We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B ever ?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Normandy Beach B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arromanches-les-Bains
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Normandy Beach B & B
Save
You added Normandy Beach B & B to your Saves list
2 Avenue Mountbatten, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best B&B ever ?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

A bold claim ? Maybe, but Normandy Beach is without doubt one of the best and sets incredible standards which makes you leave with some incredibly happy memories ! We've stayed a few nights which passed far, far too quickly. Excellent and comfortable rooms, off road parking and cover for motorcycles. Breakfast is served in a large rustic room with visitors seated around a massive table - within minutes everyone is chatting with newcomers being quickly made welcome. The food is top quality and plentiful, you only need a snack at mid day to carry you through to your evening meal. Evenings find visitors meeting back in the dining room comparing notes and experiences, chilling out with a beer ( or two ) and possibly watching TV or a DVD on the amazing cinema system.
Karen & Adrian are fantastic hosts, nothing is too much trouble and are very knowledgeable with regards the area and the various D Day related sites. The best B&B ever ? Make a visit and make your own mind up.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
20
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Maldon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed with Adrian and Karen for three nights and what a welcome they gave us. Their attention to detail was amazing and staying in the Biggles Room, we enjoyed a themed room involving books, personnal memorabilia and models, totally great! Their large meeting / breakfast room allowed us to meet the other guests and all share experiences together which was a good bonus for all. Above anything else Adrian and Karen are very good hosts and their company was most enjoyable for all. Also as we were driving a 1959 Frog eye Sprite, Adrian ensured that we had under cover storage, which due to poor weather was most welcomed.
So if you are looking for a B and B along the Normandy beaches, then we would strongly recommend that you stay here; you too will leave laughing and looking forward to a future return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011 via mobile

Stayed 3 times as Father with 10-12 year old daughter and later on men's trip. Adrian, Karen and their daughter always go out of the way after day of DDay sightseeing to make a comfy winter or summer home for guests. BBQ in the evening chatting with other like minded guests then hot chocolate with whipped cream for kids and appropriate adult beverage for the rest by the fireplace. Rooms decorated with original WwII memorabilia, props, FW190 drop tank, old radios tune in the BBC etc. The kids go for the loft bedroom. Our family away from home. Highest recommendation.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

stayed here with 3 friends the week before d-day anniversary. its great for motorcyclists or motorists as it has free and sheltered parking right in the town of arromanche. everything is in easy walking distance. the rooms were clean and comfortable, adrian and karen are very welcoming and being classic car and bike buffs themselves have thought of many facilities other B&Bs wouldnt.
the fridge full of beer, wine and cider is especially welcome as i thought the area was very expensive to drink and eat out in, its very touristy. it is free and help yourself though a contribution towards refilling it was glady given, (as we do like a drop or five) it was still far cheaper than going to local bars.
if you are planning a visit to the d-day landing sites i reccomend this B&B, and adrian and karen give excellent advice on the best places to go

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011 via mobile

Adrian and Karen are amongst the most welcoming and friendly of folks you could hope to meet. We stayed with them for six utterly enjoyable nights, as a party of four motorcyclists, and the facilities, food and value for money were the best I've experienced in many years. The rooms are spacious, well appointed, and very clean. The food was delicious every time, with breakfasts being substantial enough to fill you up for a days climbing around bunkers and cliff paths, at an excellent price. The covered parking for the bikes was lit, secure, spacious and very dry.

We were on a tour of the Normandy beaches, and met a number of other like-minded visitors there, all very friendly, and had some very sociable and fun evenings there. This is also the perfect place to reach all the major D-Day sites from, and Adrian has a wealth of knowledge on what to see and where to see it.

I am already working on planning a tour for next year for a different party of friends, and the Normandy Beach will be my first choice for accommodation, without a doubt.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambs, uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

we were with adrian and karen for three days. nothing was too much trouble for them and they made us feel extremely welcome.
there is plenty of parking, even undercover for motorcycles.

the breakfasts are huge (and good) and the beer in the fridge is cold (and free!)

Room Tip: book very early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

This is the 7th time I have stayed with Adrian & Karen. Whether with my family, or a small group of biker friends, I have always been made to feel very welcome. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with en-suite facilities. The breakfasts, both continental and English are excellent. This is great place to base yourself if you want to enjoy the beaches, the D-Day experience or the Normandy countryside. There is secure, covered, off-road parking for motorcycles. I'm going back in September 2011 - I can't wait!

Room Tip: Book early. This is a very popular place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Normandy Beach B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Beach B & B

Address: 2 Avenue Mountbatten, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Normandy Beach B & B Arromanches-Les-Bains, France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Normandy Beach B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.