We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice of meals and snacks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Le Papagall

Restaurant Le Papagall
2, rue du Colonel Rene Michel, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
33 02 31 22 36 26
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $48
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A good choice of meals and snacks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This bar/restaurant is part of a small, privately owned hotel and is situated on the front, close to the beach and main car park. We were drawn to it because it offered a very good cross section of meals and snacks at good prices. There was plenty there to satisfy the English appetite as well as traditional French food.

We had a snack lunch in the bar there one day and returned a couple of days later for dinner in the restaurant. The owner is a very pleasant man with a good sense of humour and very good English.

When we return to Arromanches we will definitely eat there again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    24
    25
    7
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I'm amazed to read some other reviews here praising the service. Perhaps we wandered in on an off day? The menu was fairly large, and almost as soon as we sat down we were asked for our order. Having politely asked to have a few more minutes to decide the waitress (lady in her 40s/50s) openly snorted in derision and went off chuckling to herself. The place was hardly full, so I'm not sure what the attitude was about!

We eventually ordered two mains; spaghetti carbonara and a steak. The carbonara was ok though nothing to write home about - it also came with a raw egg yolk on top, so if that's not your kind of thing be wary. The steak was covered in a huge amount of cheese, which was rather overwhelming. Dessert (ice cream) was nice, but the bad tempered way the waitress plonked it down - as if we were a nuisance by just being in the restaurant. - spoiled things a little. After this we were simply unable to get her attention again. She must have known we wanted the bill, but completely ignored our wavings. Bizarre! The whole thing ended when we had to physically walk to the cash desk and ask nicely to pay for the experience.

There are better (and friendlier) places to eat in Arromanches, so try them instead!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Well Worth It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Spent a week in Arromanches and have to admit that this place was a pleasure to dine in. The staff were polite, attentive and the service was great. Food was hot and delicious and it was a joy to eat there. Compared to other places through France it was reasonably priced and yes i ate there more than once.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Ate here on 4th July 2012 with my wife

Lovely little place- they don't want bookings after 8pm as the restaurant (like the whole of Arromanches) - likes an early night

Our meal was terrific- really well cooked and presented- all washed down with a nice bottle of Muscadet. 3 courses each for 70 euros. Really good value so if you're in the area pop in - you'll enjoy it. It seemed busy every night which has to be a good sign!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Be warned!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Had the misfortune to visit this restaurant recently whilst visiting the beaches and the museums. We had the Plat de jour, big mistake, had what was beef in sauce. It was indedible I had one piece of meat and the rest was fat. Not sure what cut or sort of meat it was, had pipes in the fat, never had beef like that before. We were both ill the next day and could only put it down to the awful meal. Service was slapdash and we were rushed, however, we could not wait to leave the place.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Le Papagall also viewed

Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 

Been to Restaurant Le Papagall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Le Papagall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.