We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten

Save Saved
You added Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
20 Boulevard Gilbert Longuet, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Rotherham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed 3 nights during the 2013 D Day commemorations. The hotel is well placed in Arromanches and has private parking. Rooms were nice and appeared to be cleaned daily. There are 8 rooms and 9 parking spaces. Rooms 4 to 8 are on the top floor and share acces by a balcony walkway. Breakfast is served between 8.00 and 10.00 and is self service, the usual tea, coffee, fruit juice with cereal, yoghurts, baguettes, criossants with jams, ham and cheese. All in all a nice place to stay. The only critisisms we have is that the in room tea/coffee making facilities were only provided with plastic vending machine type cups and on our final day we mentioned that we would have to leave well before breakfast to catch our ferry but there was no offer of a pack up or price reduction.

Room Tip: Top floor best, room 4 may get road noise but 5 to 8 OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    15
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warwick
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

As others have said this is a motel rather than a hotel but the very reason I booked it was because it had off street parking (5 paces away from your room door).Due to late arrival of ferry the front door was locked and we had to ring to get the keys to our room. The room was clean with all the usual amenities but can be a little noisy if you have noisy guests next to or above you. Breakfast was from 08.30 to 10am in the main reception area where there were delicious croissants available.The small town with it's many cafes is just 200-300 yards away.This hotel/motel is just a 45 minute drive away along the coast from the ferry port at Ouistreham and could not be better placed for those doing the 'Operation Overlord' tour as we were

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Clean, roomy, all comforts from great towels to shaving kit. We travel by bike and the owner, a cyclist also, even offered to service our equipment. Lovely breakfast and delightful hosts. Town is small so the convenient location didn't matter a great deal but the hotel was surrounded by restaurants and a food market.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palermo, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I and my husband, with our 2 small pets have been here last july (2012) and liked it very much.
Great location to visit the Normandy invasion beaches, walking distance to Arromanches beach and museum, free parking, wi-fi, good french breakfast.
Our room (n.1) was very spacious, nice, clean and confortable, like a 3stars-room.
Madame Sylvie, the owner, is very kind, friendly and helpful.
She also run a lovely and not expensive creperie-restaurant just walking distance to hotel. We had dinner twice there and ate very good "gallettes", crepes and normandy dishes: very recommended !!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassaigne France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed two nights on our way to UK for holiday (we live in SW France) as we wanted to see the WW2 sites, War graves, museums etc. Good basic motel style accomodation with excellent hosts who made our stay very pleasant. Surprised how much there is to see so we shall be returning to spend more time exploring the landing sites and visitor centres and will definitely be staying at L'ideal Mountbatten which makes an excellent base. Hotel is less than five minutes walk from "town" centre restaurants, beach with remains of Mulberry Harbour, museums, etc. Arrived late in the evening but the 6th June Brasserie who had finished cooking provided a one plate meal and sweet so we ate there the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The hotel has recently changed its name to L'IDEAL Mountbatten and I can no longer find the limited web site that did exist at the time of booking the accomodation. This is a motel style hotel with 9 rooms split over two levels with car parking just a few metres away from the ground floor rooms. Location is very good, being in the centre of Arromanches. Rooms are spacious and functional and were extremely clean. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Bathroom was adequate but had little shelf space or storage and the shower head with a flexible hose was positioned at waist height! Tea and coffee making facilities are a big let down which consisted of a kettle, 2 tea bags and 2 satchets of coffee but no milk and 2 plastic vending type disposable cups. Breakfast was typically French with croissant, bread, one choice of cereal and cheese, tea and coffee. In summary a good spot for a stay of just 1 or 2 nights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont Vernon, Nh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed here two nights while exploring the Normandy coast. The location was great---quiet but just a block or two from the center of town. Parking was right across from our room. The room was very spacious, bed was comfortable, bathroom adequate but lacking shelf space. The hand shower was tricky to use. The reception staff person spoke no English. The breakfast was basic although the breakfast room was very nice.

We had trouble locating the place as it seems to have changed its name to L'Ideal with Mountbatten in very small letters below that. We were not informed of that change.

Our arrival was a bit of a nightmare. We came well within the posted check in time to find reception locked and empty. We tried the alternate location mentioned on the posted sign to find it closed with no one there. With no European phones, we were not able to call the posted number. Finally, a stranger happened by who was able to make the phone contact for us. We were told that that the key was inside the door of our room and we could check in the next morning. Then all was well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arromanches-les-Bains
Romantic, Resta...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Le Mulberry
Le Mulberry
#1 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Restaurant, Ind...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Marine
Hotel de la Marine
#3 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Free Parking, R...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Logis d'Arromanches
Logis d'Arromanches
#4 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Restaurant, Ind...
Show More
2.3 mi away
Hotel de Normandie
Hotel de Normandie
#5 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
5.8 mi away
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
#1 of 2 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
4.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Rosiere
Hotel La Rosiere
#1 of 1 in Tracy-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten

Address: 20 Boulevard Gilbert Longuet, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Ideal Le Mountbatten Arromanches-Les-Bains, France - Normandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.