We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skiing & Thermen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ski, Berge & Thermen Gastein

Ski, Berge & Thermen Gastein
Bundesstrasse 567, Bad Gastein 5630, Austria
43 (0)6432 6455 - 0
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas
Attraction Details
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Skiing & Thermen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

There are many slopes to select of various difficulties, there is something for everyone. Great service. Do not miss to visit Alpentherme Gastein.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    29
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ski review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

For those beginners who have experienced blue runs in France be aware that the grading of the runs in Austria is different. The blues in Austria are more like reds in France and the reds are more difficult (steeper and narrower). The number of pistes in Bad Gastein are limited if you are a decent skier however the other resorts are easily accessible by free buses. The pistes are not that well signposted and the paper piste map is too small. Restaurant facilities on the mountain are excellent and good value for money

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimini, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ski areas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Yhe ski area is not so large and the different areas are connected only with bus that is free with your skipass.definetly yhere are many better and wider places for skiing all over alpen at better price .The landscapes are anyway wery beautifull

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Well serviced large area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The skiing region is very large with two mountains joining together, Bad Gastein and Bad Hofgastein, through slopes and cable cars. Then there is also Dorfgastein, Graukogel and Psortgastein all accessible by a short bus ride which is included in your pass. I have been skiing here for about 8 years now and I still manage to come across places I haven't seen, or at least visited before. They continue to upgrade the services and I have seen a lot of improvements on the mountains over the years.

Sadly the village of Bad Gastein seems to have been a little left behind though with Bad Hofgastein being the better of two for variety and choice once you are off the slopes. Having said that Bad Gastein has a lot of good hotels with nice restaurants and some good Apres Ski.

Sportgastein is the best place to go on a sunny day, the views are beautiful and slopes are wide. Graukogel is tree lined offering you protection from the wind, but is lower and can suffer from lack of snow at the beginning and end of the season. It also tends to be the quietest, so if you some to get away from the crowds, head there. Schlossalm / Bad Hofgastein has a good variety of slopes and places to stop for lunch. I have a personal favourite there called Hofgasteinerhaus, which is a little hidden from the cable car, but not difficult to find. It has beautiful views and really good food. Bad Gastein has 3 scenic posts now. The very large suspension bridge that runs alongside top station is a must, as are the other two recent lookout posts which are to the left of top station. They really do offer amazing views.

As far as eating on the mountain goes I think the standard is generally high. Personally I prefer table service rather than self service so thankfully there are a lot of them on offer.

I haven't skied much over in Doffgastein or Grossarl, but when I have I've been equally impressed. I don't know anything about Dorfgastein's village though.

Both Bad Gastein and Bad Hofgastein have large leisure centers in them, and are worth a visit. Typically busy times should be avoided though, like New Year and School's mid term break as they tend to get very busy.

The Bellevue Alm in Bad Gastein has the prettiest of single chair rides to access it during the winter evenings. You can either return back on it, or take a taboggen down - which I would also recommend doing!

There really is so much to see and do in the Gastein region that you can't possibly manage it all in one visit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitra, Slovakia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay in Gastein valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The offer of services,especially cable cars & hiking options is pretty good.The city centre in Bad Gastein almost death with a lack of souvenir shops,restaurants etc.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ski, Berge & Thermen Gastein also viewed

Bad Gastein, Austrian Alps
Bad Hofgastein, Austrian Alps
 
Bad Gastein, Austrian Alps
 

Been to Ski, Berge & Thermen Gastein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ski, Berge & Thermen Gastein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ski, Berge & Thermen Gastein to your Saves list