We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERB !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Normandy Beach B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arromanches-les-Bains
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Normandy Beach B & B
2 Avenue Mountbatten, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Deal, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“SUPERB !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Yes, we agree with all the previous comments, in that we felt welcome the moment we drove in, the wine/beer fridge was opened and we sat & chatted with Adrian and Karen as if we'd known them for years. Adrian is very interesting to listen to - he knows all there is to know about the area and is full of information. Karen's breakfasts are to die for - although we just stuck to cereals & toast. There was a wealth of food on the breakfast table and we were sorely tempted to succumb to the FEB but our frames are corpulent enough already... Our room was spacious, the bed comfortable and we had everything we could need, even an ironing board which I hasten to add was NOT touched. At the end of a day of touring around visiting this lovely area, it was good to relax in the courtyard, enjoy a glass of wine (or two) and chat to the other guests before going out to eat. There are plenty of restaurants in Arromanches with good filling food and a stroll along the beach to watch the setting sun afterwards just ticks all the boxes.. Relaxing? You bet. We went home happy people and would like to thank Karen and Adrian for their wonderful hospitality. Would recommend Normandy Beach B&B to all.
Best wishes from Angela & Mike. PS: Please give Dyson a stroke from us !!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. The 7.00am church bells didn't bother us !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
15
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I don't think we can add anything that hasn't already been said about this wonderful B & B...From the first moment we arrived after a long drive we were made to feel welcome. Complimentary wine and beer were gratefully received the minute we closed the car doors and Karen and Adrian were wonderful hosts (thank you both). Would recommend to anyone wanting a base for exploring and a friendly, clean and safe place to stay. We hope to return....

Ps: Hope Dyson the cat manages to exact revenge on the pesky birds who steal his food!

Room Tip: We can only speak for the Ducatti room - it was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

just had another weekend trip to France and stayed at the Normandy Beach B and B again for two nights. I was in the car, and two friends on motorbikes. Karen and Adrian are very welcoming, it feels a bit like visiting a friend's place. When I arrived, (before the bikers) Adrian was fast asleep so I helped myself to a cuppa as I knew he would be fine with that. It was just after 6th June and there was a WWII veteran staying, always made welcome by Karen and Adrian, and this is the other thing about this place, you meet great people, always friendly. The rooms were great again, most rooms have multiple beds so great for groups or families wanting to get good value. All ensuite, all with tea/coffee making stuff and hairdryers (great thought for bikers who are keeping luggage low but want to keep their style fresh!!!!!) The room was 67 Euros per night and breakfast was 9 Euros for a full English, (cereals, fresh croissants and cakes, bread, bacon, eggs, beans, sausage, tomato, mushroom and wedges). All cooked to order, fabulous, thanks Karen. On first night went to the restaurant around the corner Les P'tites Assiettes, (see another review of this great place) and second night had a bbq in the courtyard of the B and B, (brought our food and used Adrian's BBQ and fuel, thanks Adrian). Would recommend this to anyone who wants a good location, so you can go out all day and have a great place to relax in the evening, either in the courtyard or in the huge lounge with TV. Plus there is free, yes free, beer and wine for guests!

Room Tip: there are only 5 rooms, all are great, but depends whether you are sharing with a group of friends o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Wonderful, wonderful experience. My wife and I visited with our three small children. Karen and Adrian, the proprietors, were so friendly, and Adrian is incredibly knowledgeable about the whole area. He helped us plan a trip that our whole family would enjoy. Also, the breakfast was great. You can't go wrong with this location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

just returned from 5 nights at this special B&B, adrian and karen have managed to create a very relaxed yet comfortable 'home from home' just a matter of yards from arromanches beach.

the en suite rooms are converted barns with tea & coffee making, hairdryers and irons. but to be honest the real magic of this place is the way they genuinely make you feel that if you needed anything else, they would only be to happy to supply it

we arrived just after midnight and inevitably couldn't find the place resorting in the end to ringing up the owners, no problem Adrian jumps in the car comes to meet us and guides us in. quick intro's in the courtyard and beers and hot chocolates were thrust into our hands for a chat in the dining room before heading off to our beds.
beer, wine and hot chocolates appear to be permanantly available at no extra charge. adrian says he wants us to feel as though we are staying with mates rather than staying as paying guests

the next day and full breakfast is irresistible and doesn't fail to deliver, adrian and karen supply fresh pastries, cereals, creamy alcohol infused porridge, breads and of course the full monty!

this is a place devoted to the Normandy landings and it's veterans (and rightly so) and the hosts are extremely knowledgeable, they even open their rooms to veterans for D Day memorials free of charge

this is not luxurious and beautiful accommodation but it is very pleasant, easy and relaxed. it is festooned with WW2 memorabilia as well as bits and pieces which reflect the owners love of all things mechanical. parts of cars, bikes and goodness knows what else 'litter' the place and give this accommodation it's character and identity

the value for money factor is off the scale and i only hope they continue to make their business model work. they are exceptional hosts, they trust you with their livelihoods and you come away feeling you've made friends,

Room Tip: ask for room between common room and bike shed, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barkway, Herts, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We have been visiting here for 10 years. Every year. Adrian & Adri came to our wedding. From our first visit as total strangers to our most recent as old friends it is always a pleasure to be there. Well situated for the historic invasion beaches and within easy reach of Bayeux and Caen (from whence another notable historic invasion was launched) it is an ideal spot to base a holiday in Normandy. Weather you want to tour around or just chill out I can't think of many better places to do it.
Nuff said.

Room Tip: Just get there. All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Great set up, good location and super food. Lets not forget the guest beer fridge in the courtyard. Adrian and Karen are the perfect hosts, very relaxing place to stay, just returned from a 4 night stay on a biking break with 9 of us.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Normandy Beach B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Beach B & B

Also Known As:
Normandy Beach B & B Arromanches-Les-Bains, France
Address: 2 Avenue Mountbatten, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Normandy Beach B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Normandy Beach B & B to your Saves list