We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb view, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gutshof zum Schluxen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Gutshof zum Schluxen to your Saves list
Gutshof zum Schluxen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Unterpinswang 24, Reutte A-6600 , Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Reutte
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Superb view, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This place is truly amazing. The views over the mountains are terrific, the room - despite small - was really cute and the service is very dedicated. The location is very convenient if you are looking for a good base to visit Fussen, Neuschwanstein or even Tirol.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    46
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
51
73
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This property is just amazing. The staff was extremely friendly and accomodating. We have 2 small boys and they loved it here too. There is a play area with a trampolene, swings and slides and despite cooler weather they had a great time playing outside. It is only about 10 minutes from Fussen a great little town and the castle.
We had a room that had a separate room with bunk beds for the boys, perfect for us. The bathrooms were very nice and new. Overall, a great place.
The restaurant at the hotel has amazing food, some of the best we had on the trip. We ate dinner there 2 nights. Superb food and a great staff.
You won't go wrong to stay here.

Room Tip: We had room 14 on the 1st floor. It had the separate room with bunkbeds for the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Gutshof zum Schluxen is a bit out of the way, in a very tiny village not far from Fussen and Neuschwanstein Castle in Bavaria. Its not just a small B*B hotel, but houses a very good restaurant as well. If you request it, you hopefully will get one of the balconied rooms with a view of the farm, complete with horses, and in the distance--the beautiful Alps. The room was nicely furnished in creative Bavarian charm and the bed and bedding were so comfortable. One down-side was the bathroom with a small shower and sink with little place for toiletries or places to hang towels.

Their breakfasts were the best we had on our European trip--fresh fruit compote, scrambled eggs (not just boiled, as usual) and other hot dishes, along with fresh tomatoes, cheese, meats, juice, etc. It carried us all the way to dinner with just an apple strudel and coffee stop mid-afternoon.

Also in the Gutshof is a very nice restaurant, with an outdoor beer garden. We had a late afternoon beer and got to watch the horses trotting around the field--free entertainment. We ate two dinners there because the first one was very good and we decided to come back to the hotel for a meal the second night of our stay.

We asked for extra pillows and they were delivered quickly. The desk help spoke excellent English and were very helpful and friendly.

This was a nice place to stay out of the tourist areas but still close to Bavarian areas we wanted to visit--Oberammergau, Fussen, King Ludwig's Castles, the Weisskirche and best of all--getting to them with beautiful Alpine mountains all around us.

Room Tip: We asked for a balcony room with a view of the Alps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The rooms were fairly large with a modern bathroom. The property is off by itself in the country and quiet. The staff are friendly.
The breakfast is good. Their restaurant is also good, we ate there twice.
The location is ideal for visiting the Ludwig castles (Newschwanstein and Hohenschwangau) because you can drive there in 10 minutes and get there early to beat the crowds. We had ticket reservations through the web and went right to the reservations window in the ticket building with no wait when the office opened (9:00 PM in off season).
One tip for GPS users. Our GPS had trouble with the addresses there. It placed the Schluxen 1/2 mile off! We had to call the hotel to find it. The tip: the hotel is at the end of a lane that has a volunteer firestation (Feuerwehr) and a school at the head of the lane where it branches off from the larger road. The hotel has their name in large letters on one of their buildings which is easy to see if you get close enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I think the highlight of our 2 week European vacation was staying in this idyllic hotel. Situated in outskirts of Reutte, this hotel is up against the mountains in a meadow in the beautiful Reutte valley. The rooms were clean, modern and BIG, and offered amazing views of the surrounding countryside. Besides the location, we loved the fact that it offers a full service restaurant and bar/ beer garden to enjoy the outdoors. As far as being pricy (as previous reviews suggest), we did not find this to be any more costly than other restaurants, and in fact, the portions were so big, we ended up splittling most meals. Probably the best feature about this hotel is the friendly, helpful, English speaking front desk and restaurant staff whom we enjoyed being around. There is no longer a self serve laundry, but for 10 euros, the staff will launder an large bag for you. The only critical comment I have is that the wifi is only in the lobby - having wifi in the rooms would be nice. All in all, we would return to this lovely hotel again without hesitation and highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here for two nights during our week long trip of Bavaria, Germany. The B&B is located just out side of much larger & very touristy towns of Reutte & Fussen. We were very happy to have stayed here following Rick Steves' top choice in the area. We had a family room, just above the restaurant. It was very large, with a nice bay window, a breakfast nook with a round table and four chairs, a small bedroom with a bunk bed for kids, separate toilet and shower/sink. This was large enough for our family of four. The bed was very comfortable & all bedding was spotless white. We loved the idyllic settings of storybook farm house. The included breakfast was average but satisfying. We did not have any meals in the restaurant since they did not have any vegetarian choices on the menu.
It is about 10 minutes away (by car) to the Neuschwanstein in Fussen. If you are planning to see the king's castles, please reserve your time in advance on the web. This will save you several hours of wait in hot sun, especially in busy July/August. One thing I would like improved is WiFi strength. We had to sit in the lobby downstairs or in the restaurant to get a usable signal. Overall, a fivestar location at two star prices.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata, MD
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent three nights at Gutshof zum Schluxen and enjoyed it very much. The setting is gorgeous and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We liked the location and felt it gave us opportunities to explore Fussen and Reutte, and all the local castles. We had a car so it was easy for us to get anywhere... I'm not so sure that this would be a good location for travelers who don't have a vehicle. Ample parking. Breakfast was vey good and the breakfast area was bright and cheery. We ate dinner at the restaurant twice and both times enjoyed our meals very much. Our room was very clean. The reasons why we are not giving this property the highest ratting are... Lots of flies in the breakfast area... We guess this is because there are cows and horses right outside. Our room was small and the bathroom minuscule. Finally (and this wasn't really a negative for us but for others it might be) you can only get WiFi in the lobby area (which is tiny) and the restaurant. But even with those few negatives, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gutshof zum Schluxen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gutshof zum Schluxen

Address: Unterpinswang 24, Reutte A-6600 , Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Reutte
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Reutte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gutshof zum Schluxen 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gutshof zum Schluxen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gutshof Zum Schluxen Reutte
Gutshof Zum Schluxen Hotel Reutte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gutshof zum Schluxen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.