We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arromanches les bains - A wonderful place to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arroplace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Arroplace to your Saves list
Arroplace
6 Place du 6 Juin 1944, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Merriam, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Arromanches les bains - A wonderful place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

. My adult daughter and I stayed in a two bed room apartment in early May 2012. The rooms and bath were neat and clean. We had a view from our window of the beach. It was nice to hear the surf during the night too. The town is very quiet during the night and early mornings. Many good and reasonable priced restaurants are on the same street in Arromanche. In Bayeaux, where we also enjoyed good food also, is only a short drive.
We choose not to have breakfast served in our room by Jacques, the owner, as our room was provided with a pot to make coffee as well as jam, coffee, and tea. A bakery was a minutes’ walk from the hotel. We enjoyed going to purchase fresh croissants and bread ourselves.
Jacques was very helpful with planning our day of sightseeing, suggesting routes to take to take to see the D-Day Landing sites, the time for the trip, as well as suggesting museum we should visit..
We were very happy with our accommodations and our host, Jacques, for our days in Arromanches.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fredbwn596465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

If anyone is visiting Normandy then I cannot recommend Arroplace enough. Clean, comfortable, great value with sea views.
But more importantly the owner Jacques was brilliant and helpful in anyway and went out of his way to make sure we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We have just returned from a cycling trip of the Normandy beaches and stayed 2 nights in Arroplace in Arromanche. We could not have chosen better accommodation and hosts. Jacques and Annick were wonderful and catered for our every need (though we weren't demanding!) and made us feel more than welcome without intrusion. Jacques went out of his way to find out about transport etc and ensured when I had a night in due to a stomach upset ensured I had a telly to watch the football! A wonderful location, great views, nice rooms which all lead to a thoroughly enjoyable weekend. We will definitely be returning

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed at Arroplace in September for 3 nights. It felt like a home from home. The host, Jacques, was always friendly and helpful. It was quiet so we could park in the space by the guest house. The location was ideal; right in the heart of things, by the beach and next to the museum.
The room was spacious and clean, with large windows which overlooked the beach and museum. All restaurants and bars are within a 1 minute walk.
The free wifi was a bonus. We didn't pay extra for breakfast because there's a little bakery nearby which you can buy tasty pastries from and we ate these in our room (the room had a table and chairs).
Arromanches is well placed for interesting trips to the other D-Day beaches and Bayeux.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bellydancer_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbonear, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Jacques and Annie treated us like family during our visit. Jacques provided us free parking, access to the fridge in his garage and even did our laundry when we asked where a laundromat was located. Access to the Internet is available at no charge on site and the wireless worked fine. It is a great location for touring the D-Day beaches, with Caen and Bayeux short drives approximatley 40-45 minutes away. Our family had a great room with a view of the English Channel, the kids having their own privacy. It was a great stay with them and would return again in a moment. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We were recomended this place by another b&b in the area that was fully booked and we are so glad that we took the advice. The host Jacques really is a great guy, he really makes you feel welcome. His place is well maintained, and is situated almost in front row to the beach, our room allthough a bit small had everything you could want including a picture perfect view of the artificiel harbour.

I would clearly recomend this place to anyone

Stay away from the restaurant: " le petite assiettes" at the mulberry hotel though,

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarstenThue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

You can't ask for a nicer host than Jacques. He is a total sweetheart. He will make you feel like family, beginning with coming out to the parking lot to collect your luggage and carrying to your room. He leaves a computer available to guests. He provides daily weather forecasts and gives advice on not-to-miss sights. Every room at Arroplace has an ocean view. There is no street noise. There is free parking overnight on the Musee de Debarquement (D-Day landings museum). Jacques also has parking on his property. This was our base for all the D-Day sights. It is in the middle of it all. East of us were the British beaches: Gold, Juno and Sword. West of us was Omaha, Utah, Pointe du hoc, St. Mere Eglise, and the American Cemetery. Great stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cricket2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arromanches-les-Bains
0.2 mi away
Le Mulberry
Le Mulberry
#2 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel de la Marine
Hotel de la Marine
#3 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
#1 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Normandie
Hotel de Normandie
#5 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ferme de la Ranconniere
0.0 mi away
Hotel D'arromanches
Hotel D'arromanches
#4 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arroplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arroplace

Address: 6 Place du 6 Juin 1944, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 meters from the beach, in front of the historical vestiges of the 1944 landing artificial harbour's in Normandy.Every room with shower and facilities has direct sight on the sea.You will fall asleep with the waves song. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arroplace Arromanches-Les-Bains, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing