We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome B&B. Amazing Hosts, Clean Comfortable rooms!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gintherhof

Save Saved
You added Gintherhof to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gintherhof
Unterried 7, Reutte A-6600, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Reutte B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“Awesome B&B. Amazing Hosts, Clean Comfortable rooms!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed at Ginterhof for 2 nights and used it for a home base to see the surrounding castles in Germany, Linderhof (35min drive), Neuschwanstein/Hohenschwangau (25 min drive) as well as Lake Plansee (20 min drive) and the surrounding Tyrol area. Annelies and her family were such gracious hosts and we loved staying there! It was our favorite B&B/hotel for the entire trip! We wish we could have stayed longer! We will for sure stay here next time we are in the area! Highly Recommended!!

If using GPS make sure to use the following address: Unterried 7 6600 Ehenbichl, Austria. Or to make it really easy just plug in the global coordinates 47.4734125 N 10.7025818 E and it will take you to their front door. The information is also listed on their website: http://www.gintherhof.com/

More about the B&B and Rooms….
We stayed in the room on the 2nd floor to the left of the stairs at the end of the hall. We had a view of the surrounding mountains and Ehrenburg castle ruins. The room was spotless and everything looked brand new. (The house itself is around 800 years old!) The comforters and pillows were arranged in heart shapes and they had a hand written personal note wishing us a nice stay. They also had a small bottle of local liqueur in the room you could try for free.

The breakfast was the best one we had on the entire trip. They had meats, cheese, 8 different breads, 6 different kinds of yogurt, eggs, tea, coffee, juice, etc. They also had sandwich bags for us to use to make sandwiches for picnic lunches each day! Was so nice!

The house is a working Austrian farm which means that they keep the animals in their basement on the other side of the house (barn side) unless they are out in the pasture. During our stay they had 2 cows, 2 calves, 2 cats and 1 pig, most of which lived in their basement. It was awesome to arrive back at the end of the day and play with the kittens as well as see a cow poke their head out the basement window.

Thanks Annelies for the amazing memories!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My husband and I have been traveling internationally for years. We always plan our own trips and travel independently. This is without a doubt one of the loveliest B&Bs we've stayed at. It is a little out of the way, but with a rental car it is no problem and definitely worth the short drive. The setting is stunning. We stayed on the 3rd floor. The room was immaculate and bright with large windows, lovely room decor and bed linens and modern bathroom. Annelies had written us a lovely little welcome note, and with it was a small bottle of liqueur. I don't think I can add to what others have written about the sumptous breakfast, except that I love good breads, and having numerous delicious options was a real treat. Annelies does make a point of letting you know that you are very welcome to make a sandwich for your lunch, which is really a nice and generous touch. Annelies and her family are truly warm, welcoming and generous hosts. We definitely would return to Gintherhof, and highly recommend this wonderful B&B

Room Tip: Our room on the 3rd floor was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Wye booked this B&B based on a Rick Steves recommendation. This was a bullseye! The hostess Annelies and her father Rudi are the faces you see in the dictionary next to hospitality. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left out hosts were there making sure we were comfortable and happy. We stayed in two rooms one on each floor. The view from the room on the second floor was a spectacular view of snow capped mountains. Each room was clean and decorated with local decor. There was a welcome note and a small bottle of liquier in each room. The rooms were comfortable with warm conforters and fluffy pillows. Breakfast was a full Austrian fare of meats, cheeses, variety of six breads, bread rolls, yogurts, hard boiled eggs, orange juice, tea, and the best cup of coffee. There was enough to feed a army of people and there was only eight guests total during our stay. We were encouraged to make and take a sandwich for lunch.

Wifi is best in the nook in the front hallway and available in the dining room. It was a bit hard to find in the dark after a 11 hour flight and 2hour drive, but totally worth it. I can say enough about Annelies. We were treated like family and we will definitely come back to stay. Highly Recommended, don't pass this place up!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

If you are in the Tirol region and don't stay here you missed out! Everything about the Gintherhof far exceeded my expectations. Great value. Super clean. Anneleis made us feel like we were family visiting. The rooms are extremely comfortable and relaxing. Breakfast was yummy with the large variety of fresh baked goods, meats, cheeses, etc.. We absolutly loved this place and will be back. Highly recommend. Just do it.

Room Tip: We loved our room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

This was by far our favorite place we stayed during our two week stay in Europe. Annelies was very welcoming and even had several cakes and coffee ready within minutes of our arrival. Our room had a great view of the Ehrenburg ruins and was very spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was a feast to say the least and she even had us take some sandwiches to go for lunch. There is so much to do in the area, but it's best to rent a car to get around. We rented ours (with GPS, you'll want it) in Munich and followed the Romantic Road for most of the trip down to Reutte. If we're ever in the area again, we would definitely stay here. Thanks Annelies!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Based on Rick Steve's recommendation we decided to stay in Reutte after visiting Neuschwanstein. He recommends this lodging and in checking Trip Advisor it received glowing reviews. We arrived after a long day of driving from Salzburg, visiting Linderhof and Neuschwanstein, to have the hosts offer us Apple Strudel and Hot Chocolate. Yum, I wished they served the Strudel for breakfast as well! We stayed in one room of the upstairs family suite. The comforters were arranged in a heart and we were left with a little note wishing us an enjoyable stay. The Guesthouse is immaculate and though it is 750 years old, the accomodations rival upscale hotel rooms. Everything looks brand new. There are many knick knacks throughout the home, but not one speck of dirt or dust! We were under the impression we were staying on a Farm, but it was not the type of farm I expected. The 3 cows are housed in the home's basement during the winter months. The neighboring homes are very close and as such the cows are pastured in the village pasture across the street during the summer months. The host family is most gracious and they even sent a thank you note after our visit. We wished we could have stayed more than one night to enjoy the lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed at the Gintherhof in October, 2011. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was great. But what really made this a special place were the owners, Christl and Rudi (Analies was on vacation when we were there). Rudi was so solicitous for our comfort and was very welcoming. Christl spent the time to show us their farm animals. They had even taken the time to write us a welcome note for our room. They were truly friendly hosts!

Room Tip: We did not get a room with a balcony, but I imagine that would have made it nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gintherhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gintherhof

Address: Unterried 7, Reutte A-6600, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Reutte
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Reutte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Gintherhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gintherhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.