We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arroplace a great place to base your self for Normandy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arroplace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Arroplace to your Saves list
Arroplace
6 Place du 6 Juin 1944, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Arroplace a great place to base your self for Normandy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

We have spent a week at Arromanches touring the Normandy Beaches. To the east are the three beaches Gold Juno & Sword. To the west was Omaha and Utah. All with in a hours drive. Arromanches has two museums one on the Mulberry harbour, parts of which still exist on the beach today. The other is a film viewed in 360 degree. The Arroplace was comfortable clean and very pleasant. Jacques was a most welcoming host and speaks good English. The are a number of eating establishment in and around the town. We would recommend a stay here, a weeks not enough to do the full visit.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merriam, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

. My adult daughter and I stayed in a two bed room apartment in early May 2012. The rooms and bath were neat and clean. We had a view from our window of the beach. It was nice to hear the surf during the night too. The town is very quiet during the night and early mornings. Many good and reasonable priced restaurants are on the same street in Arromanche. In Bayeaux, where we also enjoyed good food also, is only a short drive.
We choose not to have breakfast served in our room by Jacques, the owner, as our room was provided with a pot to make coffee as well as jam, coffee, and tea. A bakery was a minutes’ walk from the hotel. We enjoyed going to purchase fresh croissants and bread ourselves.
Jacques was very helpful with planning our day of sightseeing, suggesting routes to take to take to see the D-Day Landing sites, the time for the trip, as well as suggesting museum we should visit..
We were very happy with our accommodations and our host, Jacques, for our days in Arromanches.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

If anyone is visiting Normandy then I cannot recommend Arroplace enough. Clean, comfortable, great value with sea views.
But more importantly the owner Jacques was brilliant and helpful in anyway and went out of his way to make sure we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We have just returned from a cycling trip of the Normandy beaches and stayed 2 nights in Arroplace in Arromanche. We could not have chosen better accommodation and hosts. Jacques and Annick were wonderful and catered for our every need (though we weren't demanding!) and made us feel more than welcome without intrusion. Jacques went out of his way to find out about transport etc and ensured when I had a night in due to a stomach upset ensured I had a telly to watch the football! A wonderful location, great views, nice rooms which all lead to a thoroughly enjoyable weekend. We will definitely be returning

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed at Arroplace in September for 3 nights. It felt like a home from home. The host, Jacques, was always friendly and helpful. It was quiet so we could park in the space by the guest house. The location was ideal; right in the heart of things, by the beach and next to the museum.
The room was spacious and clean, with large windows which overlooked the beach and museum. All restaurants and bars are within a 1 minute walk.
The free wifi was a bonus. We didn't pay extra for breakfast because there's a little bakery nearby which you can buy tasty pastries from and we ate these in our room (the room had a table and chairs).
Arromanches is well placed for interesting trips to the other D-Day beaches and Bayeux.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbonear, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Jacques and Annie treated us like family during our visit. Jacques provided us free parking, access to the fridge in his garage and even did our laundry when we asked where a laundromat was located. Access to the Internet is available at no charge on site and the wireless worked fine. It is a great location for touring the D-Day beaches, with Caen and Bayeux short drives approximatley 40-45 minutes away. Our family had a great room with a view of the English Channel, the kids having their own privacy. It was a great stay with them and would return again in a moment. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We were recomended this place by another b&b in the area that was fully booked and we are so glad that we took the advice. The host Jacques really is a great guy, he really makes you feel welcome. His place is well maintained, and is situated almost in front row to the beach, our room allthough a bit small had everything you could want including a picture perfect view of the artificiel harbour.

I would clearly recomend this place to anyone

Stay away from the restaurant: " le petite assiettes" at the mulberry hotel though,

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arromanches-les-Bains
0.0 mi away
Hotel de la Marine
Hotel de la Marine
#3 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
#1 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Mulberry
Le Mulberry
#2 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel D'arromanches
Hotel D'arromanches
#5 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
7.5 mi away
La Cremaillere
La Cremaillere
#2 of 2 in Courseulles-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 stars 607 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Normandie
Hotel de Normandie
#4 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arroplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arroplace

Address: 6 Place du 6 Juin 1944, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 meters from the beach, in front of the historical vestiges of the 1944 landing artificial harbour's in Normandy.Every room with shower and facilities has direct sight on the sea.You will fall asleep with the waves song. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arroplace Arromanches-Les-Bains, France - Normandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arroplace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.