We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Normandy Beach B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arromanches-les-Bains
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Normandy Beach B & B
2 Avenue Mountbatten, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My daughter and i got the train up from Paris to Caen and hired a car to look around Normandy and this B & B was great, Karen was a great host, did not see Adrien think he was in the UK. We stayed in the "Bread Room" lot's of character and Karen gave us some DVD's to watch, All the beach landing areas are close to here and we could not have aske for a better host. The little black cat was especially friendly and my daughter loved it.
Hey Karen sorry we packed your little hair dryer up in our stuff, we shipped it back from Paris so i'm sure you got it back safley. If you are looking for value for money and that friendly feeling well this is the place.
Cheer
Phil from Australia.

Room Tip: Bread room is good if you dont like stairs. Plenty of off street secure parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
16
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
derby
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Karen is an absolute star and made us feel extremely welcome with everything from a fridge full of beer at the end of each day's biking and a fantastic cooked breakfast each morning. As Brits the owners are a fantastic resource for local tips for us non-French speakers!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

What a great setting..... a 'free' beer and wine fridge after a good day out..... what great hosts Karen & Adrian are, nothing was too much trouble, even lending us the house kitchen when we had a BBQ in the yard.... 'thanks Karen'.
So much to see and do... but so little time this time.... but that means we will be going back again, and again no doubt
Perfect for motorcyclists to use as a base. The rooms are of a very good standard, clean and warm. Tea and coffeee in the rooms.....
Breakfast is 'everybody' around the huge dinning room table (seating for 20 or so if I remember correctly) with a choice of continental or full, very full english!....
The cup of tea at 06:30 on the morning that we left, which Karen provided was above and beyond the call of duty....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-Super-Mare
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

a brilliant b&b and a free beer and wine fridge !!! nothing was too much trouble from our hosts we even had a bbq Big thanks to Karen for looking after us even though she felt unwell herself (Adrian had to nip back to the UK when we stayed ). We left for an early morning ferry and Karen made us tea before a fond farewell what a STAR. Don't take my word for it go and see for yourselves you won't be disappointed, Graham & Jane Weston-Super-Mare

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

just had a second trip here, and really enjoyed it again. This is the only place to stay for a great B and B in Normandy. Located in the centre of the village of Arromanches, it has a covered shed for bikes, great rooms with 2 or 3 beds, so for groups wanting to keep cost down this is good value, great english breakfast, with black pudding if wanted! Karen and Adrian are great hosts, very hospitable and relaxed and will chat to you and even get up to wave you off at 7am! There is a lounge with TV for chilling, free beer and wine to help you unwind, and the rooms are fascinating, all themed with loads of books to read, interesting trinkets and oddities festooning the walls. For the girlies each room has a hairdryer, and there is usually one english 3 pin plug socket. lots of places to eat at nearby, but remember the French don't eat particularly late.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed one night in the "Bread Oven" room lovely character, helpful and friendly hosts and very tasty breakfast. Very conveniently situated in Arromanche, you can walk to the beach. Signpost to property small so unfortunately missed it the first time despite having the GPS co-ordinates - have now replaced the spectacles. Highly recommended and hope to visit again.

Room Tip: Bread Oven room feels like you are on a childhood adventure - total isolation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a very good B&B and is well placed for exploring the second world war D day history. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped and as a bonus there is free beer and wine available! The English hosts, Adrian and Karen, are very welcoming and able to offer suggestions on places to visit.Good value for money and more interesting than staying in an impersonal hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Normandy Beach B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Beach B & B

Address: 2 Avenue Mountbatten, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Normandy Beach B & B Arromanches-Les-Bains, France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Normandy Beach B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Normandy Beach B & B to your Saves list