We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IrvinandJacqueline” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten to your Saves list
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
20 Boulevard Gilbert Longuet, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Cassaigne France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“IrvinandJacqueline”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed two nights on our way to UK for holiday (we live in SW France) as we wanted to see the WW2 sites, War graves, museums etc. Good basic motel style accomodation with excellent hosts who made our stay very pleasant. Surprised how much there is to see so we shall be returning to spend more time exploring the landing sites and visitor centres and will definitely be staying at L'ideal Mountbatten which makes an excellent base. Hotel is less than five minutes walk from "town" centre restaurants, beach with remains of Mulberry Harbour, museums, etc. Arrived late in the evening but the 6th June Brasserie who had finished cooking provided a one plate meal and sweet so we ate there the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    28
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
36
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The hotel has recently changed its name to L'IDEAL Mountbatten and I can no longer find the limited web site that did exist at the time of booking the accomodation. This is a motel style hotel with 9 rooms split over two levels with car parking just a few metres away from the ground floor rooms. Location is very good, being in the centre of Arromanches. Rooms are spacious and functional and were extremely clean. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Bathroom was adequate but had little shelf space or storage and the shower head with a flexible hose was positioned at waist height! Tea and coffee making facilities are a big let down which consisted of a kettle, 2 tea bags and 2 satchets of coffee but no milk and 2 plastic vending type disposable cups. Breakfast was typically French with croissant, bread, one choice of cereal and cheese, tea and coffee. In summary a good spot for a stay of just 1 or 2 nights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont Vernon, Nh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed here two nights while exploring the Normandy coast. The location was great---quiet but just a block or two from the center of town. Parking was right across from our room. The room was very spacious, bed was comfortable, bathroom adequate but lacking shelf space. The hand shower was tricky to use. The reception staff person spoke no English. The breakfast was basic although the breakfast room was very nice.

We had trouble locating the place as it seems to have changed its name to L'Ideal with Mountbatten in very small letters below that. We were not informed of that change.

Our arrival was a bit of a nightmare. We came well within the posted check in time to find reception locked and empty. We tried the alternate location mentioned on the posted sign to find it closed with no one there. With no European phones, we were not able to call the posted number. Finally, a stranger happened by who was able to make the phone contact for us. We were told that that the key was inside the door of our room and we could check in the next morning. Then all was well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at a cost of 175 euro. Was expecting a bit better for the money.
Good points were; Good location for Normandy beaches and WW2 sites and cemeteries, Rooms were clean and owners were very pleasant when they were there and car parking was good.
We stayed in room 5. On the minus side; Toilet seat was broken, basin had very large cracks in it, glass shelf had large chip out of one side, Shower head bracket was positioned at chest height so you could not have a proper shower and the tv had no english channels at all. Breakfast was also a disappointment with a single croissant each and a french stick between two. The was some cheese and yogourt available as well as tea and orange/apple juice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The location is very good (50m from the beach) and there is a supermarket just across the street. The downside is the the room is very basic: It is a bit small, the ground rooms are 4m away from the parking area. You have to manually hod the shower tab while taking a shower. There was no Internet connection in the hotel for 3 days while we were there, and for me that was unacceptable. The breakfast is very minimal

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We got there at about 10.00 pm due to the ferry times, the reception was closed but there was a number to ring. We were told that the key was in the door, which turned out to be the case. The room doors go straight onto the external balcony which is a layout that I have not come across before. The room was basic with rather old fashioned furniture. It was en suite and had tea and coffee making facilities which was welcome. It was clean and a reasonable size. Car parking was very good as you can see your car below from the balcony. The breakfast was possibly the most minimal I have ever had. There was juice, tea/coffee, one croissant and jam. Not ideal for those that prefer the 'full English'. The dining room decor was pleasant as were the waitresses. It is in the main town so the restaurants etc are only a 2 minute walk away.

Room Tip: I think that all the rooms are pretty much the same at this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is a motel not a hotel. On arrival at the allocated time the place was closed with a notice showing a telephone number to ring . Our party of four had english based mobiles and
consequently had difficulty with the code given. Eventually we were connected and told our room numbers which were open with the keys inside! This is not what i would expect from a hotel - no reception. The rooms were small dark with a door leading onto the car park and very basic but were cleaned to a good standard each day. The breakfast was held in the cafe attached and consisted of bread jam croissant tea/coffe and fruit juice.. This was at a cost of 65Euros per person per night not good value!

The Location made up for the lack of everything else

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten

Address: 20 Boulevard Gilbert Longuet, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Ideal Le Mountbatten Arromanches-Les-Bains, France - Normandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.