We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect View.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Marine

Save Saved
You added Hotel de la Marine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de la Marine
1, quai du Canada, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ottawa. Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect View.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The hotel was very old. The carpet was stained and badly needed to be replaced. There was an air freshener in the room that failed to disguise the stale odour. The bedspread had stains on it and when we asked for a replacement we were told that nothing could be done until the housekeeper came in the next day. It is a shame that these things couldn't have been rectified as the location was perfect with a view overlooking Gold Beach. We would not recommendthis hotel.

Room Tip: We would not recommend this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    88
    44
    16
    17
See reviews for
51
124
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is a lovely little hotel, right on the quay in Arromanches. You ARE on Gold Beach here and could not be closer to the sea. It is a 2 star-hotel, so no luxury is involved, but it is clean and efficient. Our room, on the top floor, had 2 windows, both overlooking the sea. The bathroom was tiny but clean, with a tub and shower. The hotel staff are extremely friendly and helpful and there is a sort of parking arrangement involved (too complicated to explain here!). It is perfectly placed to visit the wonderful "Musee du Debarquement" and the sites on Gold Beach.

The breakfast was rather expensive at 12 euros, but it was good. However, we tried the restaurant and were not impressed. The Moules marinieres were overcooked and tasteless, the service was strained and the price steep.

Wi fi is a lowpoint, as it's only accessible from the restaurant/bar area and you need a new password every hour, as that's the time limit they give you before requiring a new login.

Overall, we would recommend it as it's a really friendly place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

The building has been there since 1906 as this has always been a resort town. The D-day landing put this town pemenentrly on the world scene. The hotel has updated inside and has an elevator. There is WiFi advertised but I don't see how they can justify that add. It was so weak you had to sit on a chair next to the stairs to get on and it would promptly drop your connection as soon as you sent an email.

The location was awesome. The beach was just outside the hotel. The town parking lot was across the street (1€ per hour) and the Museun was next to that. The cinarama was a walk or drive up the hill.

This hotel put us within good reach of all the Landing beaches by car and there are van tours which will pick up at the hotel. Other cities of intrest are also close. Good home base for seeing the region.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

First impressions not good as sat nav led us almost to the hotel - separated from us by two steep flights of steps so had to reverse about 200 yards, Eventually found the hotel to be told that there were only 3 parking spaces for about 100 guests but that we could leave the car in the public car park and that was free - provided we moved the car out of the car park before 9 a.m. - and park where? Hotels.com website states "parking is possible at the hotel" - believe me it's not.

We had to lug our bags 100 yards from the car park to the reception, no offer of help and were then shown to our room which was on the ground floor next to the reception in a grotty little side street which could only be reached by going out of the hotel and down the street and back into another door.

The room could only be described as a soulless de luxe cell, frosted glass window with no curtains, two 12 inch high stools served as bedside tables, three sheets of melamine made up the "dressing table", the draws looked very Ikea and the "wardrobe" had the magnificent number of six hangers in total.

No tea or coffee provided in the room even though we were paying 100 euros a night with no breakfast.

Breakfast sounded like an absolute rip off at 12 euros each for a continental breakfast and we found that all the cafes in Arromanches and other resorts served breakfast at less than half this price.

Didn't try the restaurant after seeing the prices on the menu and used the many restaurants within 100 yards.

The bathroom was in the style of a wet room and boy did it live up to its name, but not too keen on paddling to the toilet after one of us had showered! Not too sure what the hotel staff were like as we never met anyone!!

Room Tip: Insist on one in the hotel rather than the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We visited the Normandy region of France this July and opted to stay in Arromanches-les-Bains at this quaint hotel. We found out rather dramatically that they actually close the front desk at 11PM but they stayed open for our arrival somewhere between 11PM and 11:30PM. Our room was good sized, nothing fancy but clean. The bathroom was updated and also clean. We overlooked the beach and were smack dab in the middle of town. The breakfast, although cost extra was yummy and offered plenty of choices. We recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This was not only a hotel, it was an experience. One of the highlights in our 7-day trip in Normandy.

I called to the hotel on the same day and asked for a free room. I was lucky: a friendly person told me that they have one twin room left and that it's a bit expensive (116 eur/night) but has a magnificent view to the beach.

My English skills wouldn't do justice to the view, so I attach a picture. :) You could have sat by the window from early morning to late night, watching the abandoned pontons and the tide come and go. The history crawled under my skin as I listened to the waves and tried to melt everything I had seen in the museums and cemeteries. There is probably no better way to complete the Normandy beaches experience.

I would love to return.

P.S. The restaurant downstairs is also very good.

Room Tip: Pick one with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I stayed at La Marine for 2 nights while I was visiting arromanches. The rooms are small but everything works. I definitely recommend getting a room with a view on the sea - they are great. The location is fantastic, literally on the beach, although when the tide comes up there is no beach. I must say though, the Wi-Fi that the hotel say they have is almost nonexistent, especially in the rooms. The view on the Mulberry harbour is excellent, and the breakfast they provide is ask very good, with a variety of juices, coffee, hot chocolate, croissants, boiled eggs, etc. The service was very kind, telling us information about all the things we wanted to visit and provided us with some maps as well. Overall I loved my stay and hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel de la Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Marine

Address: 1, quai du Canada, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de la Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Marine Hotel
Hotel De La Marine Arromanches-Les-Bains, France - Normandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Marine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.