We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and friendly, helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Marine

Save Saved
You added Hotel de la Marine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de la Marine
1, quai du Canada, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great location and friendly, helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Great location, right on the beach. The room was small but clean and with a sea view. This was a great value at the off-season rate. The staff were exceptional. They spoke excellent English and were extremely helpful. All in all, a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    88
    44
    16
    17
See reviews for
51
124
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very adequate hotel for a visit to Arromanches. Very pleasant reception and breakfast staff. Has an elevator, which is nice. Rooms small and clean. Plumbing good. Main thing is the
location about one hundred meters across the parking lot, which is free from 7PM to 9AM, from the main attraction in the town, the Musee du Embarquement. We parked there late, after some difficulty finding the hotel, got up in the morning, breakfasted, walked over to the museum, spent a couple of hours there, looked for the parking attendant, could not find him so we got into the car and simply drove out after the barrier mysteriously opened for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sea, that's the other half of the charm of this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

True, this is an old hotel, and that is part of its charm. We made our reservations several months in advance and snagged a twin room on the sea with windows on two sides. It was perfect. The beds were comfy and the bath was plenty roomy for our two night stay. We had dinner in the dining room the first night with one of us ordering the 3 course menu and the other a main course. The appetizer of 6 oysters was shared between the two of us, and dessert was plenty for two. While it was fairly pricy, we felt we got our money's worth. The complimentary breakfast was generous and we had a drink in the bar both evenings. The staff was gracious and helpful.

Room Tip: Make reservations early and be specific what you want. The room prices are posted and you get what...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Spur of the moment decision to stay at hotel since we planned a day trip from Paris only. Restaurant drew us in. Good menu but very overpriced. Staff very friendly which helped to make up for the minuses in the room. Small with terrible mattress. Beautiful view but room too hot. For every plus there was a minus. Again staff was four star room was one star.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel is Ibis quality and no more. The location on the sea front is nice and if you can get a room with sea view it's lovely BUT - don't eat in the hotel unless you like very expensive rubbish.

I wouldn't stay here again, as having a sea view isn't top of the list for me. We got a much nicer hotel in Bayeaux and found fantastic food in the town much cheaper with less condescending staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We origianlly were going to spend two nights here and ended up staying four. It was a great location to drive to all of the D-day sites and museums then return for a quite evening on the beach. The hotel is older but very clean and the staff was wonderful and very accomodating. Rooms are small but that is the norm in France. We ate breakfast at the hotel but didn't use the retaurant for lunch or dinner. We did however sit on the outdoor deck and enjoyed coffee and beer/wine as you can't beat the view! Make you reservation early and ask for a ocean view room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our previous night was spent on Le Mont San Michel where I felt like a Princess in a Castle. The sat nav finally got us to the hotel after walking along the promenade. On arrival we were assured where we had parked for free would be ok (it was) our room was on the 2nd floor but up a flight of stairs to an attic area with head out of window sea views. The room was basic but very clean, if not a weird entry!) We ventured out around Arromanche to see if any restaurants took our fancy (although as a safety measure we had booked into the hotel restaurant). We decided that we would actually dine at the hotel, and we were not disappointed, food was superb, service was attentive (restaurant was extremely busy). Overall the hotel is in the most excellent position for the Normandy Tours, fabulous views of the mulberry harbour and the locals on low tide 'moules' collecting. Staff extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel de la Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Marine

Address: 1, quai du Canada, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de la Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Marine Hotel
Hotel De La Marine Arromanches-Les-Bains, France - Normandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Marine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.