We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Normandie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Normandie to your Saves list
Hotel de Normandie
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5, place du 6 Juin 1944, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Cheshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good central location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

First impressions: Very well located on the sea-front. Smelt musty. Staff were smoking at the back of the restaurant - not a good look! Room was OK but we were glad that we were only stopping one night there.
We had breakfast there - 9.50 Euros - there was a good selection, but being British - used to our breakfast; was expensive for a few cereals and crossaints!
Restaurants in Arromanches also expensive.
I would not recommend this hotel, and I was disappointed, as was not the cheapest I have stopped in, by any means.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    27
    40
    21
    16
See reviews for
35
49
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

we had nice service and burgers and fries here...not bad...it overlooks the water...very pretty little area...we were touring Normandy and stopped for lunch here....recommend and there are many little souvenir shops.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We traveled as a group of 8 and although we asked for 4 rooms with desperate beds we were confronted with 2 double beds. Initially the staff at hand could not sort it out that well, but we managed to swap around with some rooms for the night. The next day the manager was able to sort separate beds out and they were quick to correct the mistakes.
I was on the first floor & front of the building which was lovely: Magnificent view!

Facilities are basically French. Weird bathroom setup and light switches but if you have stayed in French hotels before there would be no surprise.

Food in the restaurant was good and very busy. Breakfast was good too. Free hotel parking is very tight and if you get there late, non-available. there is a communal car park in front of the hotel which I believe was free overnight (from x hours till y hours). Oh and there is free WIFI in the hotel which had a descent speed.

Location wise you cannot go wrong. Beach & museum in front, museum and great views on top of the village. And most other WW2 sites within easy reach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxahachie, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

If your looking for a resort hotel, look elsewhere. This is a reasonably priced place to sleep and eat while you explore the history on all sides for the hotel. We visited in the off season and had English Channel view rooms. My wife and I had one the larger rooms with the bay window which actually opened on all three side by the way allowing the sound of waves to be heard in the room. The remains of a Mulberry is right outside the hotel across the street. We ate two dinners and two breakfasts and the dinners were excellent. The breakfasts were set up buffet style with fresh cooked eggs available to go with the other items. Loved the rounded over stair steps from the many feet that have trod over them. Would I stay here again? Definitely,. Would I recommend it to friends, I would but telling them the same thing as the opening line of my review. This is a place to eat and sleep, not a place to lounge by the pool and have staff bring you drinks with little umbrellas and fruit slices. We were out of the hotel by 8:30 am and didn't come back until after 7:30pm both nights.The Muzak playing in the dinning room is from WW-1 and WW-II. We noticed it was English and American one night and French the next.

Room Tip: Rooms with the bay windows are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Think about it! French, nazies, allien troops.... what a history to live. To eat, drink and sleep in the same building. Oldfashion smal hotel including everything you need for a visit for a night or two. Stright view to the shore. Then downstairs by squeaking stairs to have a dinner in the hotel´s restaurant, and of course -a plateau du fruits de mer! Thats life!

Room Tip: Room 8 ok. Perhaps small for two, but it´s with a view to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peron, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We spent two nights at Le Normandie with our two pre-teens. Let's first give the bad points :: we were on the third floor without a lift and had very heavy suitcases and the lamps above the bed did not work.

Apart from that we were very happy with our stay. The room was spacious, clean, the shower room was modern and the beds very comfortable. We had two windows including one overlooking the sea.

Breakfast was not cheap but apart from the usual you got ham and could get an omelette or fried eggs. There was tinned fruit cocktail but also a fresh salad.

The hotel is on the beach and near the museum so in a great situation. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Wa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Wife and I stayed at this hotel in early June. One night. During our vacation in France, we stayed in eight hotels. This was the clear loser. They put us in a room on the top floor. Cons: The ceiling was sloped so I couldn't stand up straight in half the room. Room was very small. The bed was probably the original bed when the hotel first opened. The floors creaked, and you could hear people creaking their way up the stairs at night. Pros: It was clean. Cheap. Great location (Right by the beach). We passed on the breakfast and got a wonderful pastry at a nearby Patisserie. Bottom line: If you're looking for a cheap place to stay in Arromanches, this place will fit the bill. Just remember, it's inexpensive for a reason. By the way, we absolutely loved the town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arromanches-les-Bains
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Marine
Hotel de la Marine
#3 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel D'arromanches
Hotel D'arromanches
#4 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Mulberry
Le Mulberry
#1 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
#2 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosiere
Hotel La Rosiere
#1 of 1 in Tracy-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
#2 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
4.0 of 5 stars 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Normandie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Normandie

Address: 5, place du 6 Juin 1944, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Normandie 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel de Normandie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Normandie Arromanches-Les-Bains, France - Normandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Normandie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.