We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jean De Boheme

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Jean De Boheme to your Saves list
Jean De Boheme
Place Aux Foires 2, Durbuy 6940, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Durbuy
Sutton in Ashfield
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were originally booked into their sister hotel, but as they had few bookings, we were upgraded here.
The reception staff were friendly and helpful, only to willing to provide all the local information that we needed. The room was warm comfortable and spotlessly clean. The bathroom offered both a bath and a shower, which is unusual but very welcome. An added bonus was free onsite parking.
Breakfast offered a wide choice of good quality local food and gave us a good start to the day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    28
    7
    9
    4
See reviews for
9
39
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We booked for three nights bed breakfast and evening dinner. We had a warm welcome including a glass of champagne? The room was a good size, it was clean with a deep bath and good shower. We enjoyed dinner found the wines a little expensive but still acceptable. Breakfast had a good mixture of types of food which included the egg boiler. Nothing better than a fresh hot boiled egg or two. The service in the hotel was very good. Could not fault the staff they were all very helpful. The city and surrounding areas had some interesting venues, (missed out on the Christmas Markets as the stalls were just being erected)
Over all we had a good weekend and the cost was not that expensive at £300.00 + £117.00 wines and an aperitif each evening not including Water. We object tro paying for water are only negative point

Room Tip: Ask for the one of the larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Durbuy is a popular and pretty town which is a weekend destination for Belgians and many others. Fortunately we arrived on a Monday and had no trouble booking a room. From the 95 euros room for two we asked for, we were upsold - for 170 euros - the "Escapade" package which included the room, breakfast and dinner for two. At face value it looked like a good deal.
The breakfast was sensational, everything you could want, smoked salmon, pate, cheeses, charcuterie, pain au chocolats, croissants, home made jam, cereals, yoghurt, I could go on. Dinner with the Escapade package was "chef's choice". 3 courses with no options, so vegetarians beware! The courses of smoked salmon, pigeon and dessert were small but adequate and well put together. Probably worth about 18 euros elsewhere on a "formule" menu. Wine was extra of course and very expensive. The room was fine except that the wi-fi didn't work in our third floor room (it worked well in the lobby) and the shower was one of those hand-held nozzles with no wall fitting or shower screen that require you to kneel,squat or sit in the bath so that you don't flood the bathroom. Really really irritating.
Staff were friendly apart from the lone male (night manager/owner?) who was Mr. Grumpy personified. All in all, the "Escapade" was poor value.

Room Tip: Go for the lower floors to be assured of wi-fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Great location and very clean hotel.
The brunch was also very good.
But the room was too small. Specially considering the price. If the price was 50% less, than would be a good deal.
The city is great. It very beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

Booked primarily on their own self publicity as a gastronomic hotel. Slightly dubious as they have no menu on their website & only seem to offer hotel/meal specials but booked on the basis of Trp Advsr reviews. Big mistake. Really don't know how this is 4* more like 3 - no facilities except restaurant & bar.
Hotel room was fine, although the sofa bed which our daughter slept on was stained & had a cigarette burn in it (in a non smoking hotel - so it must have been there for sometime!). We paid €56 extra for a suite, to accommodate our daughter, for 2 nights including B&B, 3 course meal, 1st night & 5 course meal on 2nd & were charged another €54 as a 'special rate' for our 10 yr old daughter (which as they served her the same meal as us without asking on 1st night we assumed was included in the 'special rate'). However when we checked out they added another €90 for her 2 meals, on top of the €54 & €386 for us. So 2 nights with meals cost €530 without water or drinks. Wine list is terrible for a supposed gourmet restaurant - they even sell Mouton Cadet! Lists wines like Chablis without vintage or producer at top prices for bog standard wine. We're not cheap skates & wanted to splurge on a great meal with fine wine - the meals were less than adequate (rather 1970's menu) veal & lobster kebabs? No sauces to speak of except a Bisto-like gravy on the lamb & dessert which tasted like mixed fruit berries from a jar with cheap vanilla ice-cream. Small btl water €4. We wanted to cancel the 2nd nights meal after tasting the 1st but were told we would still have to pay for it in full. Husband didn't come down to dinner on 2nd night as he felt ill, so my daughter had his 'paid for' meal but they still added €55 for her even tho' I explained she had it instead of him. Rather begrudgingly refunded it but it took 35 mins standing at reception with the rather sour faced blonde manager. However all the other staff were very nice.
Total we paid was €530 with only 2 1/2 bottles of cheap wine, 2 small bottles water no other extras & my partner not eating on the second night.
We've stayed at the 5*Dorchester in London for less with a fantastic 7 course Michelin starred meal included.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2006

Arriving in Durbuy Saturday at 7 p.m. on a holiday weekend without a reservation is really taking your chances. We managed to find a couple of hotels that had one or two rooms/suites free and decided to take the junior suite (room 95) at the Jean De Boheme after comparing all the rooms available. We choose it over cheaper alternatives because of its charm, comfortable bed and friendly staff. We loved it! Everything was spotlessly clean, charmingly decorated in rich colours (not my really my taste, but nonetheless tasteful). The bathroom was brand new and huge! Our roomy suite was at the back of the hotel, and very quiet. We awoke to the sound of chirping birds. We had left one blind open so we could see the morning sunshine and the wooded hill behind the hotel from our bed. We paid €140 euros and, though that was more than we'd wanted to pay, we thought it was worth it. The price didn't include breakfast (€15 for a continental breakfast and €30 for the buffet brunch). Instead we went to one of the many restaurants on the square and had a filling and delicious breakfast including 2 cups of coffee each for €10 p.p.).

I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jean De Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jean De Boheme

Address: Place Aux Foires 2, Durbuy 6940, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Luxembourg Province > Durbuy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Durbuy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Jean De Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jean De Boheme Durbuy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jean De Boheme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.