We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic relaxed and welcoming B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Normandy Beach B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arromanches-les-Bains
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Normandy Beach B & B
Save
You added Normandy Beach B & B to your Saves list
2 Avenue Mountbatten, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic relaxed and welcoming B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Having planned a weekend "Educational" motorcycle trip with my young son, a good friend and his young son we were really pleased with our choice of accommodation. Having had an early start to catch the ferry over the short ride up the coast to Arromanches was a joy topped by the warm welcome offered by Karen, a choice of a hot drink or cold beer before we,d even taken our helmets off......brilliant! This B&B caters for motorcyclist but was just as geared up for families, the boys certainly enjoyed it here...particularly breakfast.
The location of the B&B is great too, a 5 minute walk to the centre of the town, beach and D-Day museum. The rooms are comfortable, well presented and clean with very comfy beds. Even our motorcycles had somewhere to stay, the garaging facilities are ideal ,
We will definitely be back next year, just for a bit longer next time!!

Room Tip: The Ducati room was great for 4 of us with plenty of room for our motorcycle clothing, helmets and l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
21
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Well what a wonderful place to stay, relaxed laid back and yards from the great beach at Arromanches....................waht more could you want? The family room was great for us and the breakfast was all you could have wished for. The hosts are fantastic and nothing is too much trouble........highly recommended. will will be visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I cannot say enough about Adrian and Karen! What accomodating, friendly people. This B&B was located in Arromanches, a mere 5 minute walk from the main part of town, the museum and the beach. The house was chock full of WWII memorabilia which was a real draw for my two boys and husband. The rooms were spacious and clean and there was nothing that they wouldn't do to accomodate us. They had a fridge stocked with wine and beer and a freezer full of ice cream! As Adrian and Karen are British, we were greeted every morning with a delicious full English breakfast including eggs, tomato, sausages, ham (or as they call it, bacon), baked beans and an array of breads, pasteries, cereals, homemade jams, coffee and tea. I was always full until late afternoon! Adrian was extremely knowledgeable about WWII and had some great stories to share. Once you arrive, you are truly part of the family! Breakfast is served at a huge wooden table where all of the guests can meet and talk for hours! You cannot find a more accomodating host and a more interesting B&B. It is great for families and in a terrific location. Oh, and of course, there was free WiFi! If you are looking for a friendly atmosphere, a clean room, an amazing breakfast and a chance to make some good friends, I highly recommend Normandy Beach. It is not your average B&B. It is great for families as well as couples and I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Nothing was too much trouble for Karen & Adrian. Great Internet connection. Great breakfast. Comfortable rooms and hospitable access to the guest fridge stocked with wine and beer. Lovely town and countryside in a well positioned base to visit the Normandy D-day landing breaches and the historic town of Bayeux. We stayed six nights and found plenty of things to do. Good local restaurants and facilities. Will definitely return.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Just spent a week at the Coxs' with eleven members of my family, arrived at 8 o'clock at night after a 2 hour motorbike ride in the tipping rain, can assure you that to see Karen's happy smiling face when i got there was a very welcome sight. After being dried out, and fuelled up with a stiff drink they even shared their supper with us as it was to late to go any where for dinner.
As everybody else has said they are very helpful, eager to please and yes as said by another post Adrian might be a little eccentric but it does add to the holiday.
We took the whole place over, explored, chilled and really had a great time, would have no hesistation in going back.
A strong recommendation for a reasonably priced lunch/dinner is to try the brasserie/restaurant at the Hotel L'Arromanches on the seafront literally a five minute walk from the B&B, good food polite staff and nice atmosphere.

Room Tip: The Bread Oven Room is on it's own across the courtyard for those that want groundfloor access a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed with a group of friends to tour the beaches of Normandy. Extremely hospitable and helpful owners Adrian and Karen made us feel completely at home. Accommodation was clean and comfortable with plenty of amenities. Meals were home cooked and excellent, taken round the communal table in a warm friendly atmosphere, so much so, we didn't venture out in the evening at all. Overall, it was a great base to explore, super value for money, excellent food and fantastic hosts. What more could you ask for?

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I can't really add much that hasn't been said before, but this really is a lovely place to stay- oozing with character and charm. The owners Adrian and Karen are very helpful and friendly, they do make you feel like family friends rather than paying guests. This was my second visit, the first was 11 years ago when they were just starting out, and they do not seem to have lost their enthusiasm. I would not hesitate to go back.

The bill was very reasonable, with no charge for the numerous drinks we had throughout the days. Arromanches-les-Bains itself is very small and you will probably want to travel further afield. We did a mini tour of the D-Day sites by motorcycle and driving in Normandy is a pleasure after commuting in London. If the weather were better we would have spent some time on the beautiful sandy beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Normandy Beach B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Beach B & B

Address: 2 Avenue Mountbatten, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Normandy Beach B & B Arromanches-Les-Bains, France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Normandy Beach B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.