We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two great meals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bistrot

Le Bistrot
23 rue Marechal Joffre, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
+33 2 31 22 31 32
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $16 - $29
Cuisines: Seafood, French, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Two great meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Excellent food, great service and made you feel welcome despite us not speaking much french. Will visit again next time we return to the area!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frances N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent local cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We discovered this restaurant our first year in Normandy and have been at least twice every year for three years now.

We love the atmosphere of the place and its outside seating which is perfect on a sunny day. They have a well priced menu with a good selection of courses, including pasta, pizza, salads and local specialities such as moules et frites (mussels and fries), poulet au cidre (chicken in cider) and filet mignon (pork fillet) in a creamy pommeau sauce.

I'd highly recommend it especially poulet au cidre, great value and great food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My family are regulars at Le Bistrot when we are in Arromanches, which we visit every summer as a part of our family holiday in Normandy. We do love the restaurant, although it does have some flaws.

The main attraction, the food, is always lovely - we have never had a bad meal there. The only time we had a problem (the lasagne was cold) the staff were very kind and dealt with the problem quickly and efficiently. Much of the choice is fairly Europeanized e.g. pizza, pasta but there are also some lovely French dishes to try. My particular favourite is the Poulet au Cidre (chicjen in cider) which was divine. The mussels of all varieties are also lovely, as is the Fillet mignon avec sauce pommeau (pork fillet with pommeau sauce). The crepes are also delicious.

The downsides - well, the actually restaurant is a nice set up but pretty small, hence it does get crowded and can be a bit of a squeeze at times, particularly in bad whether. There is an outside seating area but this is on a busy pedestrian area so is not really ideal. Also, when the restaurant is busy the service can be a bit slow and less welcoming. However, generally we have always found the staff lovely, and the fact we make the effort to try as well as we can to speak French where possible also goes down well. The staff are particularly good with kids - my five year old son has charmed more than one waitress there and gets rather spoilt by them as a result.

The food is slightly pricey - but only slightly and it is comparible with prices elsewhere in the town/area. I would have liked more choices of French speciality dishes on the menu also.

Overall though, we do really like the Bistrot and the niggles are not enough to put us off, and we would recommend you pay a visit if in the area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stracs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
138 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Crowded, but clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Had some nice moules et frites in blue cheese sauce here, a little pricey, but similar to most other places in the town, service was a bit slow and not so friendly, but restaurant was clean and smart with seats on the main pedestrianised street.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank marktheevildude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
95 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best place for mussels & scallops !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

we had an afetrnoon in Arromanches with our children. The menu is expansive and has a decent 3 selection menu for kids. The food was just perfect, I had mussels my wife had scallops. The waiter was perfect, courteous and smiling. The speed during a busy weekend was just perfect. Well dlone.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank simoncroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistrot also viewed

Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 

Been to Le Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing