We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Pergola

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel La Pergola to your Saves list
Hotel La Pergola
Calle el Caimito, de la Alcaldia Municipal, 3 cuadras al Lago, Granada, Nicaragua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Granada
Guatemala
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good value for money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The rooms at Hotel La Pergola are simple and basic but you get all you could ask for: clean, AC, ceiling fan, free WIFI, TV, private bathroom, & continental breakfast for a good price (we paid $40/night for a double bed). You can get more to eat at breakfast but of course, you must pay a little more.

You can't beat the location - just one block from La Calzada where all the restaurants and bars are. The only thing is that local bums hang out across the street which can't be helped. They are harmless and there is security in front of the hotel at night. The receptionists are nice and accommodating. Not sure if they speak English.

The courtyard is pretty. Unfortunately there is no pool to soak in after a hot day which is the only thing missing. If you don't need all the frills, this place is for you!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    33
    16
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
25
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Odense, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I´ve been at Hotel La Pergola twice. In 2011 and again in June 2012. We had a double room with 2 beds, a small desk and tv, Nothing fancy, but it was clean - and cheap. We paid $36/night which included breakfast, but that wasn't much. Just a cup of coffee and a slice of bread. If you pay extra, you can have a real breakfast. They don't serve lunch or dinner and eating is prohibited in the rooms. But there are plenty of restaurants in Granada, so no problem.
The staff is helpful. Reception gave us some good advises of tours on the lake which we enjoyed very much.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Staff is cheerful and extremely helpful. At Hotel La Pergola, guests find a quiet place close to the action of Calle Calzada. Rooms are small and basic, but well-equipped.

Safe, comfortable and good value.

tip: go to the Chinese restaurant and enjoy a really "Granada dinner".

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

At Hotel La Pergola, guests find a quiet retreat close to the action of Calle Calzada. The rooftop pergola is a lovely spot to sit with a cold drink. Staff is cheerful and extremely helpful. Rooms are small and I would have said basic, but they were in fact well-equipped with fan, AC and TV. Hot water? This is Nicaragua!

Not fancy, but safe, comfortable and good value.

tip: The breakfasts from the menu gave a better start to a busy day than the free continental breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Village, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Our family of five stayed in the quin room for two nights over Christmas and I must say it was very delightful.We enjoyed the staff and the location was great,walking distance to everything we wanted to visit.The room and bathroom was very clean and we slept well. We enjoyed the courtyard and the terrace was great at night.We will definately recommend your hotel to other Peace Corps parents and friends!! The staff brought smiles to faces .

Room Tip: Best value and customer service.....where else has a room for five?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
America, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

This is a decent mid-range place ($35) to stay in Granada. The hotel is located only one block south of Calle La Calzada (the main tourist street) so it is safe, secure and in a good location. The room w private bath was small, but very clean and well-equipped with a/c, ceiling fan, cable tv, wifi and a decent private bathroom. Outside of the room is a very nice garden area with trees and hanging chairs to relax in. A continental breakfast was included.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

My friend and I arrived in Nicaragua and our flight was two our late--so we missed the taxi the hotel had sent for us. The next day, the expected us to pay for it even though we obviously hadn't been able to communicate the delay while we were in transit and had then had to pay for a more expensive taxi to get to the hotel. They physically would not let us leave without paying and the owner knowingly refused to speak with us. The customer service was appalling and they are thieves. The hotel itself is fine, but nothing special and as there are so many reasonably priced options in Granada I would never recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Pergola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pergola

Address: Calle el Caimito, de la Alcaldia Municipal, 3 cuadras al Lago, Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Pergola is located in the Historic Center of Granada, known as the "Gran Sultana", an easy three block walk to the "Parque Central" and only four blocks from the "Gran Lago". The street La Calzada, which features the most popular bars and restaurants by our guests, is also just one block away. Hotel La Pergola offers 26 comfortable rooms in a quiet and relaxing atmosphere. Our guests enjoy exclusive attention and quality service. The hotel was formally built as a 19th century colonial home, we have two beautiful patios, one with a tropical garden and another one with a nice pool. We offer the terrace or "Pergola", where you can enjoy the views of the Granada Cathedral and the Mombacho Volcano. Join us for relaxing moonlit nights and fresh breezes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Pergola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pergola Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Pergola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.