We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bistrot

Le Bistrot
23 rue Marechal Joffre, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
+33 2 31 22 31 32
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $18 - $33
Cuisines: Brasserie, Café, Pizza & Pasta, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
france
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Served by a very nice waitress we both went for the moules in camembert sauce and frites followed by plum tart.. Good generous serving for 12 euros. Would go back again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    39
    25
    10
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ferney-Voltaire, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Worst Meal in Recent Memory”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I've eaten at a lot of restaurants, both as a traveler and in places where I've lived. This had to be one of the top five worst meals and service I have ever eaten or experienced.

We ate here our first night in Arromanches. All of the restaurants were packed. We didn't want crepes, because there's a great creperie in our village back home and we weren't interested in ordering a pizza and taking it back to our hotel room. We narrowed it down to this restaurant and Brasserie au 6 juin. The latter wouldn't seat us because they didn't have a table for two, so we chose Le Bistrot. We should have ordered a pizza and gone back to our room instead.

Let me just state from the beginning, we've lived in France for four years now and are accustomed to French restaurant culture. We aren't like our American compatriots who expect water, a menu, and orders taken within the first few minutes of being seated. We're used to a slight delay and laissez-faire attitude. That said, this place was a joke.

First, it took nearly 10 minutes for them to seat us, even though there were clearly tables available. Then, when they did seat us, it took our waiter another 20 minutes just to bring us a menu. Another 15 minutes and he finally came to take our order. As we waited, we noticed others around us who seemed to be waiting for his attention, either clearing dishes, taking additional orders, or bringing and settling the bill. There appeared to be only two people working our section and the other server seemed more interested in socializing with customers who appeared to be regulars rather than providing good service to everyone.

I ordered the fish and chips. When they finally arrived, the fish was not cooked through and was raw and cold. I was unable to get the attention of any of the servers, so I finally picked up my plate and walked it back to the kitchen. I was stopped at the door by one of the rarely-to-be-seen waitresses, who hastily ran it back to the kitchen.

When the plate came back out, they had simply refried my fish (gross! I'd taken a couple of bites out it already. Isn't that a health code violation: to recook food that has already been eaten?) and my fries/chips/frites were now stone cold.

As soon as we were done eating, we paid for the meal and left. We had three more evenings we spent in Arromanches and we chose to eat elsewhere for those remaining meals. I would avoid this place like the plague!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Ate at a couple of places in Arromanches but this was our favorite and returned a few times.Food was good,staff was friendly and prices were fair.Pizzas are lovely and mine came with an egg cooked in the middle!! Strange but lovely.would def recomend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mermaid Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Nice reliable place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We ate lunch here as it was recommended by a local. We were not disappointed. Prompt service, nice setting almost on the street, and very reasonable prices made it a pleasant experience. Their menu is extensive and contains food suitable for all. Their seafood is wonderful and was delivered with the crispest fries we'd eaten.

We were in and out quickly enough and didn't waste any time, but still got to really enjoy the food and the cold beer it was washed down with.

Highly recommended, especially if you're not sure what you're going to get.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great pizza and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Arromanches is a great place to visit and when the weather changed we took cover in the busiest of the many restaurants. The restaurant was busy but the service was very friendly. We tried to use the little French we know and the waitress really played along and made it fun.

We all had pizza and the waitress was happy to adjust the toppings to suit. We are all vegetarian but it was no problem. Meals came quickly and the pizzas were fantastic.

Highlights were the four seasons and a wonderfully garlicky "le bistro". Pizzas were about €11.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistrot also viewed

Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 

Been to Le Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bistrot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.