We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really unique experience in the Ardennes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Balade des Gnomes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durbuy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Balade des Gnomes
Save
You added La Balade des Gnomes to your Saves list
20, Rue de Romeleu, | Heyd, Durbuy, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Durbuy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brookline, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Really unique experience in the Ardennes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed in the forest room for one night on our way back from France to the Netherlands. I would preface this review with you need to know what you are getting into when you book is hotel. It is in the country - we drove to have dinner in Durbuy - and it is eccentric as you can guess from all the pictures. Every spot of the room and the hotel is something really well crafted and thought out. It is not practical but highly beautiful which is why we stayed. We loved our night there - we arrived a little later than expected but the host met us and let us in with a nice welcome drink. We really enjoyed the breakfast which included eggs, bread, meats and cheese - more than enough food for the two of us. The only complaint was that boyfriend did not like the mattress but I slept okay. Next time we would definitely try out the Trojan horse :)

Room Tip: Know this is not going to be your traditional kind of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    72
    12
    8
    7
See reviews for
18
167
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed for 1 night in Le Cheval de Troie, the centre piece of this little boutique hotel. The external décor definitely makes you smile as you enter the car park. The working drawbridge was a definite hit. As for the interior, the main bed was huge. The toilet wasn’t terribly spacious (and is located some distance from hand-washing facilities) but it was interesting in a medieval way. The continental breakfast was delivered in a very befitting way for such an unusual hotel suite and felt like a big event in itself – if only every day could start this way! I’m sure we will be back to sample some of the other quirky rooms.

Room Tip: Its worth paying a little extra for the Le Cheval de Troie, although I wouldnt describe it as suitab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eupen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Imagine sitting in a hotel room and being happy with looking at all the details that have been used to build or furnish the room. At the same time experience the life of a troll, which you know only from the screen and thought it could never be reality. That's what we found the hotel to be. Different for a stay for a night or two, but not more. The concept is brilliant, and you are immediately taken by it. We noticed however, that our room lacked light, but this may also have been due to the winter time. The streaks of daylight that came into the room revealed that decorations, as they are very detailed cannot be cleaned every week; therefore it is a bit dusty everywhere.
The service is very nice, but there are no credit cards accepted; moreover, you have to check in at well established times. The breakfast is served in your room and makes you discover local egg-specialties.
Would we return? Yes, probably if the stay were offered, as prices for room and breakfast are somewhat more expensive than other hotels with similar service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were doing a road trip through Netherlands and Belgium with my wife and we wanted to stay at somewhat different and interesting hotels, we got double satisfaction out of this place.

We though it was a bit out of our way, thinking that Belgium was Brugge, Antwerp, Brussels, Liege and Waterloo, having arranged to spend a night at La Balade des Gnomes made as search for places to see and explore in Wallonia, south of Belgium. We loved it, beautiful country roads, small towns with medieval castles, caves and much more, even though it was winter and the lowest season of all.

We spent one night in the "chamber": La Legende des Trolls, it was excellent room, very original, felt totally like a cozy cave. Some of the details were amazing, like the bathtub, which was truly something we had never seen. The bed location was great: it felt we were in a spot alone in the world.

Based on some of the comments I have read, I would like to clarify, this is not a normal hotel or rooms, so you should not expect anything standard, if you want standard doors, toilet seats, chairs, etc. then this is not really your place. But it is good quality overall, the room we choose was comfortable in size, it was clean and well set-up, mini-bar well stocked for a romantic evening, the bath salts were a nice touch and breakfast in the room was just right in size and good quality.

The small living room was full of details and we spent the evening very comfortable having drinks in a rough looking wooden table, held on with chains and other original details.

The only negative and warning I would leave is that, even though we speak Russian, Spanish and English it was hard to communicate and, since in winter they do not seem to have staff on location all the time then we had a spot of trouble getting our room when we arrived, but they made a perfectly good effort.

Overall we could have spent 2-3 nights here very comfortably, I really did not want to leave the cozy cave the next morning but please consider if you plan to go there: this region of Belgium is full of things to do in summer but it is very low season in winter and some of the locations to visit or things to do are either closed or have restricted schedules, so you should plan ahead..

Room Tip: Since all the rooms are original and completely different in terms of space, arrangement, light, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Having looked at the pictures and read their web site we where looking forward to our night here as part of our European road trip because lets be honest it looks like good fun.
However our thoughts have divided us a little on this B&B the better half thinks it was great but a little tired in places. I on the other hand thought it was cramped and claustrophonic and in need of a major update.
Dont get me wrong the concept is fun and the idea is brilliant just badly executed eg. the power operated door to our bathroom didnt function past the demo from the receptionist but even cosed there is a 18" gap between the top and bottom half, sorry but a little privacy is expected. If you are over 5'6 expect to bang your head in numerous places about the building, gluing bits of wood to lightswitches does not make them any better but the same round sockets does stop your travel charger fitting in.
If the room rates where lower then I would still think it good fun and worth a visit however at 115euro per night returning isnt on the agenda any time soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed for a weekend in this B&B in Durbuy after seeing it on Belgian television.
The expectancies were high but maybe we set our expectations too high.
The concept is very cool and with children I would still advise it, but we went for a romantic weekend and it just wasn't good enough.
First set back was that when we arrived it had been snowing and at first it took us three tries to access the parking, I would suggest that when it snows they clear the pathway because when we left, it took us an hour and help from other guests to leave the parking.
The welcome is standard but from a real B&B you would expect something warmer. Room decoration is nice, we had "le desespoir du moine" as room, but the room was very small. At first this seems cozy but after a while you get a claustrophobic feeling, especially because the room was very dark.
We also had diner in the restaurant "La Gargouille" from the same owner. The food was good, but rather expensive for what it was. So were the rooms.
Like said earlier, maybe nice with young children, but for grown-ups you feel a little bit trapped.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Balade des Gnomes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Balade des Gnomes

Address: 20, Rue de Romeleu, | Heyd, Durbuy, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Luxembourg Province > Durbuy
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Durbuy
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
La Balade Des Gnomes Hotel Durbuy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Balade des Gnomes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.