We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average, but good for Normandy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie Au 6 Juin

Brasserie Au 6 Juin
Rue Marechal Joffre, Arromanches-les-Bains, France
02 31 22 34 84
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Just average, but good for Normandy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

OK so I have to qualify this. In Normandy we had difficulty finding savouries in Boulangeries to take out- ask fro an apple pasty and you would get it, ask for a beef pasty and theyd have to go in the back shop and talk about you. There are no Greggs!. Wed tried the local delicacies-andouilletes made from animal gut, Im told, and tasting like it, and tripe a la mode de Caen- a sort of tripe layered rillette, which did not impress. You will know from my other reviews that we are not averse to trying something different,but here we played it safe. I started with vegetable soup, creamy, thick and quite flavoursome. As usual, he had soup de poisson-chowder - which was not outstanding. We both had mussels, him mariniere, me with added cream. The mussels were quite fat, the broth quite flavoursome, and the cream added interest, but the dish was nothing special,
With two fizzy waters and 2 coffees the bill was 51.90 euro, so you can see why the score is poor
The restaurant was on a nice little side street, typically French, set on decking with open sides, on the way to/from Arromanches beach. The staff were attentive and friendly, and service was good

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    94
    49
    32
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Very good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We enjoyed our meal here and had a very good waiter who not only served the entire restaurant that lunch hour, but spoke excellent English. It seemed very busy for that time of year. Nevertheless, we were not hurried at all. The moules were very good, but the entrees were only average. The atmosphere was pleasant enough, and though there was no view from our seats, the marina could be viewed if you had a seat at the front or outside.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navenby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“A very average, boring meal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

French food seems in my opinion to be either very good, or distinctly low average - this was the latter. Small dry mussels with very little sauce and 2 slices of pork with an OK apple sauce and a mountain of fries. My friends' vegetable soup seemed OK, but was very expensive for what it was and a poor pice of steak, agin with a mountain of fries !! Why is it so difficult to get vegetables in a French restaurant?

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipston on Stour, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food & service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I thought this restaurant offered good service, reasonably priced food and good food. the deserts are to die for!

It is worth asking for the offer menu as it was a but one get one free.

I dined here on two occasions and wouldn't hesitate to come again or recommend it to friends or family.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Overall a good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner here while over night in town. Food was good for he price. Had a 300gram steak and a beer for just under €25.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Au 6 Juin also viewed

Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 

Been to Brasserie Au 6 Juin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie Au 6 Juin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.