night stay. We had dinner in the dining room the first night with one of us ordering the 3 course menu and the other a main course. The appetizer of 6 oysters was shared between the two of us, and dessert was plenty for two. While it was fairly pricy, we felt we got our money's worth. The complimentary breakfast was generous and we had a drink in the bar both evenings. The staff was gracious and helpful.

Room Tip: Make reservations early and be specific what you want. The room prices are posted and you get what...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Spur of the moment decision to stay at hotel since we planned a day trip from Paris only. Restaurant drew us in. Good menu but very overpriced. Staff very friendly which helped to make up for the minuses in the room. Small with terrible mattress. Beautiful view but room too hot. For every plus there was a minus. Again staff was four star room was one star.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel is Ibis quality and no more. The location on the sea front is nice and if you can get a room with sea view it's lovely BUT - don't eat in the hotel unless you like very expensive rubbish.

I wouldn't stay here again, as having a sea view isn't top of the list for me. We got a much nicer hotel in Bayeaux and found fantastic food in the town much cheaper with less condescending staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We origianlly were going to spend two nights here and ended up staying four. It was a great location to drive to all of the D-day sites and museums then return for a quite evening on the beach. The hotel is older but very clean and the staff was wonderful and very accomodating. Rooms are small but that is the norm in France. We ate breakfast at the hotel but didn't use the retaurant for lunch or dinner. We did however sit on the outdoor deck and enjoyed coffee and beer/wine as you can't beat the view! Make you reservation early and ask for a ocean view room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arromanches-les-Bains
0.2 mi away
Le Mulberry
Le Mulberry
#2 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
#1 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel D'arromanches
Hotel D'arromanches
#4 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Normandie
Hotel de Normandie
#5 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
7.5 mi away
La Cremaillere
La Cremaillere
#2 of 2 in Courseulles-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 stars 606 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
#2 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
4.0 of 5 stars 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Marine

Address: 1, quai du Canada, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Marine 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel de la Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Marine Hotel
Hotel De La Marine Arromanches-Les-Bains, France - Normandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Marine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.