We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Visit to Chez Tante Alice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Tante Alice

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durbuy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chez Tante Alice
Save
You added Chez Tante Alice to your Saves list
Aisne, 52 | Aisne-sous-Heyd, Durbuy 6941, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Durbuy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice Visit to Chez Tante Alice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We only stayed 2 nights in late April but had a nice visit. Chambre Armel was very clean and quiet with more than enough space in the bedroom and bath. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was more than adequate..granola, yoghurt, fresh croissants, cheeses, fresh fruit, juices, coffee and tea and Marie-France's jams. Marie-France is a very nice person and very helpful with recommendations for visits, walks, directions and reservations. Plenty of books, maps, snacks, drinks in the common area. WIFI worked great in the common area but was very hard to get, if at all, in the room. Parking is just outside the front door. Overall, we were very happy with our selection of this cozy B&B

Room Tip: Chambre Armel is at the top of the stairs and spans the house front to back...bathroom is in front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
57
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mahwah, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay when visiting this part of Belgium. Our room was spacious and our host, Marie France, made this a great stop. Breakfasts were wonderful with delicious cheeses and homemade jams. Marie France goes out of her way to show you the best places to tour and eat dinner. Don't miss the Ardennes or Chez Tante Alice!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Chez tante Alice combines a very comfortable and cosy room with a delicious breakfast full of homemade products (Very tasty choco and yummy confitures). This lovely house is decorated with lots of personality and makes a stay at this B&B a highly recommended experience. We only stayed one night, and we wish we could have stayed a little longer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were touring Belgium with Belgian friends in October 2012 and stayed overnight at Chez Tante Alice. The spot was perfect as we wanted to explore Durbuy . Marie- France is a wonderful hostess who joined us for an evening drink in the guest lounge and was very happy to talk about the area and its attractions. She made us all feel very welcome indeed; the breakfast was superb; the accommodation is extremely comfortable, spacious and well decorated. The building which comprises this lovely B&b has a rich history which Marie- France happily shared with us. The garden is a delight with a stream running by at the end of it. Really, a perfect place to stay in this lovely part of Belgium.

Room Tip: The rooms to the side of the house would be quieter than those in the front, but in saying that, thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed for two nights to attend Belgium Formula 1 race at Francorchamps. Prior to our arrival, Marie-France made both of our dinner reservations. Both restaurants are wonderful in a fairytale-like town of Durbuy 20 minutes away. It took us less than an hour to drive to the race course on a beautiful winding country road; however, almost 4 hours to return on the same road after the race! Despite the insane traffic, I would stay there again if I attend the race in the future because Marie-France made us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent a week-end at Chez Tante Alice and I can't praise it highly enough. The building is just stunning and it includes a beautiful garden with private access to the river Aisne. The rooms are comfortable, clean and nicely decorated, each with with a fully equipped bathroom. The breakfast is heavenly: fresh bread and croissants, a selection of home-made jams and local cheeses, plus fruit salad made with raspberries from the garden.

The owners are the sweetest couple you'll ever meet, always available to accommodate every request and striving to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The surrounding areas are beautiful and there's plenty to do with walks, fishing, canoeing, biking, sight-seeing and of course eating delicious meals at local restaurants.

This B&B is a true gem and I can't recommend it enough!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are quieter, although there isn't a massive amount of traffic on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

It is very difficult to write a meaningful review, when all of the previous reviews do such a good job. With such an excellent set of reviews you can be confident that they are all true and that you will not be disappointed. The hosts are generous, kind and friendly. Beautiful rural location too. Set your SAT NAV and go there.

Room Tip: All good. We liked the large bath in one room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chez Tante Alice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Tante Alice

Address: Aisne, 52 | Aisne-sous-Heyd, Durbuy 6941, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Luxembourg Province > Durbuy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Durbuy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Tante Alice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.