We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary gardens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de l'Imaginaire

Les Jardins de l'Imaginaire
Place de Genouillac, 24120 Terrasson-Lavilledieu, France
05 53 50 86 82
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
Attraction details
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Contemporary gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by these gardens. As noted, your visit must start with a guided tour (in French). There is a booklet at the desk if you need an English translation - if you have time, read this ahead of your tour so you can look while on the tour. Our guide spoke clearly so we were able to follow most of the French. You are able to stay after the tour to extend your visit.

There are several parts to the garden intended to evoke different thoughts and feelings. I found them all visually interesting and an imaginative take on the formal garden with lovely views over the town from various points on the walk. I found the very last feature with the maps of the world's great rivers in bronze a bit weak and not up to the standard of the rest of the garden.

Don't come if you are expecting lots of flowers and be able to sit and have a picnic. It's not that kind of garden. Do come to see a different twist on a formal garden.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    25
    30
    23
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
94 attraction reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Unusual, good concept but too controlled”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The tour commentary is a bit tedious as it is all in French and the English translation available isn't great. The gardens themselves are well done and there are some great views of the town but there is not much chance to enjoy them without the guide rambling on.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very nice and excellent guide tour. The vues are magnefique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The tour was not too long what we liked and we got a good explanation on the story how this carden was shaped

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoges
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We agree with the following reviews really. It was hard to enjoy these gardens, or use ones imagination about them, in the company of a guide who was wired-up with a head-microphone and amplification and told us far more than we needed to know (we read the English translation booklet). The visit was too controlled. The gardens themselves were rather uncomfortable in their planning, I thought, with a formal rose-garden pushed down into one side of our walk-way and a water-garden that was a surface with jets of water up at the end of the walk-way. it's true, as well, that there are no flowers - except for the roses. There is a glass-house, but it's not used for anything interesting.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Down Under
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Some Things to Bare in Mind if You Can't Speak Fluent French or have prams”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Can't review the gardens themselves as our trip was curtailed on arrival when we discovered the gardens are not available for groups to wander about freely but are explored as organized tours at set times with commentary in French only. We were also advised on arrival that the gardens are unsuitable for prams - this was a bit of an issue for us, as our family group included two small toddlers in prams. I believe the issue about tours being in French only is actually described on their leaflet....in French and in very small print!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Jardins de l'Imaginaire also viewed

Terrasson-Lavilledieu, Dordogne
Terrasson-Lavilledieu, Dordogne
 

Been to Les Jardins de l'Imaginaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Jardins de l'Imaginaire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.