We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COMPACT, FRIENDLY and GREAT FOOD” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Le Papagall

Restaurant Le Papagall
2, rue du Colonel Rene Michel, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
33 02 31 22 36 26
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $39
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
London United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“COMPACT, FRIENDLY and GREAT FOOD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Whilst filming for battlefieldvideo.com on the Normandy Beaches, i visited this above restaurant.
The food was superb, the service very friendly and efficient, the premises are quite compact, but this only added to the great atmosphere. A most enjoyable and reasonably priced visit overall. All of this despite a Dutch couple trying on the old trick of complaining falsely to get some money off the bill.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    42
    13
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best meal in arromanches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had had a very bad experience at a main street restaurant in Arromanches a couple of nights previously and after a TA search decided on the Papagall. As a group of seven we wondered if we may have problems without a reservation but the staff were very helpful and we quickly secured a good table. The service was efficient and unhurried with plenty of friendly banter with the staff. There is a good range of fixed priced options and plenty to choose from. Seafood appetisers, Duck, Scallops and Steaks were all fine. Great deserts and a good wine list. Plenty of locals were in as well and we didn't feel that we were regarded or treated differently from them.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Looks are deceiving...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

From the outside it's a little deceiving. Simple decor.
And you expect mediocrity in such a touristy spot.
But this little place is worth spending your euros in. My father and I had an excellent dinner here, and contemplated returning again during our relatively short stay.
The fish was perfectly cooked, and the courses were all excellent.
It'll be on my lost of places to come back to the next time I'm in Normandy.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Blue Parrot (if your a UK person)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Very active and busy located in the center of Arromanches. Good atmosphere and good food and very popular with D-Day veterans

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't bother eating here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We decided to eat at Le Papagall on the recommendation of fellow guests. We had eaten at a neighbouring restaurant the previous evening and had a delightful meal.
So back to Le Papagall, the onion soup was a big let down, lacking in flavour and so thin it was like water. My wife had the sirloin steak special. It was the thinnest, scraggiest looking piece of meat I have ever seen. Compare it to the steak our neighbouring table had (residents) and there was no comparison.
The lesson is....decide for yourself don't believe what others tell you.
You're right I won't be going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Le Papagall also viewed

Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 

Been to Restaurant Le Papagall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Le Papagall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.