We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly cozy and romantic getaway.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Blossom Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Market
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apple Blossom Inn
Save
You added Apple Blossom Inn to your Saves list
9317 N Congress St, New Market, VA 22844   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 New Market B&B and Inns
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfectly cozy and romantic getaway.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011 via mobile

The breakfast was excellent the rooms were cozy and clean. Betty and Charles are wonderful host and fun people to get to know. Not to mention all the amazing facts we learned on the walking tour. This little inn was perfect for a romantic weekend of relaxation. Two thumbs up

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Longwood, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

As a group of 5 cousins we loved this place. You get the whole house! Spotless and nicely decorated. Betty Karol and Charles could not have been more welcoming or helpful. They went beyond host/hostess. Betty actually walked us to a Blue Grass concert and returned with flashlights for our safe walk back. Very personable and interesting couple. This place is a gem.

Room Tip: You get the whole house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TourGuide9317, Owner at Apple Blossom Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you for your kind review. We enjoyed meeting your family and hope we also now have "Irish cousins!" What a pleasure it was to have you as guests and we enjoyed all the banter and smiles around the breakfast table. I will send the Baked Apple French Toast recipe to Mary Ann. Come see us anytime! Betty Karol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We had a wonderful time staying in this charming old home for our 25th wedding anniversary. You actually get the entire house to yourselves. It is filled with antiques. The hostess is the town historian and can give you lots of information about the town. We had our choice of two beautifully furnished bedrooms. There is a comfortable living room with an abundance of DVDs. A kitchen is available if you want to eat in. The breakfast is fabulous. We were served an amazingly beautiful fruit plate, followed by egg and cheese casserole, fresh biscuits with homemade pear and apple butters, garden tomatoes and peppers, fresh juice and coffee, and the most delicious apple dumplings I've ever eaten. Our stay was just marvelous.

Room Tip: You get the entire house and can choose either of the two rooms available. We chose the blue room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TourGuide9317, Owner at Apple Blossom Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you for a lovely review! It was our pleasure to be your hosts on your Virginia adventure. You were our first guests from Washington state and your gracious ways certainly impressed us! I am sure your remarks in this review will bring us other wonderful travelers. Come visit again and celebrate another anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

My husband and I celebrated our 8th wedding anniversary at the Apple Blossom Inn. This was our first experience with a Bed and Breakfast and it was nothing short of perfect. The hosts were very warm and welcoming and were able to answer any questions we had about the area. If I had to pick my favorite part of our stay, it would have to be the breakfast. Everything was delicious and homemade. The fruit arrangement was incredible! I would definitely recommend the Apple Blossom Inn and we hope to make a return visit sometime in the future!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TourGuide9317, Owner at Apple Blossom Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you for your enthusiastic review. I am glad that the Apple Blossom Inn was the perfect place for your anniversary celebration. Come visit again anytime and use your 10 % return guest discount. We certainly enjoy preparing breakfast and I am glad that you appreciated our efforts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

I have never stayed in a Bed & Breakfast before and what caught my eye initially on the Apple Blossom Inn website was when you book the Inn and you get the whole Inn. Well we decided to give it a try!! We went for 3 days and 2 nights - and let me tell you it was the best getaway weekend I have ever had, The Inn owners Betty and Charles were wonderful - Inn was spotless and cozy, owners were so gracious and informative. Breakfast was incredible. i would not change a thing about this Inn and we will go again. Loved it all1

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TourGuide9317, Owner at Apple Blossom Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you for your kind and informative review. Your words will certainly convince others to try a stay at our B&B Inn. We enjoyed helping you celebrate a special birthday. Anytime you want to run away to the Shenandoah Valley and leave the beach behind, come see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, CT
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

My wife and I had the pleasure of spending two nights at the Apple Blossom Inn during late July 2011. Betty Karol and her husband are a delightful duo, gracious hosts and extremely knowledgeable and informative in terms of the history of New Market and the surrounding area. They have gone to great lengths to create a warm, clean, comfortable and inviting home, complete with an antique piano which Betty Karol played for us. The amenities are all thoughtfully provided and it indeed felt like a trip back in time. They both take great care to present delicious breakfasts, creatively displayed and with a touch of old-fashioned Southern flair, including great fruits from their own garden!
We also learned a great deal about New Market's history and role in the Civil War. Betty Karol and her tour guide Susan were both a wealth of facinating information and we thouroughly enjoyed the walking tour with Susan.
All of this combined to make for a relaxing and memorable stay! We plan to return at our first opportunity.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TourGuide9317, Owner at Apple Blossom Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Karen, thank you for a beautifully written review. You and yours were our first guests from Connecticut and I am glad you enjoyed our version of Southern Hospitality. Susan and I do enjoy telling the tales of New Market on the Walking tour. I am sure you will find even more to explore when you return. Thank you for your thoughtfulness and help with spreading the word about what we can offer guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This was a visit to see family and old friends but the Apple Blossom Inn in New Market made it unforgetable! Being raised in the area, I'm familar with southern hospitality, but the inn keepers raise the bar to a new level. Betty Carol and her husband went out of their way to make us feel liked the most welcomed house guests. After 3 days at the inn, we were spoiled, and were feeling more like family than guests!
The full "Virginia Breakfasts" brought back fond memories for me and helped make new ones for my partner. Some of the ingredients for meals come directly from the garden out back! I'd be remiss if I didn't mention the treats left on the entry table when we returned from a busy day. Anything from delicious cookies to blueberry bread, I couldn't stop eating!
The house itself, on Main Street in New Market, is from the early 1800's and has been very well restored and is maintained beautifully by the owners. During your stay, you have the entire home to yourselfs. The full, eat-in kitchen was also very nice for those who like to cook. The place is fully stocked with everything you will need for an extended visit or just for one night! I should also mention the extensive Civil War history that has unfolded right at the inn's doorstep. Betty Carol is a wealth of local history and Civil War information anyone would appreciate.
We've been to several B&B's throughout the country and The Apple Blossom Inn with its Virginia charm is one of the best! Thanks for a wonderful visit!

Room Tip: The whole house is yours, take your pick of rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TourGuide9317, Owner at Apple Blossom Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
We truly enjoyed having you here as guests at the Apple Blossom Inn. Please consider us your "home away from home" whenever you return to visit family. Thank you for your kind and generous comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apple Blossom Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Blossom Inn

Address: 9317 N Congress St, New Market, VA 22844
Location: United States > Virginia > New Market
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in New Market
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you rent the quaint, cozy and historic Apple Blossom Inn B&B, you get the entire eight-room house to yourself: 2 upstairs bedrooms, full kitchen, TV room with DVDs and Netflix available, 1.5 baths, music room, dining room. Guests enjoy our full breakfasts made with fresh, in-season foods from our gardens. Non-smoking, no pets, children over 9 yrs old welcomed. Suitable for 1-4 persons ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Blossom Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.