We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place to eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terre d'escale

Terre d'escale
3 rue du Marechal Joffre, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
02.31.22.34.13
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $27
Cuisines: Creperie
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nuneaton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed in Arromanche for 2weeks and went to dine several times and everytime the service and food was excellent. All the crepes were very tasty and the Merlot very nice. The waitress service was first class and the proprietor was very pleasant and helpful has we spoke very little French.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    25
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and wonderful service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The food and service at Terre d'escale was excellent. We ate here numerous times during our two week stay in Arromanches.
The staff are very friendly and families with young children are made very welcome. The restaurant was always clean and has a modern, smart decor. The food was always fresh and homemade. During our stay we had lunchtime snacks as well as evening meals and couldn't fault it. This is a Creperie and not A la Carte fine dining, although the service rivals many 'high class' restaurants! Terre d'escale do what they do extremely well and at a reasonable price.
As a parent it was satisfying to see the children eat more here than at any of the other restaurants we visited.
To round off a fantastic holiday the owner made our last night very special in traditional Calvados style. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Delicious Crepes, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Went for a last minute evening tea before we left the town. Food was delightful, service excellent and quite inexpensive. €39 for four with drinks including a delightful rose cider.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Should have went here every night.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Amazing buckwheat crepes, vegoe and the bacon ones were excellent. Also stayed for dessert and enjoyed the dutchess, pear and burned creme ice cream with salted Carmel topping. All homemade.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Delicious savoury crepes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Very small restaurant, but very clean & smart. Staff very friendly and food arrived quickly.

The crepes were hot and extremely delicious, we left the restaurant feeling very full!!

Good value for money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terre d'escale also viewed

Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 

Been to Terre d'escale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terre d'escale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.