We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jacob Swartz House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Market
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jacob Swartz House
574 Jiggady Road, New Market, VA 22844   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 New Market B&B and Inns
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Hard to find a place suitable for traveling with a 3month old, but Jacob Swartz house was perfect. Hidden between a corn field and the river, it couldn't have a prettier setting. Virginia is a charming and gracious hostess. Despite sweltering July temps, we could not have been more comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

This place is beyond a B&B! My sister and I stayed here for 3 days/nights in late October-early Nov 2010. We were very pleasantly surprised at the coziness of the cottage, the roominess, the cleanliness, the stocked pantry, the amenities too many to list here! Virginia is a MOST gracious host, bringing wonderful breakfasts every morning, and delicious desserts every afternoon. She pointed out things to do in the area, and the books on the area are everywhere in the cottage. There is a TV room with local TV and a DVD player if you get bored ( we didn't!). Birds were abundant at the feeders, and I heard a kingfisher on the river below. If I stayed here again (and I hope I get the chance!), I would bring some food for dinner and enjoy the evenings on the patio. What a find!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

What can I say, our stay at the Jacob Swartz House was beyond belief. Virginia, the owner of the cottage, couldn't have been more gracious. Her breakfasts and late afternoon desserts were wonderful. My husband and I ate breakfast each morning on the beautiful terrace amidst the many hummingbirds and the sound of the river below. The cottage was adorable and was equipped with anything you could possibly need. Our only regret was that we had to leave. We are already planning our next trip!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pcmclain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

We went for a hot air balloon ride actually in Oct. of 2008. Our ride was the first thing the morning, but after we got back, she told us to be hungry.! No disappointment here. She brought a fabulous breakfast to us. She provided materials with local things to do.
They had an interactive civil war reenactment one night and it was the best $10 we spent! The cottage is precious and my husbands favorite place was the screened in deck!
We want to go back again but live 11 hours away...... Hopefully we can. Virginia our host was the best!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

Virginia the Innkeeper lady is top notch. We've stayed here 2-3X now, loved every trip. Was able to fish, she had a BBQ for us to use, the house perches over the river, what views and sounds. Thecottage is huge, well laid out, all the amenities and more, by far the nicest layoff and biggest you'll find anywhere.
If you want to read, relax, fish, stroll, just ease back, this is the place and the food and snacks were superb. Great breakfasts every day, huge amount of food and delicous.
This is a must stay anytime we hit that area of VA.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

Most B&B's give you breakfast, but Virginia had a warm peach cobbler waiting for us when we arrived for my birthday weekend in May 2009. The entire experience was absolutely delightful. She had a fully stocked kitchen with sodas, beer, popcorn, and plenty of "real" food if you wanted any. Plus, there were mugs in the freezer. There are so many wonderful things to mention, but you need to visit this place yourself. The screen porch off the Master Bedroom is wonderful. You can see and hear the Shenandoah River below. This one is a keeper!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

We've been here so many times! We happened across it on our way down to Roanoke in 2004. It was our favorite part of the trip so we try to go back once a year.

The house is completely private and great for our family of 4.
Virginia's breakfasts and desserts are "to die for"!

A nice porch overlooking the river. If it's warm, take the path down to the river. It's gorgeous and the kids loved wading and throwing rocks into the whitewater!

TV room is full of great movies to watch.

You have everything you need there and it's close to all of the caverns.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Tin roof is noisy if it's raining
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jacob Swartz House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Swartz House

Address: 574 Jiggady Road, New Market, VA 22844
Location: United States > Virginia > New Market
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in New Market

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacob Swartz House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jacob Swartz House to your Saves list