We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family run, family friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maximilian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Maximilian to your Saves list
Hotel Maximilian
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ehenbichl, Reutte 6600, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Reutte
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mukilteo, Washington
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Family run, family friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We had a large triple room overlooking the hotel terrace with a private deck. Spacious and clean. The hotel is great for families. Amenities include a game room and play areas in and out for young kids. The owner and staff were very helpful. The hotel restaurant was very nice and food portions were huge. I would also recommend the local wheat beer. The surrounding mountain views were beautiful, including the nearby mountain-top castle ruins that are lit nightly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    26
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
59
56
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Staying here now (July 2013) with a school tour of my son's. A family owned place. Decent rooms - a room with a balcony strongly recommended, large balcony with a table and a chaise-longue. Stunning views on the mountains and forests. Exceptionally friendly multilingual staff(English, French, Italian spoken). The managers (hallo Gabi & Michela) do not play bosses, they do everything: need a cup of coffee - ask Gabi, need a ride somewhere nearby - they are happy to take you in their minibus wherever you want. Bike rental in-house - excellent option to explore Tirol. Good restaurant with all relevant specialities - schnitzel, spetzle, etc. In the morning you are waken up by the gentle gingles of cow bells (pasture in front of the hotel), this just adds some pastoral charm. Attention fellow smokers: very smokers friendly place, you can smoke on your balcony, in the lobby bar and in front of the hotel. Definitely recommend Alpentherme which is about 1 mile from the hotel - great relaxing place. Overall mark is definitely 'excellent'.

Room Tip: Balcony room recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I have never written a hotel review before, but had to write one about this place. The staff is so lovely and they make sure your every need is taken care of...it's homey. The restaurant is fantastic!I don't speak German but everyone here could understand me. Our room was large by Europe standards. It is very well priced. It was a Rick Steves recommendation and it was spot on. The owner Gabi is totally charming and friendly, we had the same waiter every night named Sebastian who remembered what a ordered the night before and made suggestions of new things to try. The locals come by for wine or beer in the evenings; Gabi recommended a church festival nearby where we enjoyed German music and food and dancing. She took the time to introduce my teenage son to other teens staying here. It's everything a hotel should be....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My family (husband, 2 small children and mother) stayed at this hotel based on the recommendation in the Rick Steves guidebook. This was truly a fantastic hotel base for our trip to visit the castles and nearby sights. It is right over the Austrian border off of the highway and is very easy to find. This section of Austria does not require a vignette. The staff at the hotel is very friendly and you instantly felt like all your needs would be taken seriously. Check-in was simple. Our rooms were on the top floor. We had a family room and my mother had a single room. Both rooms were a very nice size. The bathroom was small with only a shower but fairly standard for European hotels. The room was clean and well maintained. The only issue I had was a faint musty scent on the pillows, but they were changed as soon as I mentioned it to the staff. There are no restaurants really within walking distance of the hotel, but that was fine, because the hotel has a wonderful restaurant with amazing food and fantastic wine. We enjoyed dinner at the hotel for two nights and each night was very good especially after an exhausting day of sightseeing. Breakfast at the hotel was also very good with a very good selection of breads and coldcuts. My kids also enjoyed themselves as there is a small playground on the grounds of the hotel and a large trampoline. Overall, we had a very good stay and I would highly recommend this hotel as your base for the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My sister and I spent a night at this hotel during a two week tour of Europe. I booked this hotel based on it's reasonable price and high recommendations on hotels.com. I'm so glad I did! The staff is amazing. We arrived earlier than expected and were not able to get into our room yet, but the young woman working at the front desk (whose name I unfortunately can't remember) got all of our paperwork completed so that we only had to pick up the key a few hours later. She then gave us great recommendations on what to do that afternoon prior to getting into our room, as well as recommendations for local attractions the following day, complete with very clear and thorough directions! The room was very clean and spacious and the breakfast buffet the next morning was great. The hotel is a great little place with a family feel and the scenery surrounding the hotel is breathtaking. I highly suggest this hotel for anyone staying in the area. I hope to be able to go back again sometime!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We loved this hotel - the entire hotel is simply adorable with lots of extras especially for kids. Rooms attractive and really nice size - we had a beautiful view out to the mountains. The family touch makes all the difference here. It's like checking into a relative's house - we arrived in the late afternoon figuring we'd have to blow off the castle visits til the next day, but when we arrived, we were told we could drop our bags off in the room, take care of paperwork for check in that evening - that we still had plenty of time to make the visits to the castles. Upon our return, we simply walked downstairs for dinner - to the absolutely wonderful restaurant - don't miss eating here. Breakfast was also as good as we expected.

The entire experience here was so warm and pleasant and this area of Austria is most beautiful - we hope to make a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was our third stay at the Hotel Maximilian. It is a place where you are treated like family and it makes you want to visit over and over again. Gabi and the Koch family have created a fine establishment and truly know how to cater to the needs of their guests.

The rooms vary but many have a balcony or sun room and all are very clean and well maintained. We stayed in the same room this time as one of our previous visits (#40) and the furnishings had been updated since then.

Take advantage of the large breakfast buffet and do not miss out on dinner. It is a relaxing way to spend the evening after a day of sightseeing.

Gabi will personally see to it that you have things to do and will make recommendations on everything from scenic hikes to pharmacies. She will make you feel like part of the family. She recommended a Tyrolean evening experience to us at a place a short distance away. It was dark, so she made sure we had flash lights and gave detailed directions so we wouldn't get lost on foot. It turned out to be one of the highlights of our trip. Authentic Austrian music, dress, drinks and food. What a great time!

I could go on for hours about how great this place is, but I won't. Just read the other reviews.

Looking forward to my next stay already!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony or view of the Ehrenberg castle ruins
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Maximilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maximilian

Address: Ehenbichl, Reutte 6600, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Reutte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Reutte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maximilian 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Maximilian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maximilian Hotel Reutte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maximilian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.