We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to de-stress. Highly recommended.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tannenhof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tannenhof to your Saves list
Hotel Tannenhof
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hinterbichl 12, Reutte A-6600, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Reutte
Antwerpen (Belgium)
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A nice place to de-stress. Highly recommended.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Excellent location "at the end of the world", away from the town centre (look for the exact location on the satellite view in google maps).
Beautiful views, nice rooms, very quiet area, away from the center of Lechaschau.
Free WiFi in the hotel lobby (not enough signal in the rooms).

A GPS is highly recommended to find the place. Some hotel bookingsites place this hotel in "Reutte", but you better search on "Lechaschau" (if your GPS has this name in its database)

This hotel has a good restaurant with very nice typical food choices (and you get enough) between 14 and 18 euros per person.
They serve a nice breakfast with various variatons of breads, cereals, meats, freshly prepared ommeletes, ...

The location is an ideal base for exploring the castles in Füssen, just across the German border. Only some 15-20 minutes drive away. Other nice places in the area are Oberammergau, the baroque church in Wies, Garmish-Partenkirchen, ...

In short ... a wonderful place to de-stress. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in at the front of the hotel, they have the nicest view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    11
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tielt, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

very quiet location, great nature, hotel complete with small swimming pool, play garden. Clean spacious rooms (old furniture, but price/quality ok). Average breakfast, nice diner (à la carte), cosy bar with locals for afterwards.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

The food was not as good as last year, the sweets were so small they were only one mouthful, and I found a piece of glass in my meal, mentioned it to the waitress, nothing, not even a sorry from the owners. We got the impression that we were in the way instead of made to feel like paying customers! Consequently we will not be going back......

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

We were on a motorcycle tour of Europe and our bikes were garaged overnight.
This is one peacefull place, the only sound was from the cow bells as they come down the mountain early evening. The rooms are very clean and spacious with views of the mountains.

The food was excellent, I started with a salad which was enough for two (covered in smoke salmon), then had a Wiener Schnitzel that filled the plate, followed by strudel.

Stephnie is Canadian and her husband Nikolaus "the chef" has great culinary skills. This was the best food we had in 3 weeks, highly recommended, so good we have already booked for this year, and cheap!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

Near the end of a 10 week trip to Europe, we stopped off in Reutte for 5 days of pure outdoor fun, with a little bit of tourism (the Neuschwanstein castles). Hotel Tannenhof was our base during this stay. It was functional - no more or less than 3 stars.

Pro's:
1. The location: Well located in Reutte (where you will need a car, so most anywhere is well-located) at the foot of a mountain/hill, hiking trails and wonderful mountain nature. It is away from noise and traffic of any sort.

Con's:
1. Food: It was very greasy spoon - unless you are preparing for winter hibernation, this place will do a disservice to your waistline. Austrian food is rustic in general, but there is good rustic out there. The restaurant at the Gasthaus Goldenes Lamm in Weissenbach about 10km away is such an example. The restaurant at this hotel is just OK. Breakfast alright also.
2. WiFi: It eventually worked, but it certainly was glitchy - well actually it did not work for a couple of days, for any of our 3 computers. This was too bad as I had an important conference call to make and was hoping to use Skype. And no internet cafes either that we could find.
3. Facilities, grounds: This place is a bit of a hodge-podge. A bit dilapidated, a bit dated, a bit held together with string and twine. We like camping, so we are not disturbed by these things, but others may be.

Neutral:
1. Rooms: They were functional. With all there is to do around here, you never spend much time at the hotel or in your room.
2. Hostess: Not a big deal, but there were other reviews or books that elevated the proprietress to a rather mythical level. We found her to be neutral. We did not get all of the "help" during our stay some others mentioned. THAT said, when we showed up unannounced with no reservation and she was full that night, she did book us into another place. That was classy and kind of her. It could also be said that they were quite busy when we were there.
3. Pool: There is a weird-looking pool there. Did not try it.

Suggestions:
1. Get a bike - we had ours and did some cycling. Lots of trails and paths.
2. Try the Gasthaus Goldenes Lamm in Weissenbach am Lech, for food and even to stay in (about same quality as the Tannenhof).
3. Hike around, but have good maps - the signage can be average or poor.

Conclusion:
Reutte is a great place. The Hotel Tannenhof is a serviceable, if not exceptional, place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Tannenhof. It is a nice, inexpensive hotel located in a quiet rural setting a few minutes drive from Reutte. You do need a car to stay here but there is plenty of free on site parking.

Our room was large, clean and modern, with a nice balcony that afforded us great views of some of the mountains. Breakfast was good and there was a nice restaurant on site.

There is plenty to do in the area, with Hohenschwangau Castle, Neuschwanstein Castle, Linderhof Palace, Wieskirche, the Ehrenberg Ruins and Fussen all being within a short drive. There are many walking and cycling tracks in the area and some very pretty alpine lakes.

The receptionist and the restaurant staff all spoke good English, which made it easy for us. Information in the room was entirely in German, which made it somewaht less useful tous.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foresthill, Ca
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

So, we land in Zurich and rent a car for two weeks to see Switzerland, Italy, Austria, Germany and France....Cap'n Vacation (me) has been planning this trip for 9 months and this was one of the places, because of the low cost, that I was concerned about...This was a two day stay between Salzburg and the Black Forest and can honestly say that it was our favorite....Reutte is an okay town, with a McDonalds, and I was concerned when we pulled into town - nothing too spectacular. This Inn is a couple of miles outside of the main town and has spectacular views of the Alps, room is huge and bed is fairly comfortable. Restaurant is awesome, best food that we had on the entire trip......50 Euros and you have wine, beer and an exceptional dinner. Staff was outstanding.....If your taste is along the lines of the Ritz Carlton then you won't like it hear.....If you like a reasonable rate, outstanding views of the Alps, excellent food and the sound of Cow Bells in the morning then you will like it here. As far as the area, driving around to Lermoos and Fussen was great.....Castle tour was okay but I thought a waste.....take the gondola up to the top at Tegelburg to watch the handgliders.....buy a ten pack of luge tkts next to the gondola. Order the pork trio at Tannenhoff along with the Spatzel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tannenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tannenhof

Address: Hinterbichl 12, Reutte A-6600, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Reutte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Reutte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tannenhof 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelBookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Tannenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tannenhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.