We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy a warm welcome and relax in the Dordogne in traditional style at Les Papillons.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Papillons

Les Papillons
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vezac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Papillons
Save
You added Les Papillons to your Saves list
Les Magnanas, 24220 Vezac, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Vezac B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoy a warm welcome and relax in the Dordogne in traditional style at Les Papillons.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

You will receive a warm friendly welcome from the owners Tom and Andrew at Les Papillons. This is one of those beautiful Dordogne farmhouses converted into a stylish traditionally furnished Chambre d'hote in what must be one of the most stunning locations in the region. Watch the chickens rush around or the cats and dogs play in the garden as you relax and soak up the sunshine. It was cool during our visit but the early morning sunshine soon warmed the air. With views of open countryside towards no less than three fantastic chateaux (visible from some of the rooms) you cannot fail to be impressed. Our short visit was most enjoyable and our hosts were attentive and helpful.
A simple continental breakfast with croissants bread , orange juice and delicious preserves will get your day off to a flying start. Our hosts provided exceptionally good quality evening meals complete with local wines and cheese. The skill of the chef was matched by the friendly and efficient service and the relaxed ambience.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    2
    0
    0
    5
See reviews for
4
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

We did not stay at Les Papillions as it was truly terrible. We were booked in for 3 nights there was no way I wanted to spend an hour there.If you don`t mind the smell of cats litter trays all over the house and dog and cat hair everywhere then this is the place for you.Outside was dire ,the table and chairs were covered in chicken feathers and chicken muck. I would not have wanted to eat breakfast or any other meal there as the kitchen was full of animals and chicken muck.I would truly say that I am not a fussy person and am used to animals and children in my life, but if you are running a B&B this is not acceptable.I Paid a deposit of 40 euros which was not returned to me,as I did ask for it back as I didn`t feel the place had been described properly.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dePaulus, Owner at Les Papillons, responded to this review, March 5, 2011
We appericate all of our guests, although this one violated several of our policys that insure the comforts of our other guests and had to be asked to leave which gave us this fabricated review as a result.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Tom and Andrew have created a first class B and B in a beautiful setting, from the moment you arrive until the day you leave, they will make you as welcome as any good friend. Our room was very clean and had views over to Chateaux Beynac, If you like food (who doesnt in France) then make sure you book dinner, great quality and very tasty food at a very modest 25 Euros each for 4 courses. This is our second stay with Tom and Andrew, it wont be our last!

PS: If like us, you miss your pets when your away, dont worry. Tom and Andrew's rescue dogs,cats and chickens will give you there precious time in exchange for a bit of croissant and some fussing - sounds fair to me!

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannon Beach, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

Andrew and Tom have beautifully restored an old stone farmhouse into a lovely and welcoming "home" for travelers to the Dordogne. Our first night included a delicious 3 course dinner with local wines and a lemon dessert Andrew recreated from Medieval recipies! Fell into a wonderful bed with ironed antique linen sheets...awoke to the incredible Dordogne birdsong before dawn. We had a peak of Castlenaud from our pretty room, which was spacious and clean, as was the bathroom. Breakfast in the courtyard was a picture of rural France: fresh croissants and baguettes, that amazing French butter, homemade jams and fresh coffee or tea. Our days were full of walks: right from Les Papillons one can walk to Beynac along the Dordogne, to Castelnaud or to Marqueyssac Gardens. Les Papillons is perfectly located to explore all of the Dordogne and the Vezere River vallies or to venture even further to Rocamadour and the Lot's treasures. Tom and Andrew were so helpful with suggestions and ideas...coming back to Les Papillons after a full day was just delightful! To sit and enjoy the afternoon in the courtyard, watch the lively dogs, cats and chickens interact, visit with Tom and Andrew and sip a glass of French wine is a memory that brings on a dreamy smile. I have already recommended Les Papillons to a friend headed for the Dordogne! I would truly love to return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arch cape
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

Just returned from the Dordogne region and had a most glorious stay at Les Papillons with Tom and Andrew. Our room a delight (the bed comfy with outrageous linens), a most amazing 3 course dinner the first night (ask ahead), a short walk along the river to Beynac, breakfast set up in the courtyard with fresh croissants, homemade jams, and French pressed coffee, the chickens, cats, dogs give it a homey feel. Tom and Andrew are wonderful innkeepers who know how to pamper their guests, interact as much as their guests want, and were able to give recommendations of things to not miss in the area. I traveled with a girl friend and would love to go back with my husband!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

We enjoyed our summer stay so much that we booked for Christmas. We were very lucky that somebody recommended Les Papillions to us, we booked for two days but ended up staying two weeks. The hospitality and warmth shown to us by the owners Tom and Andrew was very much appreciated. There was nothing that was too much trouble - explaining the best places to visit and cooking us meals with food from the local market. We enjoyed it all so much that we booked and stayed there at Chrismas. That was totally amazing, the log burners the atmosphere and the food made it the best
Christmas we have had since we married!!(ten years). All that and the castles, lovely river walks, canoes and golf. We will return.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

We enjoyed a memorable night at Les Papillions, Andrew and Tom could not have been better hosts or made us more welcome. Les Papillions is a charming old farmhouse close to the river. We shall definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Papillons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Papillons

Address: Les Magnanas, 24220 Vezac, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Vezac
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Vezac
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gite and B&B accommodation Les Papillons is ideally situated smack bang in the middle of ”Dordogne’s Golden Triangle” surrounded by Dordogne’s most famous attractions such as Beynac, Castelnaud, Roque Gageac, Domme and lots more. Les Papillons is the choice of accommodation for anyone visiting the Dordogne and is open all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Les Papillons France/Vezac, Dordogne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Papillons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.