We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Family Bed and Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Normandy Beach B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arromanches-les-Bains
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Normandy Beach B & B
2 Avenue Mountbatten, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Oakland, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Family Bed and Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I cannot say enough about Adrian and Karen! What accomodating, friendly people. This B&B was located in Arromanches, a mere 5 minute walk from the main part of town, the museum and the beach. The house was chock full of WWII memorabilia which was a real draw for my two boys and husband. The rooms were spacious and clean and there was nothing that they wouldn't do to accomodate us. They had a fridge stocked with wine and beer and a freezer full of ice cream! As Adrian and Karen are British, we were greeted every morning with a delicious full English breakfast including eggs, tomato, sausages, ham (or as they call it, bacon), baked beans and an array of breads, pasteries, cereals, homemade jams, coffee and tea. I was always full until late afternoon! Adrian was extremely knowledgeable about WWII and had some great stories to share. Once you arrive, you are truly part of the family! Breakfast is served at a huge wooden table where all of the guests can meet and talk for hours! You cannot find a more accomodating host and a more interesting B&B. It is great for families and in a terrific location. Oh, and of course, there was free WiFi! If you are looking for a friendly atmosphere, a clean room, an amazing breakfast and a chance to make some good friends, I highly recommend Normandy Beach. It is not your average B&B. It is great for families as well as couples and I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
15
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Nothing was too much trouble for Karen & Adrian. Great Internet connection. Great breakfast. Comfortable rooms and hospitable access to the guest fridge stocked with wine and beer. Lovely town and countryside in a well positioned base to visit the Normandy D-day landing breaches and the historic town of Bayeux. We stayed six nights and found plenty of things to do. Good local restaurants and facilities. Will definitely return.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Just spent a week at the Coxs' with eleven members of my family, arrived at 8 o'clock at night after a 2 hour motorbike ride in the tipping rain, can assure you that to see Karen's happy smiling face when i got there was a very welcome sight. After being dried out, and fuelled up with a stiff drink they even shared their supper with us as it was to late to go any where for dinner.
As everybody else has said they are very helpful, eager to please and yes as said by another post Adrian might be a little eccentric but it does add to the holiday.
We took the whole place over, explored, chilled and really had a great time, would have no hesistation in going back.
A strong recommendation for a reasonably priced lunch/dinner is to try the brasserie/restaurant at the Hotel L'Arromanches on the seafront literally a five minute walk from the B&B, good food polite staff and nice atmosphere.

Room Tip: The Bread Oven Room is on it's own across the courtyard for those that want groundfloor access a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed with a group of friends to tour the beaches of Normandy. Extremely hospitable and helpful owners Adrian and Karen made us feel completely at home. Accommodation was clean and comfortable with plenty of amenities. Meals were home cooked and excellent, taken round the communal table in a warm friendly atmosphere, so much so, we didn't venture out in the evening at all. Overall, it was a great base to explore, super value for money, excellent food and fantastic hosts. What more could you ask for?

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I can't really add much that hasn't been said before, but this really is a lovely place to stay- oozing with character and charm. The owners Adrian and Karen are very helpful and friendly, they do make you feel like family friends rather than paying guests. This was my second visit, the first was 11 years ago when they were just starting out, and they do not seem to have lost their enthusiasm. I would not hesitate to go back.

The bill was very reasonable, with no charge for the numerous drinks we had throughout the days. Arromanches-les-Bains itself is very small and you will probably want to travel further afield. We did a mini tour of the D-Day sites by motorcycle and driving in Normandy is a pleasure after commuting in London. If the weather were better we would have spent some time on the beautiful sandy beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, null, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Following an impulse decision to visit Normandy for a D-Day tour I contacted Normandy Beach hoping for a last minute booking, fortunately they had cancellation. Contact with Adrian was warm and friendly from the start and I immediately felt at ease.

We travelled across France from Calais and as we were delayed i got my wife to phone ahead to let them know were indeed coming. After a short conversation she put the phone down and said what a freindly bloke. We were a bit frenzied on arrival in Arromanches and had to ring for directions, half way through the directions from Karen, Adrian interrupted to ask where we were and came on his scooter to lead us in. The Mrs was just walking out of the local store with a bottle of wine and a six pack when Adrian rolled up and said why did you bother, i've got hundreds of bottles and it's all FREE!

After a cold beer and wine that were thrust into our hands on arrival we got the low down from Adrian, our room was clean, comfortable and with all the usual essentials - tea, coffee, iron, hairdrier etc. There was no TV and this wasn't missed there was plenty of reading material and some interesting militaria. We had a 3 bed room with the optional fourth bed that fitted comfortably and we didn't feel at all cramped.

Adrian gave us a few recommendations for dinner in town and we found them to be good value just a short walk away. Breakfast at the large communal table was plentiful, and tasty with baskets of bread and pastries. The cooked breakfast was lovely and any alterations were never too much trouble, the kids ate for free which added further value although we did have to stop the whipped cream top up to the hot choolate or they would never have left the table :-).

Our only regret was that we were a little too tired in the evenings after putting the kids to bed to make the most of the hospitality.

For anybody interested in touring the D-Day beaches it is a perfect location in the middle of them although it looks like there are lots of other things to do in the area.

Thoroughly recommend for families, a great place

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I first stayed here 5 years ago. Then, the accommodation was excellent, the hosts Adrian and Karen were brilliant. Their high standards and true enthusiasm shone through and just made me want to go back.
Well, 5 years have gone by and not much has changed, which is fantastic to see. Adrian and Karen haven't got complacent and have continued to tweak their place for the better.
It was almost like catching up with old friends when we arrived (a short notice booking as the weather had turned sour elsewhere on our trip). The location is great, the accommodation is clean, comfortable and cleverly theamed. Adrian and Karen effortlessly create an almost home from home atmosphere with their guests which puts you at ease and is very relaxing.
Will I go back... Too right!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Normandy Beach B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Beach B & B

Also Known As:
Normandy Beach B & B Arromanches-Les-Bains, France
Address: 2 Avenue Mountbatten, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Normandy Beach B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Normandy Beach B & B to your Saves list