We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arromanches les bains - A wonderful place to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arroplace

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arromanches-les-Bains
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arroplace
Save Saved
You added Arroplace to your Saves list
6 Place du 6 Juin 1944, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Merriam, Kansas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Arromanches les bains - A wonderful place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

. My adult daughter and I stayed in a two bed room apartment in early May 2012. The rooms and bath were neat and clean. We had a view from our window of the beach. It was nice to hear the surf during the night too. The town is very quiet during the night and early mornings. Many good and reasonable priced restaurants are on the same street in Arromanche. In Bayeaux, where we also enjoyed good food also, is only a short drive.
We choose not to have breakfast served in our room by Jacques, the owner, as our room was provided with a pot to make coffee as well as jam, coffee, and tea. A bakery was a minutes’ walk from the hotel. We enjoyed going to purchase fresh croissants and bread ourselves.
Jacques was very helpful with planning our day of sightseeing, suggesting routes to take to take to see the D-Day Landing sites, the time for the trip, as well as suggesting museum we should visit..
We were very happy with our accommodations and our host, Jacques, for our days in Arromanches.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

If anyone is visiting Normandy then I cannot recommend Arroplace enough. Clean, comfortable, great value with sea views.
But more importantly the owner Jacques was brilliant and helpful in anyway and went out of his way to make sure we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We have just returned from a cycling trip of the Normandy beaches and stayed 2 nights in Arroplace in Arromanche. We could not have chosen better accommodation and hosts. Jacques and Annick were wonderful and catered for our every need (though we weren't demanding!) and made us feel more than welcome without intrusion. Jacques went out of his way to find out about transport etc and ensured when I had a night in due to a stomach upset ensured I had a telly to watch the football! A wonderful location, great views, nice rooms which all lead to a thoroughly enjoyable weekend. We will definitely be returning

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed at Arroplace in September for 3 nights. It felt like a home from home. The host, Jacques, was always friendly and helpful. It was quiet so we could park in the space by the guest house. The location was ideal; right in the heart of things, by the beach and next to the museum.
The room was spacious and clean, with large windows which overlooked the beach and museum. All restaurants and bars are within a 1 minute walk.
The free wifi was a bonus. We didn't pay extra for breakfast because there's a little bakery nearby which you can buy tasty pastries from and we ate these in our room (the room had a table and chairs).
Arromanches is well placed for interesting trips to the other D-Day beaches and Bayeux.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbonear, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Jacques and Annie treated us like family during our visit. Jacques provided us free parking, access to the fridge in his garage and even did our laundry when we asked where a laundromat was located. Access to the Internet is available at no charge on site and the wireless worked fine. It is a great location for touring the D-Day beaches, with Caen and Bayeux short drives approximatley 40-45 minutes away. Our family had a great room with a view of the English Channel, the kids having their own privacy. It was a great stay with them and would return again in a moment. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011 via mobile

We were recomended this place by another b&b in the area that was fully booked and we are so glad that we took the advice. The host Jacques really is a great guy, he really makes you feel welcome. His place is well maintained, and is situated almost in front row to the beach, our room allthough a bit small had everything you could want including a picture perfect view of the artificiel harbour.

I would clearly recomend this place to anyone

Stay away from the restaurant: " le petite assiettes" at the mulberry hotel though,

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

You can't ask for a nicer host than Jacques. He is a total sweetheart. He will make you feel like family, beginning with coming out to the parking lot to collect your luggage and carrying to your room. He leaves a computer available to guests. He provides daily weather forecasts and gives advice on not-to-miss sights. Every room at Arroplace has an ocean view. There is no street noise. There is free parking overnight on the Musee de Debarquement (D-Day landings museum). Jacques also has parking on his property. This was our base for all the D-Day sights. It is in the middle of it all. East of us were the British beaches: Gold, Juno and Sword. West of us was Omaha, Utah, Pointe du hoc, St. Mere Eglise, and the American Cemetery. Great stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arroplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arroplace

Address: 6 Place du 6 Juin 1944, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 meters from the beach, in front of the historical vestiges of the 1944 landing artificial harbour's in Normandy.Every room with shower and facilities has direct sight on the sea.You will fall asleep with the waves song. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arroplace Arromanches-Les-Bains, France - Normandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arroplace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.