We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect seafront location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Marine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Marine to your Saves list
Hotel de la Marine
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1, quai du Canada, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect seafront location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

La Marine is situated in the best possible position on the seafront at Arromanche with views from the restaurant and seafront facing rooms emcompassing the whole of the remains of the Mulberry Harbour out to sea.
We had a two night stay and regarded the hotel as the proverbial "curate's egg" - good in parts. The staff were very friendly and helpful and all spoke very good English, which helped relieve our inadequate French. Our room was on the first floor and had a perfect sea view. The room itself was small but did have a desk, reasonable storage space (no full length wardrobe just a short hanging cupboard) and TV (French channels only) and the small bathroom had a decent, compact corner shower. Free WiFi was available in the room. It was generally clean, although the decoration was a little tired, but the double bed was the smallest that could be described as such and the bed spread kept sliding off when we got into it! However ,the biggest problem was the poor soundproofing. Our room was directly above the restaurant which has loudspeakers for its background music set in the ceiling, thus serenading us from below until the restaurant closure at 11.00 pm. We were also unlucky enough to have a snorer in the adjoining room who seemed to be going for an entry in the Guinness Book of Records and above us we could hear every footstep.
However, we thought the restaurant was excellent. We ate there both nights and our meal on the second night particularly, from their most expensive set menu, was superb. We agreed our oysters were the best we could remember having, the lobster main course was outstanding and the puddings were delicious. The restaurant was full on both nights and it was a credit to the waiting staff that they coped very well with the service, so, with good but pricey wine, the meal was not cheap but our table next to the panoramic window made it overall an extremely enjoyable experience.
Parking is a potentially a problem but the hotel has a small car park in which we always managed to park but the museum car park is next door to the hotel and always had spaces although it is a pay car park during the day. Overall we did enjoy our stay, but two nights was probably enough.

Room Tip: Definitely a room facing the sea and perhaps higher in the building to reduce the noise potential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ottawa. Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The hotel was very old. The carpet was stained and badly needed to be replaced. There was an air freshener in the room that failed to disguise the stale odour. The bedspread had stains on it and when we asked for a replacement we were told that nothing could be done until the housekeeper came in the next day. It is a shame that these things couldn't have been rectified as the location was perfect with a view overlooking Gold Beach. We would not recommendthis hotel.

Room Tip: We would not recommend this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arromanches-les-Bains hotels

London
Level Contributor
127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is a lovely little hotel, right on the quay in Arromanches. You ARE on Gold Beach here and could not be closer to the sea. It is a 2 star-hotel, so no luxury is involved, but it is clean and efficient. Our room, on the top floor, had 2 windows, both overlooking the sea. The bathroom was tiny but clean, with a tub and shower. The hotel staff are extremely friendly and helpful and there is a sort of parking arrangement involved (too complicated to explain here!). It is perfectly placed to visit the wonderful "Musee du Debarquement" and the sites on Gold Beach.

The breakfast was rather expensive at 12 euros, but it was good. However, we tried the restaurant and were not impressed. The Moules marinieres were overcooked and tasteless, the service was strained and the price steep.

Wi fi is a lowpoint, as it's only accessible from the restaurant/bar area and you need a new password every hour, as that's the time limit they give you before requiring a new login.

Overall, we would recommend it as it's a really friendly place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The building has been there since 1906 as this has always been a resort town. The D-day landing put this town pemenentrly on the world scene. The hotel has updated inside and has an elevator. There is WiFi advertised but I don't see how they can justify that add. It was so weak you had to sit on a chair next to the stairs to get on and it would promptly drop your connection as soon as you sent an email.

The location was awesome. The beach was just outside the hotel. The town parking lot was across the street (1€ per hour) and the Museun was next to that. The cinarama was a walk or drive up the hill.

This hotel put us within good reach of all the Landing beaches by car and there are van tours which will pick up at the hotel. Other cities of intrest are also close. Good home base for seeing the region.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee5555565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

First impressions not good as sat nav led us almost to the hotel - separated from us by two steep flights of steps so had to reverse about 200 yards, Eventually found the hotel to be told that there were only 3 parking spaces for about 100 guests but that we could leave the car in the public car park and that was free - provided we moved the car out of the car park before 9 a.m. - and park where? Hotels.com website states "parking is possible at the hotel" - believe me it's not.

We had to lug our bags 100 yards from the car park to the reception, no offer of help and were then shown to our room which was on the ground floor next to the reception in a grotty little side street which could only be reached by going out of the hotel and down the street and back into another door.

The room could only be described as a soulless de luxe cell, frosted glass window with no curtains, two 12 inch high stools served as bedside tables, three sheets of melamine made up the "dressing table", the draws looked very Ikea and the "wardrobe" had the magnificent number of six hangers in total.

No tea or coffee provided in the room even though we were paying 100 euros a night with no breakfast.

Breakfast sounded like an absolute rip off at 12 euros each for a continental breakfast and we found that all the cafes in Arromanches and other resorts served breakfast at less than half this price.

Didn't try the restaurant after seeing the prices on the menu and used the many restaurants within 100 yards.

The bathroom was in the style of a wet room and boy did it live up to its name, but not too keen on paddling to the toilet after one of us had showered! Not too sure what the hotel staff were like as we never met anyone!!

Room Tip: Insist on one in the hotel rather than the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamwLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We visited the Normandy region of France this July and opted to stay in Arromanches-les-Bains at this quaint hotel. We found out rather dramatically that they actually close the front desk at 11PM but they stayed open for our arrival somewhere between 11PM and 11:30PM. Our room was good sized, nothing fancy but clean. The bathroom was updated and also clean. We overlooked the beach and were smack dab in the middle of town. The breakfast, although cost extra was yummy and offered plenty of choices. We recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBandJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This was not only a hotel, it was an experience. One of the highlights in our 7-day trip in Normandy.

I called to the hotel on the same day and asked for a free room. I was lucky: a friendly person told me that they have one twin room left and that it's a bit expensive (116 eur/night) but has a magnificent view to the beach.

My English skills wouldn't do justice to the view, so I attach a picture. :) You could have sat by the window from early morning to late night, watching the abandoned pontons and the tide come and go. The history crawled under my skin as I listened to the waves and tried to melt everything I had seen in the museums and cemeteries. There is probably no better way to complete the Normandy beaches experience.

I would love to return.

P.S. The restaurant downstairs is also very good.

Room Tip: Pick one with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alannainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arromanches-les-Bains
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
#1 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Normandie
Hotel de Normandie
#5 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Mulberry
Le Mulberry
#2 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel D'arromanches
Hotel D'arromanches
#4 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ferme de la Ranconniere
7.5 mi away
La Cremaillere
La Cremaillere
#1 of 2 in Courseulles-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 stars 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Marine

Address: 1, quai du Canada, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Marine 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de la Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Marine Hotel
Hotel De La Marine Arromanches-Les-Bains, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing