We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent small museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Market Battlefield Military Museum

New Market Battlefield Military Museum
New Market, VA 22844
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 Attractions in New Market
Type: Battlefields, Military Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Site of the 1864 Civil War Battle of New Market
Helena, Montana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“excellent small museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Great place to stop and learn about battles of the Valley Campaign. The exhibits are very well done and the staff is super friendly and helpful. Nice balance of text and objects - and terrific sigange. I would recommend this as a place to stop in New Market.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    9
    6
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bergton, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Impressive Civil War Memorabilia Collection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

This little museum, which is not part of the adjacent New Market Battlefield is an old fashioned gem. It is the display of a extensive Civil War items with a few items from other parts of American history. It appears that someone took their large collection and put it on display. A bit old fashioned, read the cards, look int the display cases. Not a touchy and feel museum, so young ones will not enjoy it, and make you rush through it if you bring them. Though, if you are an avid amateur historian, it will impress. Easily, worth the small admission charge.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Small museum with attitude”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014 via mobile

This is on the way to the state battlefield, it is privately owned and the collection was put together by the owner who was at the front desk. It's not completely political correct, there are a few non civil war displays but it reflects an individual viewpoint and has personality which is rare and worth visiting

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

They had a wonderful display of guns, clothing, medals and more.
My husband had a tough time leaving.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Sad that this hallowed ground is not treated better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

I learned quite a bit by visiting this Civil War Battlefield. The tour of the museum and film were fine although the displays were showing a bit of tiredness. The walk in the battlefield itself was good, but there could be more signage to explain the small posts with numbers on them (marking the death of individuals). The farm house and barn on the battlefield also lacked very much infomation. It was "here it is.... look at it... now you've seen it".... no information. No "park rangers" to tell you detail. Interstate 81 runs down the middle of the battlefield (too bad they let that happen). On the west side is the museum and the grass covered battlefield. We noticed a walkway to the other side of I-81 but we had no clue what was there so we opted not to take that walk (we were a bit walk weary from visiting Washington DC two days earlier). I was sad to see this hallowed ground being treated with so little respect. We should be ashamed. On a positive note, I did enjoy being there...and paying my respects to the many that died there.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Market Battlefield Military Museum also viewed

 

Been to New Market Battlefield Military Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Market Battlefield Military Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.