We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le Bistrot take note!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bistrot

Le Bistrot
23 rue Marechal Joffre, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
+33 2 31 22 31 32
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $17 - $32
Cuisines: Brasserie, Café, Pizza & Pasta, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Le Bistrot take note!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We ate here last night and the food was good, we had the fixed price menu €14.80 for 3 courses. We thought the service was slow but maybe a one off - hadn't read any reviews - decided to go back tonight. What a mistake! 2 courses took 2 hours!! Customers constantly looking around, trying to get the attention of staff, this place is so short staffed it's a joke. Le Bistrot please take note -you could be so good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    41
    25
    10
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
1 review
“Truly dreadful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Without a doubt the worst pizza I have ever tasted. The surly and unhelpful waitress pulled a face when I asked for an additional plate (we were sharing the pizza) and short-changed me after we paid the bill. Couldn't wait to get out of there and certainly won't be going back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Nice location and decor but spoilt by terrible service, food and lack of toilets. Waited half an hour before being offered a menu yet alone a drink ! Food then took another hour and so did the bill. Either very understaffed or the staff just choose to ignore you. The toilets are not marked and lots of people wandering around looking for them. Waiters not around to ask and they seem to have a permanent engaged sign. Inexcusable. The chicken I had was dry and overcooked, the Normandy sauce was tasteless, and it was served with sweet potato. Would have been much better with frites. Actually spoilt my visit to arromanche as I was so frustrated by how bad it was.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dont assume because it sells Italian that they know how to do 'Italian'”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I ordered Pasta with Pesto...one of my favourite dishes, it was thin pasta, luke warm with an oily green gloop all over it, I could not find a pine nut and had to leave most of it as the oil in the bottom of the bowl was beginning to make me feel sick!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location let down by poor service and terrible food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

In fairness we chose probably the busiest day of the year to visit...the 70th anniversary if the D-Day landings however we felt that did not excuse the very slow and surly service, overpriced menu and very poor food. A pity. One to avoid!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistrot also viewed

Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 

Been to Le Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bistrot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.