We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go somewhere else” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Le Papagall

Restaurant Le Papagall
2, rue du Colonel Rene Michel, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
33 02 31 22 36 26
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $39
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We went here on recommendation from other persons at the hotel.

Sure, it was late in the evening and the chef must have been tired or absent. The carbonara was looking like something from a fastfood restaurant, but atleast the taste of the pasta was ok. The sauce was not top notch...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    38
    11
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Where NOT to eat in Arromanches”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Located ideally on one corner of the main shopping street of Arromanches which coincidently houses most of its restaurants the Logis de France Pappagall appears promising - in terms of menu and by way of comparison with the rest. It was recommended to us as being very good - perhaps the chef had his annual vacation (it was august).

Apparences deceive. We had a variety of different dishes (incl 2 3-course menus) and all were very mediocre. Even the seafood which required little preparation was very disappointing. The meat sauces and desserts were of the packaged variety. The prices were ok but only if you didn't consider the quality. Three separate guests of our hotel ate there the same night. By coincidence we heard from all three that they shared our poor experience.

Unfortunately for the Pappagall Arromanches is blessed with an excellent and very fairly priced restaurant - the Petits assiettes restaurant of the Mulberry Hotel. Visitors here would be well served avoiding the former and frequenting the latter!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“We used it twice in 3 days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Very good, once with the kids, and then later with friends. It fills up quick on a Saturday, but we got in at 6.30 and it was pretty quiet. By 8 it was full. Monday night it was empty. Food was standard fare but cooked well, i enjoyed the Duck. Nice little bar next door that looked cosy....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

After seeing Le Papagall rated as 2nd best in Arromanches, we decided to give it a try. However we did not realise that it is the best of an average selection of restaurants in this tourist destination. The service was very slow due to an inexperienced young girl serving alone. We waited a long time for our food, which was dry & overcooked when it arrived. As if it had been cooked & left under a heat lamp or equivalent. Looking around at other diners meals, if you like chips/French fries, you'll be fine as most plates were overflowing with them. The décor is OK, but my place setting was sticky. Having watched the table near being cleared, I could understand why. The table settings were not changed, just given a cursory wipe. Not the best, but we have had worse.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“COMPACT, FRIENDLY and GREAT FOOD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Whilst filming for battlefieldvideo.com on the Normandy Beaches, i visited this above restaurant.
The food was superb, the service very friendly and efficient, the premises are quite compact, but this only added to the great atmosphere. A most enjoyable and reasonably priced visit overall. All of this despite a Dutch couple trying on the old trick of complaining falsely to get some money off the bill.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Le Papagall also viewed

Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 

Been to Restaurant Le Papagall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Le Papagall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.