We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daggone good fried chicken” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Kitchen

Southern Kitchen
9576 S Congress St, New Market, VA 22844
540-740-3514
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in New Market
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Daggone good fried chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My wife and I had lunch here today. We both had the fried chicken and mashed potatoes. You have to go a long ways to find any better chicken, not just the taste, but cooked just right. Wish I'd saved room for dessert. Service was attentive an excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    68
    21
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Got violently ill”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I was hoping for ribs and got them. I shared one with my son and his girlfriend. They enjoyed the flavor but felt ill that night. My husband didn't have any taste and was fine. I consumed the major portion of them of was ill a number of times that night, including vomiting.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wappingers Falls, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Home cooking with 1955 recipes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Great home cooking that was recommended by locals who said the kitchen is so immaculate you could eat off the floor!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doddridge, Arkansas, United States
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I know, what could be wonderful about breakfast. Well, to me when they get your bacon and eggs just the way you like them. Then it is a big deal.. You would be surprised how many cooks can't do it the first time. They DID..I should have tipped the cook, you know if I go back to New Market, VA. I will....Also it was a neat place with old jukebox(big one) and the smaller ones above the booths. Brought back a lot of memories of when we traveled as a kid.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Southern Food, Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

On our way back to Jersey from Tennessee and found this gem of a restaurant on Tripadvisor. We were not steered wrong by the reviews. Had the fried chicken, chicken fried steak and western ham for the 4 yr old. Loved it all. Got a piece of homemade meringue pie to go...yummy!

Service was awesome and atmosphere was like stepping back in time. Mostly locals eating there and I can see why, it's good southern cooking! Hoping to stop by on next trip for breakfast.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Southern Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.