We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A LOVELY PLACE FOR LUNCH” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hoteldorf Gruner Baum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hoteldorf Gruner Baum to your Saves list
Hoteldorf Gruner Baum
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koetschachtal 25, Bad Gastein 5640, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Bad Gastein
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rowlands Gill, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A LOVELY PLACE FOR LUNCH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Set at the end of a bus route in Bad Gastein, the Gruner Baum has lots of lovely facilties, including a restaurant, several bar areas, outside swings and play areas for kids and even horses and rabbits to look at. We went for lunch and it was lovely. The staff served us happily and very efficiently in a bar area which is attractively set up in apothecary style and the food and drink was splendid. The hotel is also located at the end of a popular walk along the Kaiser Wilhelm promenade, which is a great walk for spotting red squirrels and rare birds like jays. Very exciting!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianBlumschein, Geschäftsführer at Hoteldorf Gruner Baum, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Lindsay W,

we are delighted that you enjoyed your lunch in our restaurant! Thank you so much for the positive review here on Tripadvisor. This means a lot to us - especially because we serve pure organic products in our restaurant since May 2014. We are still in the testing phase and such kind words affirm our decision to be an organic hotel and restaurant.

Maybe we can welcome you again in our house? It would be our pleasure!

Kind regards,
Maximilian Blumschein
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    58
    16
    1
    3
See reviews for
137
136
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We spend a few days here last year and I still wish to go back now. Even my four year old wants to go back. The staff is very helpful. The food is excellent and the surrounding breathtaking. If you are a nature lover and are looking for a peaceful and romantic getaway than this is your place. There is plenty to do even for the kids.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianBlumschein, Geschäftsführer at Hoteldorf Gruner Baum, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear SunnyandSophie,

what a great review! We are delighted that you could spend such lovely holidays in our house and that you want to come back! You are welcome anytime :-) Thank you for the feedback which we forwarded to our entire staff. This is just a really great motivation.

With the kindest regards from Bad Gastein,
Maximilian Blumschein
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munich
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I spent two nights at end of ski season. This is a quiet location. There is a scheduled shuttle bus to the ski resorts. Great service, nice restaurant. Well furnished and spatious accomodation. Staff was helpful at any time.

Room Tip: Main Building is a good choice for a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianBlumschein, Geschäftsführer at Hoteldorf Gruner Baum, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear MunichHoliday,

first of all we want to thank you for the positive feedback here on Tripadvisor! Great, that you spent wonderful winter days in the Hoteldorf Grüner Baum. Our team was delighted to hear your review and of course so am I :-)

Maybe we can welcome you once again in our house? It would be an honour.

Sincerely yours,
Maximilian Blumschein
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wi
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Found this resort by accident, spent 1night, could easily have spent 3days, hiking, spa, location, views, away from the traffic, quiet, good food, would come back in a flash, 3waterfalls from room, walked into national park for 2hours in morning, no one else there!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianBlumschein, Geschäftsführer at Hoteldorf Gruner Baum, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear tomkmoeller,

even if you have only been at the Hoteldorf Grüner Baum for 1 night you leave such a kind review - fantastic! Thank you so much for that.
If you want to enjoy some more days sometime just let us know. It would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back.

All the best,
Maximilian Blumschein
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Petersburg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Amazing location, nice people, cute labrador Felix.

Good food at the restaraunt, but they should have kind of grocery for guests, who want to buy wine and cheese to enjoy it in the sun without hotel's extra charge (30 euros for the wine worth 10 is a bit too much).

Room Tip: Choose the premises where the spa is situated, then you can go to spa in bathrobe directly from your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianBlumschein, Geschäftsführer at Hoteldorf Gruner Baum, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear skier1010,

thank you very much for your great review on your stay at the Hoteldorf Grüner Baum. We will think about your suggestion concerning the grocery store - thanks for the recommendation!

All the best and kindest regards from Bad Gastein,
Maximilian Blumschein
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trencin, Slovakia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We spent great three days in the hoteldorf Gruner Baum. Hotel is in calm, nice place in the heart of nature, surronounded with mountains. On the other hand, the Bad Gasten spa village is very close (2-3 km). We can strongly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianBlumschein, Geschäftsführer at Hoteldorf Gruner Baum, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Tomas M,

what a kind feedback on your stay with us - thank you for that! If you want to visit us again and spend some fantastic days at the "Grüner Baum" - you are welcome anytime :-)

Sincerely yours,
Maximilian Blumschein
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

i spent 4 days with friends in Gruner Baum and it was truly a great experience. The staff were extremely friendly, and always ready to help. We were vegetarians and therefore the food was a challenge. We arrived on a friday evening, and when we requested for some special items for breakfast, were told that the supplies would be available on monday only, as supplies can't be received before the same. All we did was go to the supermarket and get the stuff, it took half an hour. Just wish they were a bit more proactive, and thereby making our stay more enjoyable. The items they presented for breakfast were not suitable and the dinner, specially ordered was a big letdown. Barring the fiasco in F&B as above the stay was great.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianBlumschein, Geschäftsführer at Hoteldorf Gruner Baum, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Jchitlangia,

we want to thank you for your feedback here on Tripadvisor and we are glad, that you liked your stay in the "Grüner Baum". However, we are sorry that you were not satisfied to 100% in regards to our culinary offer. Our breakfast consists of a wide choice of vegetarian and non-vegetarian food and also the dinner consists of meals to choose. We are sorry that we could not meet your taste.

Since May 2014 all our food and drinks are 100% organic - vegetarian and non-vegetarian. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again and maybe now we can convince you of the quality and variety of our culinary offer.

With the kindest regards,
Maximilian Blumschein
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hoteldorf Gruner Baum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoteldorf Gruner Baum

Address: Koetschachtal 25, Bad Gastein 5640, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Bad Gastein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bad Gastein
#1 Green Hotel in Bad Gastein
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bad Gastein
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bad Gastein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoteldorf Gruner Baum 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five houses with 80 pleasant rooms are building the Small Luxury Hotel Grüner Baum – next to the amazing surroundings of the mountains of Gastein- Austria. As special as our guests, as special are also the different houses. The area containing the Hoteldorf is over 70 acres – in between the pure nature and car-free environment of Kötschach-Valley. Especially families are enjoying the great offers of the Grüner Baum.There is also a lot to explore in and around the Hoteldorf Grüner Baum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, T4B, Splendia, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hoteldorf Gruner Baum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoteldorf Gruner Baum Hotel Bad Gastein
Hoteldorf Gruener Baum Bad Gastein
Hoteldorf Gruener Baum Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoteldorf Gruner Baum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.