We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Meal in Arromanches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Le Papagall

Restaurant Le Papagall
2, rue du Colonel Rene Michel, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
33 02 31 22 36 26
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $46
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Ferney-Voltaire, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Arromanches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We ate at a few restaurants while we were in Arromanches and this was the best of the three. The food was outstanding and the service was quite good. The dining room was a little loud and the noise was not helped by the presence of some overly energetic, unruly, and unsupervised children (the parents were more interested in quaffing their wine then managing their hellions.)

That aside, though, the atmosphere was pleasant and warm. We chose to order the "Decouverte Menu" (Discovery Menu) and enjoyed several innovative and well-constructed dishes. We both started with the Decouverte du Pappagall, featuring foie gras, smoked salmon, and smoked duck. All three were excellent. The smoked duck was especially flavorful and the foie gras was modest, but tasty.

We followed our starters with the duck in cider sauce with the potatoes dauphinoise. Both were excellent! Then we finished the evening off with dessert, which was okay. (That doesn't mean the desserts are bad. It just means we both made choices we ended up not particularly liking. But, that's the risk you take when you're adventurous and try something new!)

All-in-all, a good meal in a nice atmosphere. The owner came out and interacted with us, in terms of making recommendations and chatting. He was friendly and conversant in English, and he was clearly very proud of the food they create at this restaurant. That pride shone through in the menu and the quality of the meal we ate. If we're ever in Arromanches again, we would definitely eat here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    24
    26
    8
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
portsmouth
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“We used it twice in 3 days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Very good, once with the kids, and then later with friends. It fills up quick on a Saturday, but we got in at 6.30 and it was pretty quiet. By 8 it was full. Monday night it was empty. Food was standard fare but cooked well, i enjoyed the Duck. Nice little bar next door that looked cosy....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

After seeing Le Papagall rated as 2nd best in Arromanches, we decided to give it a try. However we did not realise that it is the best of an average selection of restaurants in this tourist destination. The service was very slow due to an inexperienced young girl serving alone. We waited a long time for our food, which was dry & overcooked when it arrived. As if it had been cooked & left under a heat lamp or equivalent. Looking around at other diners meals, if you like chips/French fries, you'll be fine as most plates were overflowing with them. The décor is OK, but my place setting was sticky. Having watched the table near being cleared, I could understand why. The table settings were not changed, just given a cursory wipe. Not the best, but we have had worse.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best meal in arromanches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had had a very bad experience at a main street restaurant in Arromanches a couple of nights previously and after a TA search decided on the Papagall. As a group of seven we wondered if we may have problems without a reservation but the staff were very helpful and we quickly secured a good table. The service was efficient and unhurried with plenty of friendly banter with the staff. There is a good range of fixed priced options and plenty to choose from. Seafood appetisers, Duck, Scallops and Steaks were all fine. Great deserts and a good wine list. Plenty of locals were in as well and we didn't feel that we were regarded or treated differently from them.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Looks are deceiving...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

From the outside it's a little deceiving. Simple decor.
And you expect mediocrity in such a touristy spot.
But this little place is worth spending your euros in. My father and I had an excellent dinner here, and contemplated returning again during our relatively short stay.
The fish was perfectly cooked, and the courses were all excellent.
It'll be on my lost of places to come back to the next time I'm in Normandy.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Le Papagall also viewed

Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 

Been to Restaurant Le Papagall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Le Papagall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.