We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, kind and efficient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant at Hotel Maximilian

Restaurant at Hotel Maximilian
Ehenbichl, Reutte 6600, Austria
43 (0) 56 72 / 625 85
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Reutte
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Macon, France
1 review
“Good, kind and efficient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Large choice of tast dishes including local dishes, large choice of wines including recommandations from the owner, smiling and efficient management, playroom for kids keep them busy without tension while parents continue to enjoy the table, price is affordable. Very happy of our dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    12
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“What a delightful surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed at the hotel to visit the castles - after hurriedly dropping off our bags to catch the last tours of the day, we were told the restaurant was open from 6-9. We immediately thought, great, we didn't know there was a restaurant and now we won't have to look for a place for dinner when we get back late and tired.

We had no idea, the restaurant was so beautiful or that the food would be so good. The restaurant design is quite exquisite - and not at all what you'd expect when you see cows and horses grazing across the street.

I knew from the looks of the place, that the food would have to be good also - anyone who took such care in a restaurant design, would also realize the value of quality food.

If you're staying anywhere in the area, it will be well worth your time to stop here for dinner - we were very happy with our meal and entire dining experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A super meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

It’s too bad TA doesn’t have a 4.5 rating, because this meal was better than a 4 and not quite a 5. A table was waiting for us when we arrived and our hostess greeted each of us individually and shook our hands. Both she and the waitress spoke English and answered our questions about the menu. We had lovely appetizers, including a dumpling soup, beet and sheep cheese salad, finely sliced dumpling carpaccio with mushrooms and a caprese salad. These were all extremely good. For the main courses, we had pork loin with cheese and spaetzle, deer stew with dumplings, shrimp linguine and weinerschnitzle. These again were very good. The wine we had was a lovely Austrian Nurberger and a free bottle of water was included. Dessert included a banana caramel ice cream cup and a trio of chocolate cake, whipped cream and vanilla ice cream. The ambience was very pleasant, with nice room elements that echoed the hotel's general surroundings, a clean and modern feel with Tyrolean flair. The cost of the meal was very reasonable and per person came out to 25 Euros, which was well worth it considering the quality of the food and the warm, welcoming staff. We would highly recommend this restaurant and you can eat here without being a guest of the hotel. Certainly a must if you are in the Reutte/Fussen area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My family stayed at the hotel during our visit to Neuschwanstein Castle. Since it was Sunday, nothing else was opened so we decided to have dinner in the hotel. The restaurant's interior was nicely decorated with a modern touch. That was a pleasant surprise. But what was more surprising was the food. The dishes were all very tasty, fresh, and affordable. The wines were great and so were the beer. The staff was really nice and overall, we had a GREAT experience. Even if you don't stay there, you should definitely pay a visit to the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is an excellent restaurant and a little bit of a surprise as it surpasses the quality of the hotel. The food is delicious. The prices are good. They highlight Austrian wine so you can drink great wine AND get an education about the wine of the region. The decor is wonderful and modern. I thoroughly enjoyed the restaurant. I don't think there's a lot more positive things I can say about it. If you're in the Reutte area, have at least one meal here.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at Hotel Maximilian also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant at Hotel Maximilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant at Hotel Maximilian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.